We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and rustic getaway spot for singaporeans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base
Save
You added Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base to your Saves list
Pulau Sibu, Mersing 86800, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing and rustic getaway spot for singaporeans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I've been twice now to Sea Gypsy, including most recently during the Chinese New Year weekend. We stayed in a chalet near the beach. It's a very relaxing place with lots of outdoor activities and/or a good place to wind down and relax while reading a book. The food is not fancy, but is good quality home-style cooking. At times they ran out but it was soon refilled after a short wait. The bar and dining areas are pleasant to hang around. We did a kampong walk with Richard, which was great to see more of the island. The accommodation is comfortable, although some may be put off by the cold showers and occassional wildlife (e.g. small gecko, ants, ...), lack of air con. But I think most of the clientele understand the Sea Gypsy style/philosophy, which is made clear on the informative website, so it should be within expectations. One negative on this trip was the amount of litter washing up on the beach. This was perhaps difficult to manage as it is still the end of monsoon season, but it did detract from the great beach setting to have some many plastic bottles, etc around the place. Overall I would recommend Sea Gypsy, especially for expat families staying in Singapore who seem to be the predominant guests. However it might be better to avoid monsoon season e.g. February, as the seas were a bit rough on the journey to Sibu, and diving/snorkelling is also difficult.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
77
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed in an A frame cabin, which was very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. No mozzie net supplied but I had my own, and I'm sure if you asked they would find one for you. Food was good, kitchen and dining room staff were great, beach is beautiful but no sun loungers - only plastic chairs. The bar area is comfortable but the lighting is not good if you want to read. I had no problems during my week long stay but on a number of occasions, there was no manager in the resort. A number of guests were horrified that there was nobody in charge, although any minor incidents appeared to be well dealt with by the lovely Scottish bar staff. It does seem inappropriate that a Dive Base and Beach Resort, with a Children's Club, which regularly caters for 80 or 90 guests, does not have a responsible manager on site at all times. It did feel a bit like the resort was being run for the benefit of the owners, and the guests came a poor second.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised to find that Sea Gypsy is exactly what it claims to be. A no frills value for money kind of place. The physical setting was actually very pleasant. All of the buildings are nestled into a wooded seaside area with grassy lawns in between. We stayed in a backpacker which was basic but very adequate for our two night stay. We would definitely do the packpacker option again. We did the package so all meals were included and food was excellent. Only negative was the dive shop is not staffed for more than about 7 or 8 divers so you may have to wait.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Having had an easy booking process online with the reservation team at Sea Gypsy's my partner and I were really looking forward to coming to the island spending quality time together.

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff (the barman had made every one of the guest welcome drinks.. rum for the adults, juice for the kids!) and we were given our welcome speeches which told us about the island and what to expect. The staff may be young (I have read this in some of the reviews) but are more than capable and are extremely friendly & we found that they went above & beyond to make each guest feel special.

The beach is picturesque, with golden sand - not a rock in sight! With excellent snorkeling trips daily as well as diving (I was able to do a Discover Scuba Diving dive) and fishing and lots of other excursions all for reasonable prices.

The villa that we stayed in I believe was V0 and was right on the beach. Although pretty much all the chalets are just a couple of meters from the sand. Perfect for romantic strolls on the beach! The villas are basic but comfortable. No hot water, but we didn't mind that considering the climate. You can drink the water on the island straight out of the taps as it is all fresh water. To be honest, we were happy to just have a bed, mozzie net & fan in our room as we weren't planning on spending too much time in there as there are so many activities, and of course there is the beach!

Really loved the food, you can either go with a package and you have your meals included or you can go ala carte or pay for the buffets at breakfast, lunch & dinner. We were on a package and found the food brilliant. It was a perfect balance between Malaysian and western food. The afternoon tea is AMAZING. Best brownies.. EVER.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed are trip to SG and can't wait to go back! We are booked for after the monsoon with more of our family and friends. It is definitely worth it, especially if you live in Singapore and the transportation is taken care of for you.

Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Well what a waste of time. Infact an expensive waste of time. Ok I stayed in a backpacker room which was OK. Only Ok not great for the money 90RM + tax (oh that hidden tax 15%) for a couple.

We were greeted by Mr condescending on arrive and as we were backpackers we didnt get a welcome drink as we didnt expect so. Anyway there was no need to make us feel bad about it. Then as we were not on a package we ordered ala carte. Well that was a mission most the time. Being accused of stealing a menu (what am I meant to order from??), orders being completly forgotten, people getting food poisoning, the list goes on.

Anyway thankfully we came stocked with our own few things. Next, the staff. Well what can I say. It is run by what can only be liked to a bunch of summer camp idots. No one cares about the customers they are only interested in making sure that they had fun.

So the bar that stays open until the last person leaves.... All the tourists left pretty early and its then left to the staff to sit there smoking, drinking and making a noise with loud music. Yeh what you really need on a so called paradise island. So yes your kept awake by them only every night.

The dive shop, well if you can call it that. They are the biggest waste of time ever. If anyone is thinking of diving there DONT!!!! You will be crazy to. All they want to do is try and badly teach each other. Snorkeling was as bad, visibility was a poor 5m max. When I asked if we could go somewhere else as only the 2 of us it was a big no. Well what to do for 1.5hrs.... NOTHING.

Anyway, all in all a complete waste of time and money. I dont know how its rated this high, perhaps a few to many of there own comments. Think again before visiting regardless off the rank!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

After having been at Pulau Besar (Mirage Island Resort) we arrived at Sea Gypsy. The location is very beautiful and the accomdation is good enough(small but clean).Swimming water is perfect, beach is not kept clean enough. Snorkeling doesn't work, only if you go by boat organised by the resort. The staff (especially the internationals) seems to find it most important that they themselves have a great time. Most of them hang around the bar and are not interested in the guests. They smoke constantly and have no eye for what has to be done (e.g. your dessert is put on the table before they cleaned main course etc). When I asked about renting a canoe or sailing boat they couldn't even bother turning around. Further, for three nights we ended up paying roughly 1200 euro's because your being charged for everything! We had a package deal including the meals. Don't expect much from the meals, breakfast is everyday the same and when I asked for a fried egg, I was told that today was pancake day. Dinner is modest and choices limited. Exceptions are Richard (Son of the owner) and the lady that manages the kids club. They did a great job. Conclusion: great placebut very expensive and staff is lazy. Pular Besar: Mirage Island Resort is great and much cheaper alternative

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed at the Sea Gipsy Village Resort for 4 days; for people going from Singapore, it's an easy and convenient weekend escape. The transport from Singapore to the island takes 3 hours max (depending on the mean(s) of transportation used: cab, bus, or a combination of both, which is what we chose.

Once you reach the jetty at Tanjong Leman, the fast boat will take you to Sibu Island within 20 to 30 min (hang on, the ride is quite shaky!). Once you get to the resort, the staff warmly welcomes you and greets you with a drink.

We rented a backpacker bungalow, which was simple but clean. Towels and mosquito nets are provided for a small fee.

I just found the mattress not comfy enough to sleep properly, but well, one cannot expect to much from a backpacker package.

The beach is quiet and relaxing (no sand flies, just a lot of crabs at night), and the food and the drinks affordable and satisfying. Few days on the island are enough though, since there are not so many activities available.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base

Address: Pulau Sibu, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access form Singapore or Johor Bahru Airport with our own non stop direct airport transfers. Complete relaxation on an undeveloped island within a Marine Park. Delicious food, fully stocked bar which never closes for drinkers, amazingly beautiful safe almost private beach. Scuba Diving, Snorkeling, Excursions, Nasty Activities, Sailing, Paddle Skiing, Boogie Boarding, Games, Beach Volleyball, and freshly baked Scones every afternoon! Special rates for kids up to 17 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Gypsy Village Resort And Dive Base
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base Hotel Mersing
Sea Gypsy Village Mersing
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.