We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch and Go sort of Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JA Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added JA Residence Hotel to your Saves list
JA Residence Hotel
18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 86 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Touch and Go sort of Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. It's the type of hotel for the sake of having a place to stay sort. The rooms are pretty old school and it's spacious. The cleanliness is on the OK side. The plus point for this hotel is that it is near the bus hub to Singapore. The surrounding area is OK, you can find food easily and it's a walking distance to JB City Square Mall. Taxis are easy to get as well. The room service F&B is cheap considering it's a room service and the food is alright.
At night it can be quite noisy because of the night market opposite the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. The cool factor about this hotel is the carpark. You need to drive the whole car into a lift and the guard will tell you which floor to go to and park your car. Overall it's an OK hotel for a night or two stay with reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get the room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    10
    3
    12
See reviews for
11
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 15 years ago when it was the Mercure, traveling to Johor Bahru for the weekend. This hotel is a lot different now, as it's age is showing. It doesn't seem to have gotten much of a renovation since changing names.

Arriving after midnight is a good deal at 100RM for a Deluxe room. The lobby was average, The hallway to the rooms on each floor was decrepit. However, when you open the door to the rooms it is surprising how nice they are, and very spacious. The hot showers all had great water pressure.

The hotel reception was so nice in even letting us check-out late at 3pm. The breakfast buffet was basic Malay style -- fried noodles and fried rice, but on the plus side there was fresh cut honeydew melon.

Wifi only available in the lobby, but is free. Other cheaper hotels fill up fast in JB. This hotel is a good place to always fall back on, since it is huge and has so many rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a view toward the water. The view is spectacular in the room we had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed at JA Residence Hotel last weekend. Total 5 adults & 1 infant, taking 1 triple room & 1 double room. Room are reasonable with the price given & nothing to comment as the rate itself telling about the rooms. Just dont expert too high.However the good point is very conveniencea which is the location surrounding by eating places. Also the night market just opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: very good & save parking for your car. Its indoor and need to take an elevator to go up to a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Room was nice, big and good view.. but less amenities..especially bathroom..the pillow smell strange..there is few hair on the floor...anyway, its good value for money since its only RM100 plus per night.. Never expect so much..staff were friendly... Buffet breakfast just fine...not much selection and perfect location for the hotel..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

When we arrived we were told that seeing as room before checking in was not usually done. We were glad we insisted!
We were shown a room on the 11th floor and it was terrible. It had a terrible smell of mould and lots of dark traces of mould and humidity on the walls. It was very hot and humid in the room, the old airco was way too weak to get fresh and cool air in the room.

On the floor and on the bed sheets we saw several small bugs crawling (not the classical bedbugs, there were no stains on the mattress, we checked). The bed sheets were grey instead of white.

The carpet in the hall was downright disgusting and we were glad everything went fine with the cracking old elevator.

The lobby did not look bad at all so we were very surprised when we saw the rest of the hotel.

We did not even think of sleeping there and left as quick as possible. Initially we chose the hotel because of a good review in the Lonely Planet. Maybe the author should go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

When we arrived we had to insist to be shown a room. We were told that this is not usually done but finally we could have a look. Happily - as we would never have stayed there, certainly not with our small children!

The room was on the 11th floor and all that was great was the view. The room was far from clean. The air in the room was smelly and hot, the walls had lots of traces of humidity, the airco was small, old an way too weak to provide fresh and cool air. There were small bugs on the floor and on the beds (no "classical" bed bugs we checked, also no such stains in the mattrass). The sheets were greyish and did not smell fresh though they seamed to have been washed.

The room and the hotel were extremely worn and you'd wonder if you survived the cracky lift and how long it would take till the whole building fell. The carpet outside the rooms was downright disgusting. In the rooms there was a tile floor.

The lobby did not look bad at all but as soon as you got into the lift you'd only hope to get out of the whole place soon.

We had chosen this hotel because it had got a good review in the Lonely Planet (2010 edition). Maybe the author should go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in August 2011.

The first room we were given had a very very strong smell of mould. The second room were were given also had a mouldy smell, but was not as strong.

It appears that the floors, bathroom sink and toilet had been cleaned. This is where the cleaning ended.

Bathroom: The glass shower door had not been cleaned in a very long time and there was mould around the handle. The white shower tiles had turned yellow with grime. The spotlights in the bathroom had been replaced with a flourescent light and the holes had been stuffed with toilet paper.

Walls: Similarly, the walls had not been cleaned in a long time and had covered with stains and mould.

Soft furnishings: The padded chair, bed runner and lamps were all stained and had holes in them. The pillows had a bad smell. The headboard was made of a plastic woven material and was very dirty and stained.

The Lonely Planet describes the hotel as slightly worn down. Perhaps it was slightly worn down two years ago, but it appears that there has been no maintenance or upkeep on the rooms in the meantime - both rooms we saw had an equal level of neglect.

In my opinion, the room was disgusting. The next day we checked into another hotel, just metres away that was very clean and considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
0.1 mi away
Meldrum Hotel
Meldrum Hotel
#37 of 86 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#62 of 86 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmanSari Express Hotel
AmanSari Express Hotel
#31 of 86 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
#18 of 86 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
#16 of 86 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
Tropical Inn Johor Bahru
#36 of 86 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Residence Hotel

Address: 18 Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 86 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your JA Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JA Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.