We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little 'spruicing up'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi to your Saves list
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Langkawi
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Needs a little 'spruicing up'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and I am 'between and betwixed' about the premises. The rooms are showing their age as has been reported by several reviewers. Ours was a little 'musty' and the airconditioner when not in operation suffered badly from condensation leaks onto the floor. Bathrooms were pretty old fashioned. That being said; its very affordable, nicely located (on the quieter Pantai Tengah beach), courteous staff and totally relaxed. Prices all round are good at the hotel and I have not noted a significant increase in prices for anything since my last visit (four year gap). One slight annoyance was a duty manager in trying to be helpful to us on our late arrival offered to book a day trip (at our request) for the following morning. Despite taking our details it didn't happen. The tourist desk was unhappy about this when discovering it. But when I'm back in Langkawi I will no doubt stay here again.

Room Tip: A beach or pool room - not the 'swamp view'!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We acknowledge on your observations and we will continue to strive for further improvements in all areas towards achieving quality standards. Thank you for your support to us .Please accept our apologies on the setback encountered during your stay with us. We appreciate that you have brought it up to our attention for our onward investigation. We shall await on the outcome of the findings. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    458
    267
    109
    90
See reviews for
326
392
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but fairly outdated. We needed to have our safe fixed twice during our stay, and our balcony door also needed to be repaired as it came off its runners and couldn't be closed. To their credit, staff were extremely friendly, and helpful on all occasions. We got the buffet breakfast once, it was a pretty bland selection. Can get a nicer breakfast at Cactus over the road for 1/5 of the price. The pool was good. The location is a little out of the main tourist area, but there are plenty of good restaurants in walking distance and taxis are cheap and readily available. Overall, it wasn't a bad experience but we felt that a few improvements could be made.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments.We value your support to us and we look forward to welcome you back again to our beach resort and provide you with our finest services. Have a nice day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are considering booking accommodation on this side of Langkawi, this is the place to go.

This is more upmarket than the Lanai next door and is really well-maintained. I especially like the fact that in the main public areas, it is open air with lots of ceiling fans. The buffet breakfast is fantastic, but lunch and dinner are less indulgent. The place is popular with families and for good reason - it has a wide absolute beach frontage.

There is a great spa on site but book your massage in advance - I could not get any appointment because it was fully booked on both nights that we stayed there.

We booked a deluxe room on the top floor overlooking the pool area and it was a cheery set-up. Just a relaxed, laid back atmosphere and simple furniture. But it had good airconditioning.

Because my husband was not feeling very well, we were unable to explore the streetlife and dining options outside the hotel. However the hotel has pretty good dining facilities onsite anyway.

Another plus for me is they have an on-site security gate manned by security guards at the resort entrance.

Over-all this was a great relaxing place in Langkawi.

Room Tip: The resort is low rise so the highest rooms are on level 3 or 4 - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and happy with our facilities and services. We appreciate your support and we hope to see you back again . Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had an awesome time at the beach with my family. Pool and amenities are awesome. We experienced one of the best stay, in the beach resort. Good food, and ambience is also great. Service was ok, time taken at reception was longer than usual. Langkawi overall was very peaceful, calm, and so was this awesome beach resort

Room Tip: As close to the beach as you can get !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we are delighted to learn that you had an awesome time at the beach resort. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Holiday Villa Langkawi . Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the holiday villa. Upgraded ourselves to a deluxe premium sea facing room. Was not any different to a standard room. The rooms were Ok but the bathrooms were dismal. The smell of dampness lingered in the bathroom. Constant leaks on the floor. Amenities were poor. The furniture in the rooms could do with a change.
The reception staff were helpful as were the staff in the restaurant. Breakfast was ok albeit no change over the 5 days we stayed .
The pool area was clean but there was construction of another pool going on. Don't bother eating in the restaurants as they are expensive and with not much choices. There are plenty of restaurants outside the hotel. Hiring of a two wheeler or a car from the T-shoppe across the hotel was good. There is also a new laundry opened close to the hotel which was good called Siti Laundry.
The spa at the hotel was excellent. Lovely treatments with reasonable prices and great staff.
One thing that I will moan about at this hotel is the woeful wifi / Internet charges. We were charged 40 ringgit for one device for 24 hrs. This is a rip off considering even the smallest restaurant outside had free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our resort. We view your comments positively and will strive to make further improvements from time to time in our hotel services for guests' comfort .Thank you for your support to us and hope to see you back again to Langkawi island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Holiday villa is located next to beautiful beach and have a nice area design. we was tehre for 3 night and enjoy there.

My Positive points are:
1- next to beach
2- big and good swiming pool
3- calm place
4- beautiful yard area
5-good beakfast
6- air condition has worked good.
7-Patai cenang only a 15 minute stroll away

My Negative points are:
1- a little high price
2- avarage service(not so good)
3- waiting around 30 min when for check in.
4- late room service(caffe/tea..)
5- the room wasn t clean enough

the Landkawi island is a nice place for Honey moon

Room Tip: all of them alright
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments as it help us to improve our services to our guests. We will continue to monitor our operations closely to meet guest expectations. Thank you for your support .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went to Langkawi last december with my wife.... the best thing I liked about the hotel was that it is on a beach, it has a look and feel that gives mental peace. very near to the market and has good shops nearby where a tourist can find all most all the necessary things.

We could easily pickup a two wheeler on rent from a shop just opposite, it also had other things like beachwear, ready to eat food, and few more essential things.

Room service was good, food was nice, breakfast good. We stayed in a pool view room and could see the beach too so it was indeed a beautiful view from the room

Room Tip: Please ask for a double /king bed if you want one, otherwise they might end up giving 2 single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and we will continue making efforts to enhance our services in all areas of operations . We look forward to have you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.