We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some small changes would make this a much better place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“some small changes would make this a much better place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights and were woken up by a very bad version of Withney Houston at 7 am. The staff at the reception is friendly but cold, house keeping staff is very friendly.
Pool is fine, beach ok. Rooms are ok but a bit out of date, with a small bathroom, which is losing tiles left and right. Location is perfect if you want to be away from the Pantai Cenang crowds, and still not too far out (6RM to Pantai Cenang)
The restaurant is hugely overpriced, breakfast was at 48RM per person, wereas across the road at Cactus restaurant you paid for a full american breakfast 12 RM ( which is already pricey for breakfast, but ok if you see what you get in place). In a good (tourist and thus pricier)restaurant down the street we would pay 125RM for 4 full meals + drinks, so get out on the streets to eat. We did not eat one single time at the restaurant, which is a shame for the hotel, really. If they would lower there price to 20 RM, you could say for the occasion that you woulde take it, but this was just not worth it.
If you want a pool and don't mind crossing the street for every meal, stay at this one. There are plenty of other options around

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we acknowledged on your observations about the resort . We view your comments positively and we will strive further to improve in all areas of operations and services. Your support to Holiday Villa is appreciated and we look forward to see you back again in Langkawi island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    444
    249
    102
    87
See reviews for
307
376
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My partner and I were first time visitors to Langkawi and the Holiday Villa. Stayed for 6 nights.
Great location, far enough from Pantai Chenang to be out of the crowds, and close enough to have easy access (15 min wlak, or $2 taxi which were readily available).

The pool was awesome! Plenty of sunbeds and space in the pool, provding an uncrouded feel. The private beach was amazing and maintained to a high standard. There was construction being completed on a new pool, and at first the noise of jackhammers, etc was annoying but we got used to it and it didn't occur all the time. Great view of gardens and ocean.

We found drink and beverage prices to be inflated compared to prices at other places around, however as we were in a hotel we expected this and choose to eat elsewhere. Cactus restaraunt across the road is great value!

After travelling to other parts of South East Asia we found Holiday Villa to be consistant with the facilities provided in conjunction to the ammount of money paid. We would not hesitate to return and next time bring our 2 yr old daughter with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We thank you for choosing our beach resort as your place of stay in Langkawi island. We are delighted that you and your partner had an enjoyable time and we will look forward to welcome you back again with your daughter .Your support to Holiday Villa is always appreciated. Thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a hard one, we love Langkawi but this just wasn't quite amazing. Stayed here for 3 nights. Ill start with the good, we stayed in a twin superior - very large room, large bathroom (with a bath!) good aircon, very very clean. Amazing pool and beautiful beach front. The restaurant cactus just across the road was a plus - great Breke. Down side: the beds are two singles (made separately) and just pushed together, there was a gap by the morning! The noise in the mornings was very loud, other quests closing their doors echos loudly down the corridors. Also next doors shower and toilet were extremely loud too. Hotel food was ok - but expensive and not really worth it. Service - there wasn't really any? We were welcomed and shown our room, and that's it... Didn't see a soul after that. So could be good if you don't mind being left to yourselves (we didn't mind) The location was ok... Great beach on the resort, and maybe a 20min walk to Pantai Centang centre (the mall).
Overall it was ok - not great but not bad either.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any shortcomings and will do our best to further improve in our guest services. We welcome guest's feedback in order to help us monitor our operations more closely and enhance our staff training to meet guest' satisfaction. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here four nights....And found the place to be avg leaning toward good. Welcome staff is busy talking over the phone etc. hotel is average but it has a nice beach which I liked. Rooms are clean and are decent in size with attached balcony. I wouldn't mind going back if I don't something better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments . We value your feedback and are delighted to hear that you liked the resort and the facilities. We welcome your support to Holiday Villa and it will be our pleasure to serve you again. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from vaccation from there. Absolutely no value for money. Worst part is the staff seems to be least bothered by your problems and extremely non co-operative. No wifi, they charged us 40 MYR for 24 hrs which was itself a shock. they even charged 7 ringitt for a 20 sec emergency call which was made from their recieption. You should expect to see grim faces without cordial greetings at every point. Overall, absolutely no no.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologized for the setback that you had encountered and inconvenience caused during your stay at our resort.. We view your review on your stay positively and while your accommodation experience did not meet to your expectations, nevertheless, we thank you for your kind support to Holiday Villa. We will continue to monitor our resort operations closely and enhance our staff training for better services always. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After reading some bad reviews on here i was a bit worried about staying here but was pleasently surprised. My family stayed at the Holiday Villa for 4 nights. On check in we were upgraded to a studio which was a great surprise! The room was better than expected and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was great and the beach was amazing. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would go back again.

We ate all our meals outside of the hotel as we found that the prices were very high in the hotel restaurants. Across the road is Cactus which is a great place for breakfast. We were able to have breakfast for 4 at less than the cost for 1 at the buffet breakfast at the hotel. There are also many other restaurants within walking distance which is very convenient.

If you plan to book this hotel I think it's important to remember that it is a four star resort so one should not expect five star accommodation and service. If you want a five star experience this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prashant Vihar, New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have booked the 2 rooms through asiawebdirect.com. They have offered complimentary breakfast, steam & sauna. We reached resort at 10:45am. No body greeted at entrance. We were told room will be available only at 2pm as per the hotel check in time. Ok, no problem. We tell them to keep our luggage in locker room. We paid the balance payment. When asked about complimentary vouchers, the staff was not sure of these. They were shown the booking vouchers, and only after confirming internally they issued us complimentary vouchers.We went out for sight seen etc. When we returned around 4pm, we found our luggage at reception only. It appeared again, they are least bothered about you. No drinking water in the room. You have to pay, otherwise use filter water from wash basin. Not much in breakfast for vegetarian Indian tourists. Finally, very tight check-out time 12 noon, if you delay they will charge extra, they warned this in writing in your room. Check out has long queues as every one wants not to pay extra. Over all not a 4 star experience.

Room Tip: Take pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We had done an investigation on your feedback and our findings showed that on the day of arrival, the resort was running almost full with 102 arrivals recorded. Despite the situation, our staff did try their level best to service guests courteously . The two rooms that were reserved for you were not ready as the room guests who occupied before you had not checked out . Your luggage was taken care by the Bellman and records showed that your luggage was sent to your room later in the evening upon your return from sightseeing to check-in.The two rooms number 047 and 048 were ready at 12.48 pm and 1.57pm respectively when you enquired around 4.00pm and asked for the rooms. Our Receptionist presented the 2 room keys accordingly and you had checked in to the room without any issue.

The resort does not provide complimentary drinking water . However, guests can purchase at a very minimal price.Our buffet breakfast features a wide range of vegetarian items like salads, cereals, assorted homemade breads, different type of potatoes, ala minute cooked roti canai, many types of local fruits, variety flavoured yogurts etc.

You had checked out on 23 June at 12:21 pm and on that day the resort was running at 91.63% with 125 departures. We did not find any issue or complaint registered at the Front Office, Night Manager and Duty Manager throughout your stay as well as on your check out day. Nevertheless, we apologized for the setback that you had encountered . We view your comments positively in moving forward to better services. Thank you and have a nice day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Otel, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.