We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our sheets had bloodstains on them!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar

Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar to your Saves list
Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar
Jalan Stadium, Kedah,, Alor Setar 05100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Alor Setar
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our sheets had bloodstains on them!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and was impressed with the hotel.

Since then, standards have fallen considerably, and it appears to have lost some very competent key staff.

The room condition was poor, the housekeeping was very poor (the title of this review says it all!), and the front-of-house service is not what it once was.

We did not dine at the restaurant this time so I cannot appraise it.

I will not stay here again, which is a real shame, because the hotel seems to have just slid into a terrible decline.

Next time I'm in town I will try the Farrer or the City Star.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Been there on the 1st March and stayed for a night.Booked for 2 room ( Room 233 & 234). Room was spacious and staff was ok.The big problem with this hotel is that the bathroom was so terrible and room was mouldy (Room 233). I think the Housekeeping staff had been doing a great job but the management should upgrade the current bathroom tiles with a new one. They also need to re-paint the entire room as the condition was really bad.

Breakfast was average (with the price that I paid) of which remind me of my school day. Only nasi lemak, porridge, roti jala,limited choice of fruit and some "weird" sausage grilled with black pepper.Restaurant staff was not very attentive as most of them is only a trainee.I cant understand on why the Managent did'nt notice on the slow services overall although most of them (management staff) was sitting there the whole morning and enjoying their meals even at 0945hrs in the morning!

Overall, I wont return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel located quite a distance from the city centre, in fact is it located quite in a obscure location,..its actually located behind the stadium with hardly any road signs to guide you from the city centre. The only road signs that I notice was one at 100m from the turning to the hotel! We did tried to call front office to guide us to the place from the North South Expressway but it only makes things more confusing. There was only one person seem to be handing the front desk and we actually had to wait a good hour before being attended. May be the management needs to make more staffs available for a more faster check it?

The room was small, poorly furnished, breaking apart in every corner, poor bathrooms in which the water heater seem to be rudimentary and it seem to be poorly ventilated as the rooms seem to have the typical old socks scent!

What was annoying was the hotel seem to have a very poor sound proof system. There was a function at the cafe at the night and you could basically heard the whole function event from the room! And the function goes own well into the night!

The hotel do provide free wifi access, both you cant really get connected in the room. either you need to be at the walk way or leave open the room door to get the wifi access. And if you do have the internet access, it seem to be breaking down pretty often until the point that it will be more convenient to go the nearby KFC restaurant to get the internet access.

I think the only thing that I am happy about this hotel is that it does have spacious and ample parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

i went to seri malaysia bcoz of my friend suggestion.Upon check in time all is ok. When I step to my rooms its still ok BUT after 05minutes the air conditioner start being noisy and also leaking..I went to the toilet,its dirty and the flush not function at all.The carpet was smelling very teribble,I cant stand for that even for a second..I called the front desk,there is the girl pick up the phone..i told her that I like to change room bcoz im not comfortable with the room condition.She said one minute please..im waiting for her reply..but she cut off the phone!I had made a decision to met up them at front desk..i ask them properly,i like to change my room.they said I cant change my room bcoz of no room available at that time.So i cant stand with that room,I cant breath how im going to sleep.I ask them,i like to check out at that time.but the girl said i cant check out or they will charge me rm100 for that room even i never use anything!They said that is their hotel procedure,even the guest did not satisfied with the room condition.My husband also cant stand with that room condition.Then,i ask her to call the manager on duty but she call another girl..that girl also not give a good respond to us.they are leak in english also,they grooming also out!no smile at all!then my husband stay in holiday villa alor setar and im alone in that terrible hotel for the whole night.Im forced my self to sleep in that horrible room with that carpet and air conditioner smell.The next morning i went for breakfast,the cashier at the counter did not greet me,looking at me and i gve the breakfast coupon,she still not say anything even thank you or good morning!the food is more horrible - pulut with ikan masin and kelapa!what kind of breakfast is this???no variety at all!hve 1 guest just walking around the cafe took 2 slice of watermelon and walk off..I will never go to this entire hotel anymore even in different place!even the price is low but you are presenting the service..please give a good service to your guest..sometimes the product is not very important when your service excellent!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The room is fairly furnished. The air condition should be better; it causes the room to be smelly.

The exterior and lobby area is nice. The coffee house is well equipped by less attraction. Require extra menus.

Overall, the hotel is right for its price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar

Address: Jalan Stadium, Kedah,, Alor Setar 05100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar Kedah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seri Malaysia Alor Setar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.