We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad encounter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pulai Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Pulai Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pulai Springs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 km, Jalan Pontian Lama | Skudai, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretty bad encounter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were on a 3 days holiday from 4th to 6th Oct. upon arriving the resorts, the entry security were friendly and welcome us. The waterfall features were run down with plants growing on it. The pond were not well maintain and mosquito breeding ground for sure. I could see the golf course was well taken care, I guess that facilities is more important then the rest. When we reach the hotel lobby, I could see people painting the exterior with scaffolding till the top. Bad planning, hotel didn't mentioned that top all guests. The pools were not cleaned as I didn't see anyone does the morning clean up. The room was not ready till nearly 3pm. The housekeeping isn't anticipating high occupancy this weekend. We stayed at 05-27 and one of the room air-con was down, luckily the master room and hall air-con were cool enough. You can be assure 4 packet of 3in1 coffee, 4 mineral water and nothing else. What if guest prefer black coffee? On day 2, the cinta café was crowded with guests coming down for breakfast. Again, the F&B didn't anticipate the crowd between 8am till 9am. We had to take the table outside the restaurant after knowing the inside was packed. The buffet line was ok and the varieties was minimal, coffee was sour and bread were seems being crushed. Egg station was position at the wrong area whereby more seating could be added. One chef to mend the egg and noodle station? Turn over were just bad. Luckily, the staff were pretty patience and accommodating and that could gain some points. The children playground were invested with mosquitos and parent should avoid that ground next to the game and spa building. The sliding pool were not probably sand down and my kids end up walking down the slope instead sliding down. Not sure how long this resort had been established as I could see things are falling apart and that is bad for the country tourism industry. Look at Thailand, they are doing a fantastic job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    118
    122
    48
    44
See reviews for
163
43
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed from October 20 to 22nd at Anugraha Boutique Hotel (Pulai Springs Resort) which is supposed to be the high quality accommodation of this resort. But most of the resort is managed and organised from Cinta Ayu All Suites, a sort of service appartment accommodation. While you pay the price of a Boutique Hotel (as they called themselves...) you have the service of a good 2** hotel. And no security in this massive complex as you will see below.

As mentionned by other guests, the Anugraha is not so easy to find and the access was not possible with our car (road closed the day we arrived).

Finally, we walked and found the place. After waiting 20 minutes for a receptionnist (ringing desperately the bell at the door) we finally decided to move to another building of this complex to find help. After asking several staff members (nobody knows the processes for Anugraha), we have been told the reception for this Boutique Hotel is at the Cinta Ayu All Suites, 15 minutes' walk from Anugraha. At Cinta Ayu All Suites, you are treated like all other groups and families at this place. Service is far from perfect and this hotel is mainly managing groups, wedding and corporate venues.

There are buggies able to transport guests from Anugraha, but the guy we met (in his buggy) didn't tell us neither helped us... Then we walked under the sun!

The rooms at Anugraha are OK (especially on level 2 of Anugraha, as level 1 may be humid and smelly). Restaurant (we only tried the restaurant near the golf) is good. Breakfast is not exceptional (and you have to take it at Cinta Ayu All Suites). Globally, service is far from expectation.

We played golf on both 18 holes courses and they are both interesting.

But the major disappointment came when after leaving the hotel to go back to Singapore, we noticed we left a few belongings in a drawer of the wardrobe. We called the hotel who told us our room will not be booked for the next night and then they will check and call us. We called again, and again, and again the day after and have been told they found nothing. You will notice we have been the last visitors in this room and the only person entering the room have been the cleaning lady (we met several times during the stay). Lesson learnt, don't forget anything and maybe don't let anything accessible during your stay, staff isn't safe at Pulai Springs Resort.

We wrote to the Hotel Manager to try to escalate this issue and recover our belongings, but without success and without answer from him up to now. Mr Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed will most probably react only when seing this comment on Tripadvisor...

Conclusion: expensive, far from a true Boutique Hotel, service not as good as expected and lack of trust. I don't think we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 8205 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had read the bad reviews, but I was willing to go in with an open mind. Firstly, we had a 2 bedroom suite. It had a funny smell, like musty or something. It didn't look like the photos on the website, there were five of us, and we had half a roll of toilet paper in the bathroom and four towels. No milk in the fridge. In fact I can't see the point of the kitchenette at all, there's absolutely NOTHING in it, no plates, cutlery, nothing in the oversized fridge. There was a jug, and some coffee, and some revolting 3 in 1 coffee, sweetener and milk, which tasted like mud. Blerk! The breakfast was nice though. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool. It was irritating trying to get into town because there is no such thing as a maxi cab, so we had to split up and catch two taxis everywhere. I don't think I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Breakfast is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

It is our aim to offer our guests a entirely satisfactory service at the Pulai Springs Resort. We truly apologize for the inconvenience we brought to you on the rooms which smelled funny and musty as well as the 3 in 1 coffee packets. With regards to the room, I have sat together with the Housekeeping Department and we assure you that this would not happen again. We will air out our rooms longer before the next guest checks in to ensure that the rooms would not smell musty. As for the coffee, we will be speaking to our suppliers to see how they can assist us on this.

Anyways, it was pleasing that you remarked that your kids enjoyed the swimming pool.

I do hope you will give us another chance to convince and to proof to you. This time, we assure you, it will be worth it.

Yours truly,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was my 3rd stay with the Pulai Group and the second one at Pulai Springs resort.
I had booked a weekend wedding reception in June 2013 (obviously the booking would have been done in end 2012) and had booked additional stays for our family members and ourselves. We also asked the resort for contacts to ferry guests from Singapore to the resort which they did.

As part of the package, the resort threw in a free stay for the night after the ceremony and a return stay which we could choose either Pulai Springs or Pulai Desaru resort. We stayed 2 nights.

