We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Malaysia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pia's The Padi

Pia's The Padi
Jalan Ulu Melaka, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+60 12-493 3713
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 285 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 10 Years old of this restaurant, moved out from pantai ceneng to Ulu melaka, just 7 minuets drive from airport and 6 minuets drive from four season resort or Tanjung rhu resort, we provide pick up and drop on your request.Beautiful Panoramic view, lavish valley and real sun set,peaceful dining experience in middle of real paddy fields.Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialty and recommended by chef jimmy, group booking up to 500 3ersons. COOKING LESSON FROM 2:PM TO 5.00PM DAILY
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Food in Malaysia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place is unique and set in a very beautiful setting among a rice padi. You will be surprised by the decor and ambience when you are seated. We had the privilege of spending a bit of time with Jimmy and he gave us one of his recipes for Vegetables Julienne which is very personal and not something you get at most restaurants. Jimmy makes a point of talking to each of his guests. We also got to meet Sopihe, Jimmy's wife, who is also behind a lot of the quality fo the food and talked about their passion for food..

The food was superb, so much so that we went back again on our last night after trying other restaurants but they did not match this. The cost was exceptionally reasonable for the quality.

They may be moving premises in the not too distant future but do yourself a favour and find Jimmy wherever he is on the Island and try the food. Trust me, you wont be disappointed.

Tereema Kasai Jimmy

Mark and Pam

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    35
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A bit hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Having read their leaflet with all the positive Tripadvisor reviews we were seduced to try Jimmy's. To be honest, the food was a little hit and miss. The pakora and beef rendang was very good, the samosa and Thai prawn dish not so good. I found the service over attentive to be honest but prices were good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do not skip dessert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Oh man Jimmy makes a nice dessert especially the mango kulfi which was just delicious.

We styled across this place by accident having failed to locate Laman Ria.

Set on the rice paddies close to town this little haunt provides great atmosphere.

I found the pakora for entry somewhat average but I don't think I'm a huge fan of the dish overall.

While the beef butter masala didn't strike me as amazing it was a decent dish while my partner's chicken redang was simply delicious.

For me the place shone through its deserts which were jaw-droppingly good and cheap.

Reviews on here indicating Malaysian customers are mistreated are disturbing but I can only go on my experience. In this instance staff and Jimmy played good hosts offering helpful advice without laying it on too thick.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Went here after getting a free brochure with lots of comments from tripadvisor on it. Fantastic food and very nice prices. Nothing else to say really. Oh, you might want to bring some sanatizer as there was no soap in the toilet, but that's really the only drawback, and has nothing to do with the food or the whole experience. They also have high chair for the baby, if you have one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a great experience!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

we just so happens to get its brochure during our trip and we just had the feeling that 'ok, we have to go this place to try out' and so we did and it was amazing.

the food was amazing. it was something that me and my hubby never tasted before and it taste fabulous, both the main dish and the dessert. and the ambience felt just nice and it makes us feel very peaceful and quite.

the price range from the menu was kinda acceptable to me but i was a little surprise that day when i saw the final bill. coz i was expecting our bill to go somewhere near rm150 or even more but i guess its becoz its gov tax free so it didnt hit anywhere near 150. it was just rm116 for 2main course+2drinks and 2desserts. paid rm116 for dish and dessert that i never tasted before, i personally think its quite worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pia's The Padi also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Pia's The Padi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pia's The Padi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.