We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our Langkawi visit - cannot be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pia's The Padi

Pia's The Padi
Jalan Ulu Melaka, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+60 12-493 3713
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 284 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 10 Years old of this restaurant, moved out from pantai ceneng to Ulu melaka, just 7 minuets drive from airport and 6 minuets drive from four season resort or Tanjung rhu resort, we provide pick up and drop on your request.Beautiful Panoramic view, lavish valley and real sun set,peaceful dining experience in middle of real paddy fields.Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialty and recommended by chef jimmy, group booking up to 500 3ersons. COOKING LESSON FROM 2:PM TO 5.00PM DAILY
Durbanville, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The highlight of our Langkawi visit - cannot be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a bit of a challenge to find Pia's in the Paddy, since our hotel bell boy gave the taxi driver directions into Pentai Cenang - when in fact Jimmy has moved the restaurant from it's previous location. After a phone call from our taxi driver to the restaurant, we were back-tracking our 20 minute journey, and arrived at the Restaurant (located 7 minutes in a different direction from where we originally started). Sophia & Jimmy (and their young daughter - who speaks fantastic English) met us with a warm greeting. We were the only clients at the restaurant, but we did opt for a early dinner (just before 6pm).
The scenery over the padi fields with the water buffalow and cows grazing was fantastic. The sunset was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our sundowner drinks, while discussing the menu with Jimmy. We decided to let Jimmy surprise us, and I must admit - that was the best meal I've had in Malaysia! The Mango desert was brilliant!
Jimmy runs a really professional outfit, and I wish him and his family all the best and know that the new restaurant will be a huge success.
After dinner, Sophia (JImmy's wife) offered to drive us back to our hotel - thanks so much Pia x That's going the extra mile!
Pia's in the Paddy should be cemented in on everyone's itinerary when visiting Langkawi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    35
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth finding !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Not the easiest restaurant to find but worth the trouble. Jimmy and his lovely family have relocated to new premises.
We arrived mid afternoon and Jimmy cooked us an excellent meal based on local produce. top service provided by his
family. Jimmy's wife even drove us back to our hotel.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious and excellent service..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Uncle Jimmy tq for open the shop for us early in the morning, we almost lost our way but we manage find your place the good service you provided and your lovely daughter makes us have a complete wonderful trip in langkawi...we will visit u next time..tc:-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“#1 Dining experience in Langkawi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Strongly recommend the place.

We arrived in the afternoon, and was impressed by the great scenery of paddy field and cows, see my attachment for it.

Jimmy, the owner, is a friendly & professional gentleman, while I do realized there seems to be some other review that state Jimmy's double standard toward Malaysian, no, I am Malaysian myself and Jimmy gave us a top level service that is hard to be found anywhere.

The dish was absolute delicious. We follow Jimmy's recommendation and we are not regretted. For 23 years in Malaysia I have not tasted delicious, fresh, & well spiced Indian cuisine like this. Beef rendang tasted fresh, with the meat softly cooked, Butter fish curry is all the creamy spiced goodness that you can ask for. Even the dessert, Mango Kulfi, was beautifully done. Impressive.

Yes, cooking speed might be not that McDonald-ish, but hey, you are on a vacation, took the effort to go a not-that-accessible place for lunch, why not take some time to enjoy the view, or maybe walk in the paddy field for a change when waiting for the dishes?

Price wise, when compared with other restaurant in Langkawi offer similar food, the service, and the atmosphere, I will consider this place appropriately price. I had a "seafood dinner" at another place and Cenang which taste absolute rubbish and get charged higher.

Overall, must visit place if you are in Langkawi! Jimmy if you are looking at this, thank you for the great lunch time yesterday, look forward to see you again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“go to pia's - treat y'self”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We happened to come across Pia's on an afternoon drive. (It's a five minute drive from Pentai Cenang). The restaurant which Jimmy, the friendly owner and stylish chef, built himself is located in a rice field with views to the valley and mountains. Jimmy's personalized service is second to none, and matched by the superb food he cooks. We had the local dishes; you won't find a better beef rendang or curry anywhere. If we're ever on Langkawi again, Jimmy's will be our first stop for food and a friendly chat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pia's The Padi also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Pia's The Padi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pia's The Padi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.