We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citin Hotel Langkawi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citin Hotel Langkawi to your Saves list
Citin Hotel Langkawi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 3, Jalan Pekan | Kuah, Kedah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala lumpur
1 review
“Budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good:
Hotel is located in prime area in Kuah town, so going around becomes very easy. Wifi internet is good. Hotel reception staff was very polite and help planning trips nicely.

Bad:
Breakfast served in Hotel was pathetic.... Limited varieties and taste was not that good. No room service meaning.... u will have to carry your luggage yourself to your room.... re-fill water by yourself.. No lift.... TV with only seven channels... No newspapers....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear SJvilla

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the issue with the relevant department concerned.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    80
    73
    32
    24
See reviews for
45
85
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Simple, clean, value for money are the terms that perfectly fit for this hotel. Staffs were very polite in answering to all sorts of questions. Especially very helpful in guiding us to plan our visits to different places. Breakfast for vegetarians like me was a big let down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear JananiP

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Simple and clean hotel .Great location .Hotel's reception is very welcoming and with a smile . Staff speaks very good English and was always ready to help us with any questions and give directions for different places in Kuah town.very comfortable the surrouding area are full of restorant duty free shop and also have a night market. all the distance walk between ten min Rooms were pretty basic, but clean,Comfortable and value for money

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear YLLIM64

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

clean with good showers in a rather dull and uninteresting town, breakfast was awful but the price was right and the staff were very friendly. great outdoor restaurant over the road behind the mosque.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear CJ_Zanahoria

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel's reception is very welcoming and clean. Staff speaks very good English and was always ready to help us with any questions and give directions for different places in Kuah town. Rooms were pretty basic, but clean. Especially showers were quite good and reliable (for both hot and cold water), which you grow to appreciate when travelling on a budget in Malaysia. Hotel's breakfast changed from morning to morning, so expect to get some variety there. Juice, tea, coffee, toasts and cornflakes were staples. In addition to that there were either sausages & fried eggs & noodles or roti & dhal & fried rice.

There's a laundry and few minimarts nearby. For larger shopping center you'll have to walk maybe 1km. As a hotel, I would recommend this, but Kuah town itself was a bit boring unless you're into serious booze & chocolate duty-free shopping.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Sathamoth

Warm Greeting!

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We are appreciative of your kind words towards our service, cleanliness of the room, feedback and review.

Once again, Citin Hotel genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We humbly request you to stay with us as our esteemed guest on your next trip to Langkawi.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johor
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

3 day 2 night vacation at ilangkawi is fun but most disappointing about the accommodation. The room is too small and the cleanlines is too severe. This is the first and last time I stayed at this hotel. Terrible service. I do not know how the management person who did manages this hotel. Room lights do not work properly. Rubbish didnt thrown away every day, make our rooms stink and discomfort. Breakfast food is the worst I have ever met and had never been in any kind of hotel I've ever stayed before. Fried Noodles empty and flaccid. Looks like a duck or chicken meal. Even if going to profit, do not get like that. Think about that to eat is human, not an animal.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel as your accommodation, just wonderful news from the appearance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citin_Hotel_Manager, Operation Manager at Citin Hotel Langkawi, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear JohorBengang

Thank you for choosing Citin Hotel Langkawi as your preferred hotel during your visit to Langkawi. We are delighted to have you stay with us.

We have learnt of the problems you encountered during your stay that was not satisfactory which you have most rightly highlighted to us. We have addressed the room cleanliness issue with the department concerned and we will be increasing the frequency and detail of room inspection to ensure rooms are thoroughly cleaned prior to the arrival. We apologize for the standard of breakfast not being up to your standard. The process of improving breakfast is on its course.

Kindly note that this shortcoming you have encountered is an aberration for our standards and not indicative of the service we strive to achieve. Please allow us to express our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.

Your Sincerely,
Mariamma Munisamy
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Me and some friends to Langkawi for holidays, over Xmas,and booked the Citin Hotel due to good tripadvisor feedbacks.
Well, it was not as expected, it was really terrible.

To give an overview I will list the pro and cons:

Pro:
The staff was nice and helpfull, as long as you request is a standart request (08/15), otherwise problematic.

Easy to catch a taxi outside the hotel

Cons:
The hotel is located on a road, where opposite side is a mosque, which means that we where woken up every morning at 6 am by the daily prayer. For this reason we asked the staff to get another room with windows to the backyard, unfortunatly that was not possible..

When we checked in they the first problem occured, we booked the hotel online, 2 rooms with 2 beds each, but the staff insisted that we booked 2 rooms, one 2 beds and one 1 bed and sied that they have no other room with 2 beds free. But what miracle after showing them our confirmation from booking.com, 2 rooms with each 2 beds, a room with 2 beds was found.... Nothing more to add to this....

The blankets and pillows where dirty and full of stains, a total no go!
The get warm water you have to switch on and wait for 10 minutes, but there was no warm water in the shower, bad luck for us, due to the warm weather it was not that problematic. But even after we reported this issue to the satff no change happend.

The staff who made the room never refilled toiletpaper, even when it was non there, but they gave us new soap, even there was non needed (We ended up with 12 sopas after 6 nights there).

The toilet was very simple, as the rest of the room. I dont mind that every time we used the shower the whole toilet, but that it was quite dirty and never got cleaned thats bad. As well as that the toilet lid was broken when we arrived, it got fixed with a screw instead of replacing it, but only after we reported it!

The room are spartanic, two/one bed, a bed table, the tv (8 channels, 2 english) on the wall and the ac ( which was very loud) and a table belowe the tv, thats it more or less.

Summary:
Never ever again, even for a quite low price.
In the end its always the same, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citin Hotel Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Hotel Langkawi

Address: No. 3, Jalan Pekan | Kuah, Kedah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Hotel Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Kuah, the newly renovated Citin Langkawi hotel offers clean and comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and feature an en-suite bathroom. Additional facilities include 24-hour reception & security, laundry service and a breakfast room. Internet service is available in the lobby. It is a mere 5 minutes walk to duty free shopping, a short walk to the local jetty. A 20 minute drive away is the well-known beach of Cenang and just 30 minutes from the hotel is Langkawi International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citin Hotel Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citin Hotel Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.