We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

The Pavilion
The Datai | Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 286 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shanghai
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food was delicious, we had the beef massaman curry, the Thai red curry, steamed red snapper and tamarind roasted chicken as well as the crab and prawn cakes. Everything was exceptional, portions sizes were just right and the atmosphere is great. It is expensive but well worth it for the atmosphere and food. Service is good, just the right level of attentive.
A great night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Thai amongst the trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great setting high almost in the forest canopy, really good food and the usual friendly and attentive Datai service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was absolutely wonderful here. My only problem, being arachnaphobic.....we're the spiders above my head! But this is an open air restaurant in a rainforest, so it is to be expected! I'm sure if I'd asked to be moved, nothing would have been too much trouble. The chef came out after we had finished our meal for us to thank him for such a lovely meal. Slightly over attentive staff ( if you can call that a problem) maybe that was because they were not full, so they had more time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I used to visit the restaurant years ago when I was based in Langkai it was the end of week treat. The setting is still stunning, the starters were great but the main course ranged from average to awful. My theory is that we turned up at the exact time everyone breaks their fast during Ramadan so I can only assume the kitchen was empty and only the b- team holding the fort. This also happened at the lobby bar same sort of time the following day where it took 20 mins for an ice lemon tea to arrive, they did apologies and didnt charge for it but the waitress said there was only one staff looking after the kitchen at the time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Truly unique magical Thai gourmet Rainforest experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We visited the Pavilion twice whilst staying for a week at The Datai (see separate Datai review). Picture the idyllic scene; this is a small (maybe 60-80 covers) restaurant, 100 feet high elevated on natural wood posts, in the middle of the canope of Langkawi Rainforest. As with the rest of The Datai the service is impeccable, and the food is incredible. On our first visit we ordered a range of main courses – standout dishes included the richest massamam curry we have ever tasted, exquisite Phad Thai, plus some fabulous prawns in chili and lemongrass. A few reviews have stated that they found the food too hot however our servers asked us on every visit how hot we wanted the food – so do let them know as they are happy to help. Don’t be put off if you have children who don’t like spicy food - the whole of The Datai has a children’s menu – but with food this delicious our 7 year old son tried everything. On our second visit we went on a Wednesday night and had the incredible Lobster seafood menu. This incredible five course banquet feast includes; fresh crab rolls, spicy seafood salad, deep-freed fish roll, coconut prawn soup with turmeric, stir-fried lobster with lemongrass sauce, steamed Garoupa, wok-fried scallops with fresh herbs and green peppercorns, stir-fried Kailan, carved fruits and it goes on! The menu is expensive but well worth it for a truly unique experience – the portions are generous – we ordered 2 and the restaurant staff were very happy to bring plates for our son to share with us. All in all a truly unique magical Thai gourmet Rainforest experience in what I am sure must be one of the most romantic restaurants in the world!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pavilion also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.