We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no fireworks but still, a OK stay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pulai Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pulai Springs Resort to your Saves list
Pulai Springs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 km, Jalan Pontian Lama | Skudai, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no fireworks but still, a OK stay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel looks very different from the ads or website.
but overall for the stay it quite a OK stay.stayed at the 2 bedrooms family suite

Bedsheets and room was clean.until hassle was the distance involved as the hotel is located off the beaten path

That being said, the overall surrounding of the hotel cld need a upgrade.

Room Tip: if possible, go down to the hotel to get a look. if its not possible, check out reviews online..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    125
    124
    50
    45
See reviews for
168
46
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Check in during the Singapore's school holiday, 18th to 19th June 2014.
To start with, bought pre paid vouchers from the Malaysia Travel Fair in Singapore, bought 8 nights between Pulai Spring Desaru and Pulai Spring JB.

It was a nightmare trying to book for 1 night, until I have to speak to person in charge in Singapore office. I have to go for 7 more nights. Regrets for having purchase so many nights.....

I was staying there in 2011, it was beautiful, service, landscape and food was all excellent, but over 3 years cannot believe things have change drastically.

I did speak to the duty manager, he tried his best to explain, with so many guests, scool holidays and back to back functions, things get a little out of control. He apologizes and was trying his best to control the situation. I complement him.

Down side are:-
No hand towel, face towel and toilet door mat.
Extra towel at RM$10 each.
No hangers in the wardrobe.
Jacuzzi was filthy and water was really hot.
Steam room was filled with 1 inch high of stagnant water.
Breakfast was tasteless.

I guess, it was school holiday, and they are short of staff, or else it was a really nice and cool place. It's best to avoid school holiday then, I hope.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for 1 night at the 2 bedroom suite. . The condition of the room not as I expected. Stains on the sofa...stains dining chairs..dusty floor ...Overall the resort room badly need upgrading... I rate 3 stars for this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

One night stay after booking it online. No breakfast included though and the amount printed on the signed in form showed a much lower price than what I have paid for online and I have already started to feel cheated. The room smelt damp and the parquet floor was quite dusty .
i had to do the penguin dance with a semi wet floor towel cleaning up the floor. Aircond was not cold and condensation water dripped all over the floor, kept me awake the whole night.
By morning the floor was totally wet again, lucky I had two dustbins to collect the water.
Coffee house was across the road. So it's room service if you are not walking. Pretty boring with no exceptional view except greenery all around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I don't think the hotel staff and marketing guys has a good communication and understand each other.

Their promotion can only be purchase by credit card, and it doesn't even mention that that's only a some sort of booking deposit, i was asked to pay RM300 again when arrived to the hotel , which is really dissapointed! RM200 for the Hotel and RM100 as a deposit.

Luckily there's Mr Shahrul as i can remember helped to solve my problem when i want to check out.

Clearly this hotel need some A&P Courses for both staff and marketing people.

Room Tip: Room next to the swimming pool is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Malaysia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good and cozy room.
A lot of parking space.
View of golf course. Breakfast tasty and also have local menu.
Good surrounding for children to play.
Like the fish pond and have anywhere at the resort.
But slow service to check in and at 4pm room was not ready. Have to wait.
After check in there was no towel and called for 3 times and they sent almost at 9 pm.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers. Although your were delighted with our cozy rooms, ample parking spaces as well as our tasty breakfast at the coffee house, I apologize that we did not meet your expectations in terms of our services during check in as well as houseekeeping when requested for towels.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the check in services with our Front Desk and Housekeeping in terms of providing and fulfilling guests' requests. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed.

If you come back to our hotel, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Warm Regards,
Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel it took quite a bit of time to check in and we also had to put down a 200 MYR deposit that we were not told about beforehand. Once we got to our room we did not have toilet paper or towels, but finally got them after waiting a few hours and making several phone calls. The staff seemed inconvenienced by every request, such as a room service order for a sandwich and beer and asking for a cab to go to nearby shops. The only redeeming aspect of this stay was a member of the bar staff, who was the nicest most, accommodating staff person we interacted with during our stay. I will not stay here again and would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for the useful and constructive comment made on Tripadvisor from your recent stay with us at the Resort.

First and foremost I would like to apologize to you if we have failed to live up to your expectations during your stay with us.

Based on your feedback, you have highlighted a few issues that certainly needs urgent attention from The Management. I am aware that this has caused much frustration and disappointment to you; therefore, I once again would like to humbly apologize.

To provide explanations to your points raised is not my intention, only to inform you that your comments have been discussed with the relevant team responsible & actions have been taken to ensure similar examples do not occur again in the future.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

On the other hand, I am really glad the the personnel at the bar was very accommodating and you were very pleased with her. I will surely disseminate the information to the Director of Food and Beverage so that he could inform during his daily briefings with the restaurant and bar staff.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making you next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one. The management & associates at Pulai Springs Resort look forward to see you again soon. This time, we assure you that it will be worth it!


Yours Truly,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pulai Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulai Springs Resort

Address: 20 km, Jalan Pontian Lama | Skudai, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulai Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Pulai Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulai Springs Hotel Johor Bahru
Pulai Springs Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulai Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.