We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Green Village Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green Village Langkawi to your Saves list
Green Village Langkawi
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Tengah | Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 130 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Denmark, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Terrible experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I booked through Wotif, so I assumed I would be in good hands...I was wrong!

After 22 hours of travel from London we arrived at the hotel(I was ill with the flu) at 11pm expecting to check into the rooms I had booked, the receptionist told us they only had one room booked for us. Well this was immediately upsetting and we had to convince her that I had booked two more deluxe rooms, we eventually ended up in 3 standard rooms which are more sub standard! as the hot water wasn't hot, the fan didn't work, someones clothes were still hanging on the rail outside and the bed sheet had a hole in it!
The next morning my friend was offered the deluxe room that we had booked which was nothing like deluxe, a larger bed and bathroom, but practically the same room! He moved as the noisy air con from his standard room prevented him from sleeping. We declined the deluxe room as I was sick and didn't see the point in moving for a slightly larger bed, my son was happy in his standard room. We were also very tired as the bar/disco had a band playing til about 2 am, it's practically part of the complex so no escaping the noise! and don't forget the power tools in the day!
Now onto breakfast, just to let you know we are on our 3rd day here so I might update this later, there was nothing left by the time we got to the dining room at 9 am this morning, so we waited, ordered a boiled egg and 2 fried eggs, they charged for the boiled egg and brought out a raw egg, we complained and waited, still no fried eggs, I'm getting hungry! they have plain sliced white bread to toast and they brought out some beans to the buffet, as well 2 types of sausages which are a bit wierd, the egg came out again slightly cooked so still raw, it got sent back, still no fried eggs, I had some toast and went back to bed(fever) when all the eggs arrived! Safe to say we will be eating breakfast out as the idea of being poisened isn't too appealing!

The place seems to have potential but is let down by its standards, it is over priced for what they offer and I do feel deceived as I was expecting better from what I saw on the Wotif website. It is more suited to the back packer with money to throw away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    23
    15
    22
See reviews for
29
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for five nights and are so happy to check out. Positive things are daily room cleaning i.e. change of towels and those tiny soaps and drinking water. The bed linen was changed just before the check out morning. The breakfast is very basic - first morning we had scrambled eggs, all other mornings were fired eggs & all the same paper taste sausages. The swimming pool is nice. Wishing you to get a room with good aircon, not noisy as the one we got. In addition you will be so lucky not to get Chinese neighborhood - first night somebody was puking starting at about 2 a.m.- the toilet sounds are all yours as well - and the second night all eight of them were sitting outside next to our door, drinking beer and seem like having fun after 10.30 p.m. Another thing annoyed us for the entire stay is the disco - the music stops at about 2 am - so if you can sleep without ear plugs, the hotel is all yours. In our room there was no rag to hang towels but the metal odd framing in the room. Ah, there are hotels where you think the room and other services is the pure magic – not here though – the staff were cutting the grass, cementing the path, cleaning the swimming pool – here we`ve got the feeling being not guests, but persons disturbing the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I dont often give a two star review but the facilities and room quality here were below what I would expect for the price paid. Bedroom was small with just a metal frame providing hanging space for clothes. Bathroom was bare concrete except for a few tiles around the shower, and the shower head itself was falling off the wall. The grounds were rather spartan and the pool, while clean, was again surrounded by concrete.

Plenty of noise from the roofs at night with squirrels, or was it rats, running over them.

Breakfast was basic, with no choice, although what there was was cooked to order due to so few people staying there.

Location is too far from the main beach, unless you have transport, being about 25 minutes walk.

The hotel lacked any sense of life or vibrancy, meaning that it was quiet and peaceful but this was one of the few benefits. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

good location,go to beach tengah walk only 5 minute,location near many restaurant,green village langkawi have room for family ,clean,the room very suitable for family and room rate not expensive suitable for back packer,

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent bar. Upto date with good decent music. Live bands too. Best pool table in Asia....no sticky tape on it! Good toilets! Good prices. We come here a lot cause everyone is friendly. Abit out of the way but worth it. Near to Sunba night club if you really want to party. Well done to Sanjay and Imran.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Love the Greens surrounding. Located just a mins drive to Pantati Cenang and walikng distance to Pantai Tengah beach. Room are basic but the surrounding made up for it. There are having a promotion for October currently, room without breakfast going at RM85 per night. Good Value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A great place to hangout with the mates. Possibly more suitable for the out going and did not have a problem what so ever. Would definitely pay a visit the next time round and no complains.

Not pricey and location of stay was very reasonable and convenient. Could use several improvements here and there but overall, my stay was enjoyable. Staff members were very friendly and dependable, something we all like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Village Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Village Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah | Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Village Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Green Village Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Village Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Village Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.