We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of JA Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added JA Residence Hotel to your Saves list
JA Residence Hotel
18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I have go thru the review of tripadvisor so I know its not an ideal accommodation, but the hotel was booked by agent.
I was checked in at 10pm, when enter to the room is stinky, AC unable function probably, the bed sheet full with stains, and even the red color water mark.. so u will know that the house keeping nvr change the bed sheet at all.
Same to the bathroom, terrible cleanliness, no towel, shampoo, shower soap. They give us a connecting room but the door lock was spoiled.
I straight forward ask for check out and move another hotel at Mount Austin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    10
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Damansara, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

OMG..! This is the worst hotel I ever stayed with my family in JB, listed as 2 star hotel but the facilities are horrible.. the rooms are extremely in bad condition, carpets are old and stinks. When I complaint to the reception, they said there is nothing they can do about it, and not even trying to change my room, and the worst washroom ever! Imagine..it is worse than a public toilet! I will not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel unless u are willing to experience the horrible stay and having nightmare about it all.. Don't get cheated by the outer look of the hotel, definitely will not return to this hotel ever! Lousy..Hotel

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Probably the worst hotel that i have ever stayed in JB. Not worth your penny though it has such a fantastic location. They are in need of an extreme makeover. Pity as the hotel actually is rather tall and view from the high floor is magnificent. I shall not even comment on the breakfast as we checked out first thing in the morning the next day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

It's an old hotel. The lobby and restaurant very small but the breakfast is quite okay. The room size is big but they need to renovate and repair everything. The bathroom also big but very dirty and look old. One thing I like about our room is the view.The window is big. The reason that we stayed here because our tour agency didn't give any other choices.

The best part staying in this hotel is it's very near to JB City Square and Bazar JB and also the Woodlands exit to Singapore. It's also easy for you to find food around here and there's lot money exchanger next to the hotel. Every place is only in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here at 2200 hrs. The car park is in the building but have to steered my car through a narrow opening to the lift which then lifted up the car to the parking floor. N ot suitable for suvs. Entered the room..pheww..it stinks.. airconditioning not working..have to wait for one hour to get it fixed.
Unpleasant odour emerged once the aircond switched on. Bathrooms dirty..shower corner filthy, with hairs stucked at the drainage. TV?? 16" CRT type and the remote control was not working! Requested then to park my car in front of the hotel and the receptionist asked me to remove the cones by myself!!
I wont consider this hotel again.. Initially planned for two nights stay but checked out next morning. Terrible...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in the Junior Suite for one night. The moment we entered the hotel, there was a sick stench. The lift had a carpet that we almost tripped over when we entered. The corridors on the 13th floor where we stayed were dirty with litter in every corner.

The bathroom of the suite reeked of urine. There was only 1/4 of a roll of toilet paper. The door of the shower was hung precariously. There was no shampoo or shower gel, just a thin piece of soap. No toothbrushes, no bottled water. There were stains on the bedsheets and pillows. The television remote was not working - I could hear a piece of something running up and down inside when I moved it. The floor of the room had dirt. The towels were thin and grey. When I called the reception, they spoke to me in Malay over and over even though I said I did not understand. Nobody answered the phone at housekeeping.

In a nutshell, it stinks. Literally too.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stay in a family room. Room was very run down and musty smell in the room and toilet. Made coffee in the room, after 2 hours, small cockroach was in the coffee. The bathroom has no shower gel & shampoo provided, towels were dirty with stains, no slippers provide even when I called Hskp, the staff told me that they don't provide slippers.. Breakfast was not so good, worth to forgo. Damage parquet floor in the room. Only plus points is near eateries and City Square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JA Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Residence Hotel

Address: 18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your JA Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JA Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.