We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese food ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rootian Seafood Restaurant

Rootian Seafood Restaurant
89 Jalan Pandak Mayah 5 | Pusat Bandar Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 285 Restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We visited the Rootian on 26 December on recommendation. We arrived at around 8.00pm and did have to wait a few minutes for a table. THe restaurant was extremely busy and appeared a bit chaotic, however it was a very pleasing atmosphere and was patronised mainly by Chinese and Malay diners. THe service was a bit slow, but understandable given that some of the round tables were seating up to 10 and on one table we counted 15 different dishes plus rice and drinks. We ordered Spring Roll to start which was served flat and sliced, not as we were used to, but it was amazing. Next we had SIngapore Noodles, Black Pepper Chicken and Roast Pork with Garlic, and served with steamed rice. Every single dish was delicious and has to be the best Chinese food we have ever had. The bill came to 54 RMT which included 6 beers at 3 RMT each. This works out to around 10 GBP. We will definitely be going back again during our stay.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    5
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“a so-called Chinese restaurant with poor service and very bad Chinese food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I and my hubby were advised this Rootian Restaurant by a foot massage shop owner and we were very disappointed. We ordered fried vegetables, Bak Kuh Teh, 2 tiger shrimps plus a Singaporean style fried noodles.
Our comments are:
- vegetables: way too oily
- Bak Kuh Teh: very very salty, with a lot of fatty pork, not meat in the soup
- tiger shrimps: they fried tiger shrimps with very thick corn starch, and covered with butter and sweet & sour sauces (we ordered 2 different flavors). Shrimps are cold, that means they were not freshly made! very disappointed at this dish as it was highly recommended by their staff.
- Singaporean style fried noodles: so-so only.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang,Malaysia
1 review
“bad experience in Rootian & Langkawi Sunrise Restaurants”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went to Rootian Restaurant, my wife, my mum in law, 3 kids(4,6,8 years old) & I ,for dinner. We were forced for "3 persons size" food, I had to beg the waiter to change it to "2 persons size" food but he did not change the 3 Tiger-prawn dish which costed RM148, one prawn was raw & smelly. Other dishes were long bean(less than ten pieces,RM 10), fish slides with ginger(RM23), sour chicken(RM16) & Tau-Fu with mince meats(RM12), with 6 rices & 6 plain water, the total cost was RM218. We learned from this lesson, we went to another Chinese restaurant, The Langkawi Sunrise(opposite Rootian) on the next day, we ordered all fried rice & noodles which costed RM7-8 per dish but was rejected by the waiter who chased us to leave the restaurant. Therefore we had fried rice & noodle in a Malay restaurant, it costed RM4-5 per dish only. Please do not eat Chinese food dishes in Langkawi, they wanted to cut throat only

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oily food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had only simple dinner by ordering some fried hokkien mee and noodles in this restaurant and we found the food is quite oily. They took quite long time to serve the food as well although there were not really crowded when we visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food, with unique seating/dinning environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Environment:
It is at a good street corner in Kuah town, facing main streets "inside" the banking district. That means, the tables are facing wide streets, and the streets are clean.
There was a table placed exactly at the street corner, thus we were dinning facing the joint junction of 2 main "inside" streets, with BEER. You did not see people walking around, but you did see cars passed-by. You did not see many people going in/out from 3 duty-free shops, one at each opposite corners, but you did see the lights from the shops -- unique seating/dinning environment. (No worry, even if you do not get that table, all the other tables can give you good seating experience.)

Food:
Surprisingly the seafood price was higher than other seafood-focused restaurants. However, this place was more for Chinese food, and thus we ordered several normal Chinese dishes. So, skip seafood and focus on other dishes.
The good thing was that all dishes had small, medium, and large sizes. For couple of 2, ordering small-sized dishes you could order 4-5 to try different varieties.
Many photos in the menu so it is easy for non-Chinese to order the dishes.
If you are not picky, I think most of the dishes could satisfy your palate.
We normally spend RM 500 for a dinner for 2 in some up-scale, but we were equally happy in Rootian. Each small-sized dish was from RM 12-20, so total at RM 100 is a good reference if you try multiple dishes as we did.

People:
Most of customers were local Chinese. Some local Malay/Indian as well. From the dress, they were probably middle-class, per local standard. That could be translated that Rootian was recognized by locals.

Recommended, especially your hotel is near that area. (However, if your hotel is further than Pantai Cenang, it is not necessary to go far distance for it.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rootian Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Rootian Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rootian Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.