We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of M Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added M Suites Hotel to your Saves list
M Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Jalan Skudai Straits View, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the junior suite, which is spacious and clean. The room is refurbished where the interior is nicely decorated with wood antique chairs and bed.. The bathroom is very big. The pool is nice and clean.. Provided with slide for kids to splash into the pool which makes it interesting. The only thing that the hotel could look into is the breakfast, i would say the mgmt should improve the selection and variety of food. Other than that, everything in this hotel is almost perfect for me and family and definitely would return here someday..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    60
    57
    25
    8
See reviews for
91
23
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I find the hotel quite pleasing in the sense of the rooms is very spacious. However I find the parking space quite limited. The choice of local food is quite limited in the sense that the nearest outside restaurant is too far. I am the kind who likes to have hawker food. Not that I’m complaining about the in-house food. The breakfast buffet spread is great. But sometimes you just want to have the hawker food during your holidays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johore Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here before the hotel had the renovation. After the renovation, I find the new rooms very cozy and comfortable. The staffs are tremendously helpful and friendly. They make me feel at home. The size of the room is perfect for my family. The breakfast spread is to die for. There is a variety of food to choose from. I will definitely suggest to people to stay here if anyone asks me where to spend the night in Johor Bahru.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is located at a main road and easily accessible. However it tend to be noisy at night due to speeding motorbikes and cars. The room that I stayed seems like going back to the 1980s. Still bulky TV not flat screen. The room was dull and dimly lit and old furnitures. Breakfast at the restaurants reasonable. The lobby seems to be abandoned as hardly any guest is seen. If you wish to eat outside, you need to travel a good distance to get some good seafood or dinners at night.

Room Tip: Avoid room facing main road as its noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend with my family while visiting relatives in Johor Bahru. My children loved the giant slide at the swimming pool and we are looking forward for the upcoming slide that is said to be done in April. We will surely come back after the new slide is done. The rooms are also very spacious. Great for families.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

When I first arrived at M suites I was worried about our stay there. It is really not within walking distance of anything. Most guests are there for conferences and are Malaysians who have their own car.
The hotel seemed very full on weekends and empty and deserted during the week. It is clearly a major conference center and at times this was obviously given priority over guest comfort.
The pool is quite fun for the children but during our stay it was not cleaned and fell into an unusable state, (they actually closed the pool)
This was disappointing as there is nothing else to do there.The advertised spa, and childrens club no longer exist.

We enjoyed our stay mostly because of the friendly and helpful staff. They were happy to call taxis which came quickly and always used (a very well priced) meter which is not always the case in KL,
Rooms at the front of the building do have some noisy traffic noise at night with motor bikes racing up and down the straight every night.
Our son got sick and the helpful staff were able to quickly arrange for a doctor to visit our room. Very helpful

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building can be very noisy from the road as motor bikes race up and down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good Place. Decent, Highly reasonably affordable, nice breakfast spread.

Internet slow, but what the heck. Internet for connectivity was OK, not for speed. You didn't travel to be on the Internet all the time. Nicely equipped. Not First Class, liveried waiters and staff, but typical Malay hospitality evident. Faizal the Manager, always polite and courteous, and typical friendly smile.

Though somewhat distant from Downtown JB, Taxis galore, inexpensive. Rather than stay at Singapore, (Hotels costing a BOMB), we used to TAXI to Singapore every day and return, and yet at LESS THAN HALF THE COST OF accommodation in Singapore. Taxi travel time much less than an hour to downtown Singapore.

Downside of course to some is the "Internet Speed".

Safe Secure.

Downside again, is - do not get a room facing the highway, (noise through the night - with racing mobikes and cars). Good walk along the shoreline. Even a BUS STOP close by, if you preferred to take a BUS to town and back. But what the heck, TAXIS are the "WAY to GO".

NO BELLS and WHISTLES. POOL, not to talk about. POOL closes early as 1900, so can't get to dunk after work, which is quite necessary for me. But this Hotel, I had to choose the alternative POOL (Read BATH TUB) in my room. Decent and requisite Toiletries. The BODY WASH was simply superb, wonder what BRAND it was, should remember to get a few bottles back home, if it was their own concoction (read FORMULA)

Hotel should get the POOL in place and probably add a Jacuzzi and a Sauna, without driving the tariff up the roof. Add a Heated POOL for tired folks like us, who work hard to make a day's living.

Must learn to use the Toilet Comforter. Have to get an M.S, in the USA for the education, but OK, and passable nevertheless.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY from getting a room facing the VIEW (SEA-FACE) You can just sleep the night. Property i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmal05, Public Relations Executive at M Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greetings from M Suites Hotel Johor Bahru! Thank you for your stay in M Suites Hotel. We treasure your comments and suggestions as they are very helpful in guiding us to improve our services and facilities to give you full satisfaction.

For your information, the current operational hours for the hotel pool are to ensure the safety of our guests. We have recently installed a 5 feet tall Cyclone Slide for our guests to enjoy.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that we would see you again here in M Suites Hotel Johor Bahru. Please join us on our Facebook Page to be updated on our ongoing promotions and events.

Thank you and regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to M Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Suites Hotel

Address: 16 Jalan Skudai Straits View, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the border of the Straits of Johor overlooking Singapore, M Suites Hotel is a mere 15-minute drive from the Johor-Singapore Causeway. The hotel offers 133 rooms and is strategically located with easy access to Johor Bahru’s business and shopping centers making it an ideal hotel destination for leisure and business travelers. Other facilities provided are a coffee house, an Italian restaurant, Surau, private Karaoke room, outdoor swimming pool with 2 slides and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your M Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.