We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkelling was good, the rest was rather unpleasant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Langkawi Coral

Langkawi Coral
Langkawi, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 44 attractions in Langkawi
Type: Geologic Formations
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Snorkelling was good, the rest was rather unpleasant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I had not read the reviews before attending. The boat from the Jetty in Langkawi is a bit grim with awful toilet facilities and ambience. The platform is a bit of a scramble and has seen better days - fortunately it was not that crowded when we went. There was a wide ethnic mix and one group was loud and insisted on throwing large amounts of bread to attract the fish - despite being warned by staff of fines. However there was no enforcement by staff of the Marine Park rules. A large proportion of visitors and most of the staff smoke continuously on the platform and one has to wonder if this is an accident waiting to happen. We enjoyed the snorkellling and positives aspects of the trip!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    10
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

A terrible waste of money and an overall terrible experience! I did a dive (PADI qualified) and my sisters did the snorkelling. The whole thing was so disorganised with a free for all getting the snorkelling equipment. My sisters were dumped at the beach which was littered with rubbish. The only wokring sink in the ladies was full of sick and the toilets were in a terrible state. I went on my dive with an instructor who never read the paperwork and carried shark heads in his BCD to feed the fish/sharks! All very bad practise! I had to point out to him that the guy who was my buddy had only done 12 dives which were 4 years ago! (He should have done a check dive but this never happened either!) We did see a large black tipped reef shark on our dive but I can't but help think that this is purely because they are feeding them to encourage them to come. It will end in someone getting seriously hurt! Lunch was also awful - a cold packet of 'brown' lunch - nasty chicken, fried rice and chips - especially as we'd seen the buffet on the floating platform. After my morning dive, I was then dumped at the beach aswell. Lots of staff just sitting around doing nothing - not cleaning the beach or the toilets. Tourists who were feeding the fish were not asked to stop. When I pointed this out, a member of staff pointed at his t-shirt to say that he didn't have the authority to ask them to stop! ...so I did! Some education about the reef was desperately needed and this would stop people standing on the coral, dropping litter on the beach and feeding the fish harmful foods. Save your money and do something else! This is a conveyor belt for tourists! Call yourself a nature park?

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Cultural Experience but snorkelling mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We went this morning. The staff were great and well organised. We had a forty-fifty minute ferry ride out to a large floating platform. A number of other boats all arrived at the same time and we found ourselves in an Oriental scrum with Chineese and Japanese all cheerfully charging at life vests, masks, tables and anything else that they could get to first.
The actual snorkelling was good for the family - with the exception of just WAY TOO MANY people. It was a scrum at times - although the kids did have a great time.
There was a wild rush to get into the water. Luckily there was also a mass exodus for lunch which left us largely free to snorkel for an hour without having a foot or face in your vision.
Great staff. Well organised although basic. Great for families as an introduction to snorkeling but not great if you are used to snorkeling in relative peace and quiet. And this was the LOW SEASON so goodness knows what it is like in full season.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can only recommend if you're a family with different needs.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This is a mass product with lots of people. You can expect everything to just about deliver on what's promised. The service varied from really good to really poor, but was overall lacking. You have three options, snorkel from beach (awful and feeding sharks is debatable), snorkel from platform (better but too crowded) or diving (ok but check equipment and speak to DM before).
Overall. Hard to recommend if you're not a group deadset on doing various things.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Welcome to the waterworld!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

It was a day trip of Langkawi Coral. They had a Platform constructed above the Coral reefs besides the Pulau Payar Marine Park. Even the oes who have not set foot into waters is bou nd to go deep inside it to see the corals. For the first instance, you will get frightened once you have such a close look at the Coral just beneath you, but as you get acquainted with the marine life there, the enjoyment starts.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langkawi Coral also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Langkawi Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langkawi Coral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Langkawi Coral to your Saves list