We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Telaga Tujuh Waterfalls

Telaga Tujuh Waterfalls
Gunung Mat Chincang, Langkawi, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 74 things to do in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The waterfall is exciting to see from the cable car nearby, along with other great scenery nearby.

Parking is very affordable, just 1 ringgit for scooter/bike and 2 ringgit for a car. I wanted to see the foot of the waterfall but missed the turn and before we realized we were headed to 7 wells we were already half way up!

The 700+ steps are not for the faint of heart but bring water (or buy it near the car park) and there are benches on the way up to take breaks if you need it.

The seven wells were nice and the cold water was refreshing on your feet after the climb, but the little pools were small and underwhelming. It wasn't worth the climb in my opinion. The algae on the bottom makes it VERY slippery, it's not appropriate for children to play in, standing would be ok.

We went another 30 mins on the jungle trails, nothing to see. Also not appropriate for kids as fallen trees blocked the path and a misstep could result in serious injury. Hiking shoes or something with good traction is recommended for the jungle trails.

Just swim at the foot of the falls vs the climb.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    180
    83
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very close to the Oriental Village. You need to walk uphill for around 20 minutes to reach the waterfalls, but when you arrive finally you forget all the hardship you faced. Worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do you like cold water ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Was a long way by feet to walk up there. Take your comfortable shoes and 2 bottle of water and start walk. I cant remember the time to pick the point but i remember my friends were a cold bath into the clear water.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
274 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Pretty waterfall, but there is better scenery elsewhere on Langkawi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This seems to be one of the more popular attractions in Langkawi, but I would probably only do this if I had extra time. The waterfall was pretty, but not very tall. The walk up is a little over 600 steps with a slightly steep incline. It's not that far but can be challenging with the heat and humidity. I definitely recommend bringing water bottles but be careful as they might be attractive to the wild monkeys. You can also buy cold drinks in the parking lot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Another star attraction of Machinchang, Langkawi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Clearly visible from a cable car ride, this Seven Wells Waterfall is another must- see attraction in Langkawi. The waterfall drops from the legendary seven wells and the site is awesome. Reaching the waterfall and the wells requires some effort because visitors have to walk up a distance up the moderately steep and challenging roads and steps. Those who enjoy cool mountain water, this is the place to soak and enjoy clear mountain stream. On the whole, it is still worth the effort and should be treated as a healthy recreational trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telaga Tujuh Waterfalls also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Telaga Tujuh Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Telaga Tujuh Waterfalls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.