We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food so far!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TULSI GARDEN RESTAURANT

TULSI GARDEN RESTAURANT
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
+6049553011
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 272 restaurants in Langkawi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
“Best Indian food so far!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Coming from an Indian girl, trust me folks! By far the best Indian food I've tasted on the beach. Tried India Palace few days earlier which pales in comparison to Tulsi Garden. Great ambience and friendly staff too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    41
    23
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Indish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We liked the atmosphere and the friendly staff. The food was outstanding and the next time we are on Langkawi were coming back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food despite the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After eating buffet meals, we were longing for Malaysian fusion food and decided to try the place because we couldn't walk any further due to tired legs on the end of a busy and awesome day. And what a choice it turned out to be!

The food was typical Malaysian, Thai and Tamil cuisine fusion. We started with a spicy crab soup which was having the right mix of sour, heat and spice. The quantity was a little less than we expected but that in no way deterred my wifey and child, who generally abhor soups from gorging on it. We followed it by ordering a Chinese mixed fried rice and Tom yam fried rice. For curry, we ordered Chettinad style prawn curry which was plenty and tasty. The chinese fried rice was thankfully not an Indianised version and stayed true to local tastes. It had chicken, prawn and lamb (or was it beef?) and was cooked to perfection and served hot. The tom yam was more sour and had prawns and assortment of sea food. It jelled well with the Chettinad prawn curry.

The meal cost just about RM 100 for 2 adults and infant. On the down side, there are only 4 cooks and 2 waiters and be prepared for long waits. On second day, we were warned that the wait time was 30-40 mts and had to skip the place! :(


It is located on Pentai Cenang close to Sun Cafe/Frangipani resort.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Tasty Food. Good part was food was having less oil and it was neatly served.
Do not miss the candle light dinner provided at the restaurant outside.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Atmosphere was cool, good service. Food was ok, not that great. Esp. Chicken Vindaloo, very spicy and less tasty. Roti, Raita, Mixed Veg Kurma nice. Soup, nice but too buttery.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TULSI GARDEN RESTAURANT also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to TULSI GARDEN RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TULSI GARDEN RESTAURANT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.