The rooms at Pulai Springs are spacious. We stayed at the Cinta Ayu suites side instead of upgrading to the Anugraha suites to be close to our guests. This area of the resort is the "older" one. We had a single bedroom suite and a double bedroom one for our guests.

Furnishings wise, you can tell that it the decor is a little dated but very good quality. The single bedroom suite is bigger than a new studio apartment in Singapore. It had a good sized walk in wardrobe and dressing area, a bedroom and a separate living room and kitchenette with a full sized fridge and a small balcony.

The 2 bedroom suite had 1 bedroom with a double bed and 1 bedroom with 2 single beds that is separated by a living area. The TV channels were alright, not too many selections but acceptable and there was wifi. However, it was a bit slow and you needed to get the password from the reception.

Unfortunately, it was hazy while we were here and this was not in any way the resorts fault. Our guests had planned to play golf while they were here and they could not do very much. Bookings for golf is a short walk away. We couldn't take too many photos although there was a lovely green area because of the haze.

The things that bugged me a little was that our room had scribbles all over the wall and the housekeeping had not managed to spot it and clean it off. I called housekeeping and they came in within 30 minutes but did not manage to clean off the scribbles. The resort should have fixed this before letting other guests stay. The standards of cleaning could also be improved.

In terms of the wedding reception. This particular resort provides a decorated wedding buggy as the ballroom is quite a distance away from the rooms. It was quite an entrance to literally drive up to the door in a red wedding golf buggy decorated with purple flowers. Changing dresses is quite amusing as I had to hop back into the golf buggy to the room, change, hop back into the buggy and drive back to the hall for the second march in. :P This is not suitable for brides with many changes of clothes.

All in all, it was a very interesting wedding reception and stay at Pulai Springs. Also, the site is very popular for weddings. There were 2 other receptions at the resort on the same day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We took the package deal with hotel / Legoland / Hello Kitty Town tockets & shuttle bus, and were really impressed at what great value for money this was.

The 3-bedroom apartment was spacious & well-stocked, having 2 bathrooms was a real bonus.

The swimming pools were great, lovely to have a choice of swimming in the lap pool or splashing around in one of the relax pools. Gym & health spa were excellent, too.

Kids loved the playground & rides.

We ate well in all the restaurants we tried, and the breakfast buffet (included) was super!

Only thing we would have liked was golf-clubs for hire at the driving-range, as we didn't bring any!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Before I booked this hotel, I must say that I was half afraid as the reviews were mixed, some ranging of horrible to commendable. But I felt that if I went there with an open mind, it might not be so bad. And so it was!

I booked a 3-bedroom, (Room 0340), and it had a max capacity of 6 pple, though we have only 4 of us. Hence, it was comfy for all of us, as there were 4 beds: 1 king, 1 queen, 2 singles. Very comfy.

Contrary to what others have [negatively] commented, these were what I experienced which was commendable!

1) we had complimentary wifi right at check-in. We didnt have to ask. Though the wifi strength was not very strong, it was enough to check facebook, download some emails, and use whatapps. So thumbs up for me! :)
2) Front desk staff were very friendly, and willing to answer some of our queries on food/malls in vicinity. Bell-boy / staff at foyer was very friendly too.
3) Gym and pool was AWESOME! I will give the gym a 5 star rating. Really! Equipment was clean, new and a good range! Drinking water available. Complimentary for guests. Swimming pool too was great!
4) Room itself, yeah.. was kind old furniture. BUT, everything is clean. Beds, linen, bathroom, sink area etc. VERY CLEAN. Very satisfied indeed.
5) Parking space...plentiful. Whole area, very spacious.
6) Lifts security was good. Had to use access card key to get to own level. And it work flawlessly. Very good. No glitches. Only two lifts though, so peak period can be tough on the waiting.
7) Security guards... can be tighter but no complaints. Friendly and 24h surveillance.
8) Water from tap was not yellow. Refrigerator was working in good condition. Aircon was very good and temperature an be adjusted. No insects. No mosquitoes.

What can be improved?
At SGD180/night (because it was a 3-bedroom suite meant for 6 pple), it was considered very cheap and worth the price. [oops, breakfast not included, but if you drive....PLEASE! lots of good local eating areas nearby at low low cost!]
Ahem, so as I was saying... what to improve? If you want to pay such reasonable rates, PLEASE dont expect too much nor complain.

Pray for a good experience, that's all. :D

So, the verdict. 4 stars. And Yes, I do not mind coming back again.

Room Tip: I had room 0340. It was decently clean, though far from lifts. But that's ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with some hesitation after reading the reviews. The suite was spacious and the lay out worked. Plenty of space for a family of 2 adults and 2 children - 5 and 2 year old boys. Bathroom could have been cleaned a little better but was okay. There was a slightly funny smell in the room we couldn't identify. Highlight was definitely the absolutely gorgeous grounds and the new swimming pool. Old swimming pool has seen better days and needed some maintenance work.

Visiting Legoland was our major priority and whilst a decent drive (hotel arranged a metered taxi) it was fine. Far nicer than staying in Johor Bahru itself.

We flew into Changi and caught the bus across the border which was really easy and efficient though the bus we hoped to catch was cancelled which meant a longer wait. Hardly a hardship at Changi. As we'd flown Jetstar the bus was also free which was a nice surprise. Then caught a taxi to Pulai Springs. Overall the experience was fine but not flash. Could be very nice with some maintenance and closer attention to cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pulai Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulai Springs Resort

Address: 20 km, Jalan Pontian Lama | Skudai, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulai Springs Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Pulai Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulai Springs Hotel Johor Bahru
Pulai Springs Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulai Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;