We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pulai Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pulai Springs Resort to your Saves list
Pulai Springs Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   20 km, Jalan Pontian Lama, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FROM RM220 STUDIO+B'FAST
Ranked #12 of 84 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with some hesitation after reading the reviews. The suite was spacious and the lay out worked. Plenty of space for a family of 2 adults and 2 children - 5 and 2 year old boys. Bathroom could have been cleaned a little better but was okay. There was a slightly funny smell in the room we couldn't identify. Highlight was definitely the absolutely gorgeous grounds and the new swimming pool. Old swimming pool has seen better days and needed some maintenance work.

Visiting Legoland was our major priority and whilst a decent drive (hotel arranged a metered taxi) it was fine. Far nicer than staying in Johor Bahru itself.

We flew into Changi and caught the bus across the border which was really easy and efficient though the bus we hoped to catch was cancelled which meant a longer wait. Hardly a hardship at Changi. As we'd flown Jetstar the bus was also free which was a nice surprise. Then caught a taxi to Pulai Springs. Overall the experience was fine but not flash. Could be very nice with some maintenance and closer attention to cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us here on Tripadvisor.

Thorough your comments, I believe you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad to hear you are satisfied with the services rendered and the facilities offered to you.

It is our commitment to exceed guests’ expectations and meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our priority. Our associates are trained to strive and serve our guests as well as providing our guests with only the best services.

I will surely disseminate your positive comments and feedback to our associates who are an asset to us through our associates’ notice board.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Pulai Springs Resort and will be delighted to hear from you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    166
    161
    58
    49
See reviews for
248
60
9
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hi Frens,
I stayed here for 3 days 2 nights in 1 bedroom suite during my business visit at Skudai area. First of all, I was quite flabbergasted to discover how bad the hotel rooms was maintained. The rooms was smelly, furnitures was old, noisy aircond, dirty bed sheets, poor wifi connection and worst breakfast are just some of the list of issues i have noted here. There are even more which i dont have time to write down.

The rooms pictures as published in thier websites are not true at all. It may be taken during the opening of the hotel.

Do not ever consider to stay here until the full renovation took place in this hotels. In fact, I'm not sure if the renovation which claimed by the staff is real or not.

For me, I would suggest the hotel management and relevant authorities to close down this hotel until the full renovation take place as none of the available rooms now are fit to be occupied.

Given an option, I won't stay or suggest anyone of you to stay in this hotel until the full renovation has been done.

Don't waste you money and spoil your holiday by staying in this worst hotel!

Room Tip: None of rooms are good to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2-room suite. It was spacious, but air con was a bit noisy, though it was powerfully cold. We had a smooth check-in. Staff were friendly too. There was even follow up call when we requested extra towels. The surrounding is quiet and relax. Huge Supermarkets are within driving distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some time to give us a positive and kind feedback on your recent stay with us.

It’s really pleasing that you remarked the spacious rooms you stayed in, smooth check-in and noticed our friendly and helpful staff during your stay. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.

I would also like to take this opportunity to share with you that we always strive to do our best in delivering exceptional services to all our guests. It has always been our main aim to offer our guests an entirely satisfactory service at the Pulai Springs Resort.

I am also delighted to know that our staffs took the initiative to make a follow-up call just to ensure that you got your extra towels needed.

I would like share some good news with you too. We are now in the midst of a refurbishment project especially on on guest rooms at Cinta Ayu. The newly refurbished rooms with fresh vibrant colours and tones are expected to be completed by September. We will also be installing new air-conditioning systems.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family here again during your next stays in Johor Bahru and also to experience our new rooms.


Warm Regards,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel after 2 years faithfully choosing Le Grandeur whenever we go for a short stay at Johor. The last time we stayed here was in 2011.

Price - Quite cheap. For $90 per night but without bfast.

Staff - Reception staffs need to smile more and greet visitors. In fact,the room service staff is much more accomodating than the reception staff.

Food - Cheap and delicious.

Room - Jaded and many damages to the furnitures. Bed was too hard. Should change CRT tv to LCD/LED tv.

Wifi - No free wifi..

