We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asia Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Asia Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Asia Langkawi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 & 4, Jalan Persiaran Putra | Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Hotel Asia & Dormitory)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Krabi Town, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Compact and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This small hotel just 5 minutes in a taxi from the Langkawi Ferry Terminal is small and rooms on two floors only. We took a first floor Deluxe Room for 128 Ringit nightly - when available we could have save more by taking a standard room at 98 Ringit. Our Room had a third bed also and very comfortable, LCD TV, Hot Shower, Air Con and WiFi. Spotlessly clean.

Very polite and helpful Reception - a Clean sandy beach is about 5 mins walk. Taxis around Kuah cost 6 Ringits (about £1.50) including back to the Ferry Terminal. don't order from the Hotel though as that results in paying an additional 4 Ringits - their cut!

There are plenty of cheap breakfast places around. Try the Roti Channai (a kind of pancake) served with a small bowl of curry sauce. Goes down nicely with the local coffee. The Hotel has no catering facilities.

We used this as an alternative to the Thai Visa run of cramming into a mini bus and do the round trip at the Land Border. We left the Car in the free Car park on the Thai side at Satun then the 1 hour Jet Foil (300 Baht OW) Staying longer on Langkawi we would recommend Cennang Beach, a 25 minute taxi ride from the Ferry but just 5 minutes from the Airport. Worth renting a motor Cycle to explore the Island - unlike Thailand full insure is mandatory. The is a very good cable car with wonderful views. All in all a very nice Island, not quite as shambolic as Thailand but without the entertainment.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    33
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
17
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had stayed for a night at the Asia Langkawi hotel in Kuah. It is a small hotel but the rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful right from booking through agoda to arranging the tours. They helped us choose the right tours and transport. Its not a resort but if you are looking for at sight seeing the entire day and a hotel only for the night then this is a really good choice. Its close to the jetty terminal and has a couple of chocolate shops close by too.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room witha window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this hotel for five days after reading the good reviews. The room is a little small, but clean and cosy with very comfortable bed. Basic amenities were available - shower cream, shampoo, coffee making facilities with 3 in 1 coffee replenished everyday. The shower was powerful. We were given a room away from the road, which was rather quiet, except for a few occasions when guests walking past the room talked loudly. The hotel does not provide breakfast, but breakfast is easily available within the vicinity of the hotel. It is also within walking distance from the shopping area, about 10 mins walk. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and i would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a comfortable and inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Good security with access card on all entry. Near to kuah town n night market, seafood within close walking or driving distance. Newly renovated modern hotel room w triple bed at rm148.00 Staff are a little impolite n check in is so slow.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to it online review and found that it is as good as the comments. The room is very clean and well maintained, and much spacious than expected.

Front desk staff and manager were very friendly, offering help to book island hoping, rent a car and such.

We needed to check out by noon on our last day, however, our flight departs at night. The hotel allow us to store our luggage in with them until it is time to depart for airport.

In all, the service is excellent. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

As mentioned in most reviews here, you should not be disappointed with this hotel. It is clean, helpful staff and reasonably priced.
Maybe the draw back is you have to walk for about 15mins to the Kuah town biz area.
My advice to you is you'd better book earlier if you plan to stay in the Kuah town. I booked the family room for one night, just wanted to test the overall service but ended without a room the next day as rooms were fully booked.
If you are looking for a non frill hotel, this hotel could be a nice one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stay here for 2 nights, with parents. The pros of this hotel are:
1. position: very easy to find, 5 min walk to downtown of Kuah, you can find many shops & restaurants there.
2. room: very new & clean, although relatively small.
3. staff: friendly & helpful, they try to upgrade guests for free any time if possible
The cons are:
1. the noise from the corridor & bath room, as the room is small, you have to pray for that all your neighborhoods are quiet people :)
2. the bath water is heated by the heater in each room, while the switch of the heater is hid in the curtain... For the 1st night, I didn't know all of this since no one tell me, I thought the hot water was provided by a central system, so when it ran out, I just waited waited waited... until I found the switch next morning. This is a small thing, but need to improve.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asia Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Langkawi

Address: 3 & 4, Jalan Persiaran Putra | Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Hotel Asia & Dormitory)
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Asia Langkawi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Asia Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asia Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.