We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much more with some effort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Langkawi Fish Farm Restaurant

Langkawi Fish Farm Restaurant
Lot 1986, Jalan Pantai Penarak | Mukim Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Langkawi Fish Farm Restaurant)
+60 4-966 7988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 287 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: $5 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Chinese Hotpot, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could be so much more with some effort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The place itself is fantastic with views of the open sea, lit deck and a pier on which you could walk right into the sea. Brilliant lighting and a quaint bar also complete the look. What it could do with is better staff - apart from the initial smiles, the staff seemed to be extremely unhelpful. Ordering anything is a chore if you aren't Chinese or familiar with the dishes. They don't really seem interested in helping you choose anything. Picking a live fish seems more like a fencing duel with anything you want either not available or not less than 1 Kg. I don't mind it being a little pricey but I think the attitude I got was one of "we rob you if you don't have a clue". Taste front the food is awesome - i really liked what we ordered. Just, could really do with some better staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    42
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“part of day trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

lunch was included in our day trip and i suppose you get what you
pay for.parhaps a costlier tour provides better lunch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not fresh and salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We tried the food for lunch cause we see the sign board advertisement from pantai cenang.this is located at kuah town and we took the taxi to go for lunch. Presentation is really good and you can see ex-prime minister Mahathir son photo (kedah state minister). The place look good and feel good. We order the dishes . Only the live food is fresh (prawn and fish, but taste can't compare to orchid Ria ) the vegetable not cook and scallop not fresh. ... Rm 250 for 3 persons... Not worth mainly the food can't match the expectation when your see such a good environment....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We like this place and we particularly think that it is an even better to visit this place at night. There is a small bridge you can walk on the water and dine there too. Food was great and fresh but a little bit pricey compared to other seafood restaurants in Langkawi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Four of my friends and I went for a dinner when we were in Langkawi, we ordered steam fresh fish, butter prawn, garlic prawn, Kang Kong, and sweet & sour chicken, it was delicious and we clear everything up on the table! tips for you, must order their young coconut juice, fresh & sweet!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langkawi Fish Farm Restaurant also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Langkawi Fish Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langkawi Fish Farm Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.