We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASE...DONT EVER CONSIDER THIS HOTEL” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JA Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added JA Residence Hotel to your Saves list
JA Residence Hotel
18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
1 review
“PLEASE...DONT EVER CONSIDER THIS HOTEL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Arrived here at 2200 hrs. The car park is in the building but have to steered my car through a narrow opening to the lift which then lifted up the car to the parking floor. N ot suitable for suvs. Entered the room..pheww..it stinks.. airconditioning not working..have to wait for one hour to get it fixed.
Unpleasant odour emerged once the aircond switched on. Bathrooms dirty..shower corner filthy, with hairs stucked at the drainage. TV?? 16" CRT type and the remote control was not working! Requested then to park my car in front of the hotel and the receptionist asked me to remove the cones by myself!!
I wont consider this hotel again.. Initially planned for two nights stay but checked out next morning. Terrible...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    10
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in the Junior Suite for one night. The moment we entered the hotel, there was a sick stench. The lift had a carpet that we almost tripped over when we entered. The corridors on the 13th floor where we stayed were dirty with litter in every corner.

The bathroom of the suite reeked of urine. There was only 1/4 of a roll of toilet paper. The door of the shower was hung precariously. There was no shampoo or shower gel, just a thin piece of soap. No toothbrushes, no bottled water. There were stains on the bedsheets and pillows. The television remote was not working - I could hear a piece of something running up and down inside when I moved it. The floor of the room had dirt. The towels were thin and grey. When I called the reception, they spoke to me in Malay over and over even though I said I did not understand. Nobody answered the phone at housekeeping.

In a nutshell, it stinks. Literally too.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stay in a family room. Room was very run down and musty smell in the room and toilet. Made coffee in the room, after 2 hours, small cockroach was in the coffee. The bathroom has no shower gel & shampoo provided, towels were dirty with stains, no slippers provide even when I called Hskp, the staff told me that they don't provide slippers.. Breakfast was not so good, worth to forgo. Damage parquet floor in the room. Only plus points is near eateries and City Square.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. It's the type of hotel for the sake of having a place to stay sort. The rooms are pretty old school and it's spacious. The cleanliness is on the OK side. The plus point for this hotel is that it is near the bus hub to Singapore. The surrounding area is OK, you can find food easily and it's a walking distance to JB City Square Mall. Taxis are easy to get as well. The room service F&B is cheap considering it's a room service and the food is alright.
At night it can be quite noisy because of the night market opposite the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. The cool factor about this hotel is the carpark. You need to drive the whole car into a lift and the guard will tell you which floor to go to and park your car. Overall it's an OK hotel for a night or two stay with reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get the room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 15 years ago when it was the Mercure, traveling to Johor Bahru for the weekend. This hotel is a lot different now, as it's age is showing. It doesn't seem to have gotten much of a renovation since changing names.

Arriving after midnight is a good deal at 100RM for a Deluxe room. The lobby was average, The hallway to the rooms on each floor was decrepit. However, when you open the door to the rooms it is surprising how nice they are, and very spacious. The hot showers all had great water pressure.

The hotel reception was so nice in even letting us check-out late at 3pm. The breakfast buffet was basic Malay style -- fried noodles and fried rice, but on the plus side there was fresh cut honeydew melon.

Wifi only available in the lobby, but is free. Other cheaper hotels fill up fast in JB. This hotel is a good place to always fall back on, since it is huge and has so many rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a view toward the water. The view is spectacular in the room we had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed at JA Residence Hotel last weekend. Total 5 adults & 1 infant, taking 1 triple room & 1 double room. Room are reasonable with the price given & nothing to comment as the rate itself telling about the rooms. Just dont expert too high.However the good point is very conveniencea which is the location surrounding by eating places. Also the night market just opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: very good & save parking for your car. Its indoor and need to take an elevator to go up to a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Room was nice, big and good view.. but less amenities..especially bathroom..the pillow smell strange..there is few hair on the floor...anyway, its good value for money since its only RM100 plus per night.. Never expect so much..staff were friendly... Buffet breakfast just fine...not much selection and perfect location for the hotel..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JA Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Residence Hotel

Address: 18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your JA Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JA Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.