We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pavilion

The Pavilion
The Datai | Jalan Teluk Datai, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 304 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

It is amongst the best thai food we've ever had. The head chef has been taught how to cook by his mum; this is traditional thai food at its best.
Try the wagyu beef massaman, and the soft shell crab.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    27
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience - great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have just returned from Langkawi where we stayed for about a week. We stayed at the Andaman (as we always do) but we eat at the Datai - Thai Pavillion.

The food cannot be faulted. The chef does Michelin Star quality food. The ingredients that he uses are so fresh and full of flavour - it leaves you wanting to eat there all the time. That is exactly what we did!
We have had most of the things on the menu and some off the menu. As we had our dinner there all the time on one night chef prepared for us a special homemade chicken curry with noodles – it was incredible.
His recipes were passed to him from his mother (I believe) and that makes it even more interesting as you are eating old fashion Thai food with a modern twist to it. It can be spicy but the staff are wonderful to warn you and adapt the spiciness to your taste.
The service was great too and very attentive. They really care about your experience and they try to make your culinary experience the best you will ever have.
We were there with a child – the children’s menu is great and flexible.
We loved it so much and are looking forward to returning there sometime soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“location very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

curry green not so pefect, curry green OK. service very friendly and helpful. .

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great promising starter then all came crashing down with the main courses!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

we stayed at the Andaman and decided to walk over next door's Pavilion for dinner because we read great TA reviews and if we were to get a bit tipsy, which we always do, we would just walk back along the beach. Knowing that the restaurant is part of the 5 star Datai, we expected that it would be pricey so we were not very surprised to see the pricing on the menu. A few samples: mixed seafood spicy soup for 48MYR, 5 spices roasted duck for 75MYR, curry NZ lamb for 78MYR, and no bottle of wine less than 135MYR. You can mix and match appetizer / main course / dessert for 210MYR/p. At this pricing it was probably the most expensive Thai restaurants we had been to, surpassing the Blue Elephant in Paris. We were OK with this because we love good food and had splurge occasionally on 3-Michelin star dinners. The restaurant itself extends out from a cliff and sits on tall stilts, over looking the Andaman sea . I suppose the view was part of the price. We did not have a reservation and the restaurant was fully booked that night so we had to settle for a balcony table at the "dining room" a few steps in from the cliff. By the way, we ordered the exact items mentioned above :). The soup came in a clay pot and when lid opened I knew it was going to be a fantastic soup. The steaming tamarind flavor infused with fresh crab, prawns, squids was amazing. The broth was clear and seasoned perfectly, as opposed to sometimes too salty or too sour for typical Thai soup. We thought to ourselves that this was going to be a great meal and definitely worth the price. But then came the two main courses and we were terribly disappointed. We chose duck and lamb because we want to see how they prepare dishes that are known to be difficult to prepare, besides the fact that we love duck and lamb dishes. Duck and lamb have quite unique and distinct flavor as well as texture that is not easy to mask. The Pavilion managed exactly just that. Both dishes were heavily seasoned which was fine for Thai dishes but for a high end restaurant I expect the season to complement the meat rather than completely destroy it. If I were to have a bite on the duck dish without knowing what it was I would have guessed it was pork, or dry old chewy beef for the lamb. I will give the staff a high rating for great service, but I would not pay another visit especially when you can get that kind of food for 1/5 the price down Pantai Cenang.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience, very pricey...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were really looking forward to our trip to the Thai Restaurant at The Datai as Thai food is our favourite cuisine.

We were really disappointed with both the starter (prawn soup) and the main course (Thai red curry, lamb curry). The food is distinctly average, and I would happily pay RM100-200 for this quality of food, but to be charged over RM550 was a joke. Luckily the helpful waiter agreed and reduced the bill, but we still paid RM400 for two people including drinks!

The setting is beautiful though!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pavilion also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.