We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Dining experience in Langkawi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pia's The Padi

Pia's The Padi
Jalan Ulu Melaka, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+60 12-493 3713
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 287 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 13 Years old of this restaurant, moved out from pantai ceneng to Ulu melaka, just 7 minuets drive from airport and 6 minuets drive from four season resort or Tanjung rhu resort, we provide pick up and drop on your request.Beautiful Panoramic view, lavish valley and real sun set,peaceful dining experience in middle of real paddy fields.Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialty and recommended by chef jimmy, group booking up to 200 people. COOKING LESSON FROM 2:PM TO 5.00PM DAILY
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“#1 Dining experience in Langkawi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Strongly recommend the place.

We arrived in the afternoon, and was impressed by the great scenery of paddy field and cows, see my attachment for it.

Jimmy, the owner, is a friendly & professional gentleman, while I do realized there seems to be some other review that state Jimmy's double standard toward Malaysian, no, I am Malaysian myself and Jimmy gave us a top level service that is hard to be found anywhere.

The dish was absolute delicious. We follow Jimmy's recommendation and we are not regretted. For 23 years in Malaysia I have not tasted delicious, fresh, & well spiced Indian cuisine like this. Beef rendang tasted fresh, with the meat softly cooked, Butter fish curry is all the creamy spiced goodness that you can ask for. Even the dessert, Mango Kulfi, was beautifully done. Impressive.

Yes, cooking speed might be not that McDonald-ish, but hey, you are on a vacation, took the effort to go a not-that-accessible place for lunch, why not take some time to enjoy the view, or maybe walk in the paddy field for a change when waiting for the dishes?

Price wise, when compared with other restaurant in Langkawi offer similar food, the service, and the atmosphere, I will consider this place appropriately price. I had a "seafood dinner" at another place and Cenang which taste absolute rubbish and get charged higher.

Overall, must visit place if you are in Langkawi! Jimmy if you are looking at this, thank you for the great lunch time yesterday, look forward to see you again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    43
    14
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“go to pia's - treat y'self”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We happened to come across Pia's on an afternoon drive. (It's a five minute drive from Pentai Cenang). The restaurant which Jimmy, the friendly owner and stylish chef, built himself is located in a rice field with views to the valley and mountains. Jimmy's personalized service is second to none, and matched by the superb food he cooks. We had the local dishes; you won't find a better beef rendang or curry anywhere. If we're ever on Langkawi again, Jimmy's will be our first stop for food and a friendly chat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth driving to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived thinking "is it open?" but were greeted by friendly staff and cool flannels. Extensive menu prompted us to ask for their recommendation and were not disappointed. We had the butter curry fish and spinach curry chicken. And the children had pizza...everyone was happy! We watched the herons and egrets in the padi field as the sun went down. May go back again for lunch before we leave this weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Hospitality and Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

So refreshing to have all the right 'rights' in place. Location - overlooking paddy fields and the valley with great views to the mountains and the Langkawi Cable Car. Service and hospitality - owner/family operated right from the chef to the table service. Food - great selection to satisfy all palate preferences. They also cater for large groups, buffet style if required. Definitely a 'must go' during your stay in lovely Langkawi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when on Langkawi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great place to enjoy a relaxed meal, fabulous views and great food. Ate there twice during my stay on Langkawi and loved it both times. The second time we sat on the terrace with friends watching the sunset across the rice fields, then moved to our table when the food was served. We never looked at a menu but just asked the owner Jimi to serve us a meal. We had lamb, chicken and fish dishes. All delicious. There was a pleasant breeze through the open restaurant and felt in no hurry whatsoever. I recommend this place to anyone going to Langkawi and wanting great food in a quiet rural environment. The night sky filled stars was a bonus away from the noise, crowds and light pollution of Cenang Beach. Definitely worth the effort to get there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pia's The Padi also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Pia's The Padi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pia's The Padi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.