We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene location, excellent private beach.. Will visit again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Save Saved
You added Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 hotels in Langkawi
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Serene location, excellent private beach.. Will visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife & I had stayed in Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa for a couple of days in mid April, 2013. The location is approx. 10 minutes drive from the Airport. The check-in was hassle free and swift. We were shown to our room which was sea facing and adjacent to the beautiful pool & the Jacuzzi. The rooms were nice, clean and welcoming, A/C working, bathroom and bath-tub in proper condition and best of all, the beach is only a few steps away from the room. The beach was well maintained, had a tropical bar which serves you beverages till 8:00-9:00 at night. You can get excellent sunset view from the beach. They have Wi-Fi in the rooms (chargeable). There are plenty of options to eat out. We chose to try the Cactus restaurant just across the resort as suggested by the previous reviewers and it turned out to be a wise choice (Thank you guys  ). No issues with commuting, as you can either hire a cab or rent cars and bikes nearby at reasonable prices. The front lobby is well decorated and the resort is well lit at night. The resort is away from the hustle bustle of the busy Pentai Chenang beach, but not too far from it. Front desk attendants always greeted us with smiles and generally helping by nature. Over all, I had a pleasant stay here and would recommend it to my friends. If you seek 5-star luxury, there are plenty of other options in Langkawi; but this resort in my opinion is worth the money you spend.

Room Tip: Try eating out as much as possible. The restaurants and beach side barbeque joints in and around Pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you have chosen to stay at our beach resort and found the resort value for money. We are doing our level best to provide our guests with our finest services in meeting their expectations. We shall be looking forward to see you and family again on your next visit to Langkawi island and enjoy the exciting attractions available on the island. With warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    416
    227
    90
    85
See reviews for
279
353
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We (French-Swedish Family with two children 3 and 6 years) stayed here one week in March 2013 and we were very happy with our stay here. The building itself is not amazing and the rooms are a bit worn-down but they are spacy and clean. The location is good, right on the beach and in a nice and calm environement. The breakfast is very expensive so we never had breakfast there but at the restaurant CACTUS just opposite the hotel and they have great brekfast to a vey good price so I do recommend going there. We only had lunch once at the beach restaurant which is nicely located but a bit expensive and not very good. The swimming pool area is very nice. A big swimming pool and very nice pool for the kids. The kids loved the swimming pool and we spent hours and hours there. The beach is nice too but not a lot of people go there. Is it because everyone is afraid of jelly fish? I don't know but we did think of the risk and prefered to stay in the pool and as the kids just loved it was ok for us too. The staff is very nice and it is easy to get a taxi to visit the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you and family as our guests and we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay . As a precaution, we place a signage at the beach front to alert out guests of the presence of jelly fish when they go for a swim. It is our concern that guests' safety is always being looked into during their stay with us.Thank you for your support and we hope that you and family will come back and visit us again in the near future. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel needs renovation all over, the front desk people were not friendly AT ALL. The air-condition in the room was terrible, the room is in a desperate need for renovation. Most of the jets in the jacuzzi at the pool were not working. The hotel is full of activity posters that the hotel doesn't do any of them. This hotel is way over priced

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments . We value your feedback and apologize for any shortcomings and will do the needful. We will monitor our operations more closely and will strive to deliver the best of services in meeting guests' expectations. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My sister & I stayed here for 2 nights from 16 May 2013. When I first entered the room, I could smell the scent of mosquito killer. The same incident happened again on the next day (after the hotel staff housekeeping our room). Luckily the scent was not too strong & unendurable, as both of us have sinusitis. Although the hotel used the mosquito killer, there still have mosquito in the room.

The building is quite old, the room "MUST" be refurbished due to wear & tear.

The breakfast provided by the hotel including the coffee & tea are extremely tasteless & the choice is limited. As the Lagenda Restaurant is open-air & surrounded by the garden, the birds can easily fly into the restaurant & feed by the uncovered food. I saw a guest leaving her table (with a plate of foods on the table) to get some drinks, and she saw a bird is "enjoying" her food when she back to the table. She was shocked & switched to another table.

Despite the above-mentioned problems, the hotel staff are friendly & helpful, and the room is clean. The beach is very clean & quiet, and the hotel's atmosphere is quite relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and for sharing with us on your experiences of your stay at our resort. We apologize for the setback that you had encountered and appropriate measures will be taken to address about the scent of the mosquito killer. We are monitoring our operations closely to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay . We thank you for your kind support to us and we appreciate your feedback to help us improve in our services. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What can we say about the Holiday Villa - ...how about the best place to "chill-ax".
I think, after our recent stay in January/February (and our 12th visit!!) I can honestly say that what brings us back each year is the wonderful relaxing atmosphere the hotel provides. You are not constantly bothered by staff wanting you to use the spa, restaurants etc. They want you to enjoy your holiday and you know they are there if needed.
The hotel could perhaps do with a little tlc, but the rooms are spacious and clean and provide all that's needed for your stay; the staff can't do enough for you and the pool is second-to-none.
There is just the right amount of water sport on the beach - any more would be an "over-kill" and too noisy when you are there to relax and enjoy the atmosphere!
And what about that beach - gorgeous,, with beautiful blue and bath- temperature sea water - after a 14 hour flight and busy hectic working lives you can ask no more than the Holiday Villa provide - warmth, friendliness, good customer service and great facilities.
The hotel is at the far end of the "strip" so is not as hectic as Cenang and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance providing great food.
Here's to our next trip January 2014.