Will come back here again if the price remains cheap and only for 1 night stay duration.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

the resort is quite beautiful, i had been there for my lunch with my girlfriend at the best award chinese restaurant today. there are few tables of customer only at the time being including us and we are quite surprised how come a best award restaurant with so less of customer. when we having our dishes we found that our "tao fu" was cooked with a cockroach!!! so we make a complain immediately and the waitress had come to apologized and mention that "tao fu" will not charge in the bill. after few minutes the chef was come to us also, but his apologize and explanation make us feel not satisfied and very disappointed. seem like we are very bad luck to having our lunch over here. when we asked for bill, the waitress told that the bill was FOC. when we making our move from there, there is a chinese guy with glasses which believed is the staff for the restaurant keep apologize and bows severe time to us, then only we feel better , satisfied and accepted his apologized for the above said incident. we feel this staff had perform his job in good and let us feel very comfortable as a customer. kindly look into this matter seriously, don't let us feel that we need to look for the "feng shui" master before we come to your restaurant. thank you very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lokechoyming, Director of Operations at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor.

Your time and effort taken to highlight on our services and facilities are highly appreciated. We value every guest feedback as this will help us to further improve on our products and services to exceed guests’ expectations.

We have raised your concerns with the relevant departments and immediate actions have been taken to rectify our shortcomings.

Please be rest assured that meeting the highest level of guest satisfaction has always been our top priority.

Please accept our sincere and humble apologies for the inadvertent inconvenience experience by you. We are extremely grateful for your constructive comments. I sincerely hope that the setbacks will not deter you from supporting us again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to shower you with our warm hospitality and making your next stay at the Pulai Springs Resort an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at the resort. Till then, take care.


Sincerely,

Sunny Soo
Director of Operations
Pulai Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Such a pity this hotel is so run down...has wonderful bones, & must have been 5 star in its day. In desperate need of refurbishment, shabby rooms, scruffy & dirty furniture . Dreadful noisy airconditioning, nearly drove us mad! No bedside table on my side of the bed, so no light. No face cloths...don't provide them. Only sachet coffee with crema...my husband's worst! Had to ask for tea bags, toilet roll & tissues. Towels thread bare & stained.
Reception is a scruffy little area, & there are no bell hops, or people to help with luggage.

The surrounding buildings are stunning in their Malaysian style, but lights don't work & shades are crooked & falling apart. Generally in need of TLC.

Cinta Restaurant very scruffy, chipped furniture, & generally looks rather unclean.

Gardens & golf courses look very nice & well maintained.

To sum up ....the photos are very misleading, & must have been taken when the hotel was new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize that we did not live up to the usual excellent standards that most of reviewers at Tripadvisor talk about. I have made sure to share all of your feedback with our team here at the Resort.

We are truly aware of our shortcomings and that our property needs some refurbishments, especially the rooms. Therefore, I am truly pleased to inform you that we are in the midst of carrying out our reburbishment programme for most of our guest rooms. The programme is scheduled to be completed by end of October.

It is with sincerity that I apologize for not meeting the expectations, but we are also genuinely grateful for the feedback. This has certainly helped us to improve our services to meet the expectations of our guests in the future. I hope this will not deter you from supporting us again and that you will come back to visit us again when our rooms have all been refurbished.

On behalf of my team, we look forward to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Yours truly,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I travel, the most important thing i look forward is the service aspect and the same was much below par at the Pulai Springs...there were no towels at the pool counter...no service in the pool bar on Sunday and overall the staffs response was lacklustre. The cleanliness of the pool was also below normal standards.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulaiSpringsResortJB, General Manager at Pulai Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize that we did not live up to the usual excellent standards that the majority of reviewers at Tripadvisor talk about. I have made sure to share all of your feedback with our team.

The experiences you described are not characteristics of the level of service of colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory.

I am truly sorry that there were not enough towels at the pool counter due to the sudden high occupancy. I would like to inform you that we are aware of our immediate shortcomings and have immediately set about to address the issues.

Moving forward, I am pleased to inform you that in the days ahead, we will be receiving delivery of the new additional towels we have ordered.

We look forward to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Tengku Ahmad Faizal Tengku Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johor Bahru
11.9 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
10.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
14.4 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#1 of 84 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#8 of 84 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
8.9 mi away
Legoland Malaysia Hotel
Legoland Malaysia Hotel
#3 of 84 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
9.9 mi away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Nusajaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulai Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulai Springs Resort

Address: 20 km, Jalan Pontian Lama, Johor Bahru 81110, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
#7 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pulai Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Pulai Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pulai Springs Hotel Johor Bahru
Pulai Springs Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulai Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.