We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru

Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot PTB 17648, Jalan Langkasuka, Larkin, Johor Bahru 80350, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you intend to Stay in Johore Baru & go to Singapore by bus, then this hotel would be suitable as Larkin Bus Terminal is walking distance. Stay is comfortable & breakfast palatable. Suitable for a short stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
6
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My family had agood time in this
Hotel. Rooms are clean and large.we booked one family room it has everything, spacious
Comfortable and very quite place to relax. Buffet breakfast has good variety. Hotel is closer to larkin terminal and eateries

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Ive stay in this hotel on 3-5th June 2013. Room was ok. Breakfast should improve a lil bit. Service from the hotel from the reception site was very very very very BAD! The girl who is wearing tudung working in the morning shift dont know how to great the guest,dont know how to smile,no courtesy,ask for trolly (bird cage) she gave us trolly (not bird cage,trolly for flower pot) but jst put in the lobby jst like that! What service is she providing to us?????? On the 2nd day, we decide to extend the stay & ask for another key. And with rude face + not smiling she answer 'belum lagi'. Really bad service!!! I would not recommend this hotel to my friend if they wanna come to JB.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We drove down to JB for a weekend getaway in both JB and Spore. On the way to JB, I made a call to the hotel to check the room availability. The phone kept ringing and it was only picked up by the reception after 3rd attempt.

Upon arriving, there were 2 staff at reception (1 male, 1 female). No smile or welcoming remarks from them. I requested for family room to accommodate 3 adults, and was told the room is not available. Instead, only standard room with extra bed is available, which I agreed. When we went to the room, it was indeed a family room...???? I then asked the reception why they said family room not available, none of them could give me an answer and just shrugged it off.

I called the housekeeping to request for some items. As expected, nobody picked up the phone. I tried to call the reception, and again it was not picked up even after 3 calls. I then walked to the reception, and asked the 2 reception staff why the phone was not picked up. They were just looking at each other as if annoyed with my question and then asked me what did I want. No explanation, no apology, whatsoever!!!

I asked for 2 extra pillows, was told that the 2nd pillow will be charged, which is fair enough considering the rooms was almost fully booked. I asked for extra sugar and was told that RM2 will be charged for extra set of coffee/tea/sugar/cream. Why??? this is not a budget hotel, at least they can provide extra items for the coffee or at least enough for 3 pax in the room (they only provide 2 packets each for coffee/tea/cream/sugar).

The air circulation in the room is bad. I had bad sinus attack during my stay due to to dust and the poor ventilation. Food is just average. The spread was better on the 1st day (Sunday) compared to the 2nd day (Monday), which i believe due to very low volume of guests on the weekdays. They didnt even provide fruits on the weekdays for breakfast.

Our room is near to the back entrance, which is a plus point as it is only few steps away from where we parked our car. Check-out process was quick, and again the same non-courteous staff was serving me. No goodbye or thank you or farewell to the guests.....
I believe common courtesy is not required from any of their front desk staff in this hotel.

However, the housekeeping lady was quite helpful and friendly. Sadly, i didnt manage to get her name. I've stayed in few Seri Malaysia hotels before. But this hotel is just one of the worst.
Other plus point - it is located within walking distance to the central bus terminal, and Plaza Larkin is just next to the hotel, where you can get some authentic Johorean dishes at the Food Court.

Room Tip: 1) If you have knee/leg problem, ask for rooms in Ground Floor, because there is no lift/escalator i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The only reason i choose this hotel because it's near Larkin Bus Station where we arrived by bus from KL. We already made reservation from agoda, arrived in this hotel at 2 am and found no one in the reseptionist. So it tooked a few moment for checking in.

Heading to the room we walked trough a dark alley, not so welcoming kinda spooky. The door i think looked like a bathroom door , and all the furniture inside the room is really outdated. The old AC so noisy but working well, do not expect a flat screen tv here they still use the antique one with only local channel.

The bathroom also outdated we found so many ants around the sink. The water is not running well so weak, and if we get a shower all the water on the bathroom floor running to the bed area.
The breakfast was ok we still have some choices from bread and jam, nasi lemak, porridge, mie mamak, roti canai . But tasted not so special..

So we definitely not going back to this hotel unless they have major improvement

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Right off the bat, even if you are a budget traveler, do yourselves a favor - don't even consider this hotel unless they've done a massive turnaround right from staff managing the place to the entire building itself! or maybe, if you're super desperate for a night's sleep - which was our case.

Gosh, where do we even start? Reception staff (all three of them) didn't bother about us and made us wait for a good 20 minutes before being waited on. Mind you, we had approached one of them and were told that there was only one person who could check us in! What??

We requested for a late check out for the next day which was not available. We offered to pay for an additional half day rate which is quite a normal request anywhere in the world but it wasn't possible either - they didn't understand the concept and we had to pay the full amount. Since we were on an emergency trip to Johor (having had to drive from KL just before midnight, attended a full day's funeral and helped our relatives attend to arrangements with no sleep and managed to break away for a quick check-in at 6pm before going back for prayers at 8pm), we just decided to pay the full amount anyway for all our three rooms with little energy left to argue.

Walking to our room, we couldn't help feel that the hotel was supremely outdated. It was almost as if no maintenance was done ever since it first opened. Furniture in the room looked like it was designed in the 70s; we wouldn't even donate the beds to the poor as it was embarassingly in a sad state; and the bathroom? Oh dear. In our bathroom there were two ant trails with broken tiles, while in our brother's room the shower was broken. The airconditioning needed replacement - forget trying to add gas or cleaning it up. Even a fan would've been a better offer!

We turned on the TV just to create some "noise" and let the kids (our neice and nephew) be occupied for a bit but it wasn't working - did we mention that it was a 30 year old TV?

There weren't even towels available much less other standard amenities and we paid a hundred bucks not inclusive of the additional half day paid in full. Like we said earlier, only if one were DESPERATE. We sorely missed the Thistle at this point but it simply wasn't practical given the situation so we just had to suck it up and spent the night anyway.

Please, just don't bother until a full fledged turnaround is done - it is not fit to receive guests anymore. If given a choice, we wouldn't even rate it at all.

Room Tip: Out of the three rooms, one was a "family" room - but suffice to say neither would've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We only stayed at the Seri Malaysia because of the proximity to Larkin Bus Terminal. If you have other options, do yourself a favor and avoid the Seri Malaysia.

Apart from the noisy airconditioner, the room smelled like mold and old cigarettes, the bathroom was moldy, the flusher was broken and - worst of all - the sheets on the bed were damp.

On the plus side, there is a TV with quite a range of channels and breakfast is included in the already very cheap room rate. However, I would advise against actually eating it.

It bothers me that the pictures did not capture the awfulness of the room. Don't go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru

Address: Lot PTB 17648, Jalan Langkasuka, Larkin, Johor Bahru 80350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seri Malaysia Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.