Room Tip: We prefer the 1st floor rooms overlooking the pool ... but if you can afford a suite - go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. We are truly glad that you had a most wonderful holiday on your 12th visit to our resort and we appreciate that you took the effort to write and share your valuable experiences with us. Our friendly team are always striving to deliver the best of services to all valued guests in meeting their expectations. We welcome your return visit again in Langkawi island in Jan 2014 and thank you so much for your great support to Holiday Villa.Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just back from 10 night stay in this hotel. I had a room (or should I say roomsss) in the Federal Villa. First room (359) is a corner room on the 2nd floor (for US citizans: the 3rd floor). Very nice, very light, big enough, plenty of room to put all your things. You don't have 1 wardrobe but 2 !! Bathroom is basic. Airco doesn't work as it should... Wether you put it on 20°C or 25°C... It doesn't make any difference...
Unfortunately after a very heavy rain storm I had a leak in the roof and had to move to room 382 (ground floor, no upstairs neighbours)... Very dark and smaller... Same with the airco... but now I also din't have warm water in the shower... Less storage room than the other room but enough.
This room has a connecting door to the next room which means you can "enjoy" the noise coming from there.
The personel was friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is excellent. You can choose between coffee, thea, juices but no chocolate milk (pity). There is for everyone something... I'm sure of it. People who say they didn't know what to eat I can't understand.
The swimming pool area... Enough room to sit & lay dowb, big enough pool, jaccuzzi, childrens pool (although they also moved on to the jaccuzzi and pool). Towels available too.
If you don't want to sit near the pool, you can sit in the garden or go to the beach... Plenty of seats there too and shade (both at poolside and beach and garden). There is a dedicated swimming area as there are jetski's going around too.
If you want to make long beach walks that's not possible as the beach is edged at both sides by rocks so you can't go very far.
I came back yesterday (mid may) and had rain from midday till evening for 4 days out of the 10 I was there. When I say rain, I meant rain... The paths were flooded so getting to the restaurant with dry feet is not possible... So taking shoes with you that can stand the water is better than taking fancy shoes. Maybe It's a thought to raise these paths so they don't get flooded. Take an embrella as the paths are ot always covered and many of the rooms are situated in the garden.
There is no safe in my type of room but there are safes available at the reception for free.
You can book tours in the hotel or rent a taxi to do a tour of let him drive you to where-ever you want to go to.

The area outside the hotel:
Lots of restaurants accross the street (across the hotel ad left, one next the other: I can recommend the cactus and boat restaurant)
Forgot something: no problem, there are 2 supermarkets (turn left at the hotel, the other one is across the hotel next to the rental car place) where you can buy whatever you need/forgot (food, drinks, sun protection, tooth paste, clothes, batteries, souvenirs, etc.).

Walking to the centre is a 20 minute walk (left of the hotel, at the T-crossing right and first left) where you can visit Underwater world, lots of shops, restaurants, tax free shops, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Plenty of windows and light and no noise problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was in Langkawi in January2013 but stayed in Kuah. While driving to Cenang then, i passed this hotel and something about it made me want to spend time here and i am happy to say i was not wrong. It is situated at pantai tengah which is quiter than cenang and if you have a rented car , trips to cenang would be a breeze (but there are always taxis). I stayed here with my sister for 4 nights in April and would not mind coming back again. Booking and check in was easy and I was upgraded from superior to a studio room on the ground floor near the pool and beach, at no extra charge. The room was a bit dated and we did run into some problems concerning a leaky roof and the safe but these were attended to by the staff quite promptly. The thing about Langkawi is that you should be spending more time outdoors than indoors so i tolerated whatever small hiccups there were. The room was clean and spacious and i loved the bolster from the day bed so much that i enquired if i could buy it but the staff were not very helpful in this department. Breakfast was okay but the pastry was a bit hard. One thing that i found odd was that there were no complimentary bottled water and i had to pay rm3.50 for one which i took from the mini bar. Other than that this hotel is perfect if you want a safe quiet retreat but nothing too posh or fancy. For muslim ladies, the indoor pool is a plus point as it is almost unheard of in any other hotel...my sister and i found this pool handy on the 1 day it rained in langkawi while we were there. The staff were helpful and friendly , except the one on duty the day we checked out...when we asked if there were rooms for May, she was not the least bit bothered to promote the hotel...nevertheless i still would not mind coming back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments.We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and happy with the facilities. We apologize for any shortcomings and inconvenience caused. We will continue to enhance our staff training and guidance towards achieving service excellence . We hope to serve you again as our guest in the near future. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, Otel, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.