We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location But Poor Condition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Jalan Ibrahim Sultan | Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia (Formerly ZON Regency Hotel by the sea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12 Treats of Christmas
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Location But Poor Condition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 2 rooms (interconnected) & stayed one night here.

Negative notes:

Condition: The paint/bed/linen/mattress were in good condition (may be they had been refurbished) but the bathrooms were pretty bad. Permanent stains everywhere (wash basins/floor/bathtubs).

Room key was not functioning even after we complained twice. So we just used the door of the other room.

The carpet on the walkway looked so dirty & it was really dirty actually. Rooms next to our rooms looked so bad with stains on the carpet in front of the doors.

Car park: car park available for free but very far. Make sure you drop your whole troop in front of the hotel before parking your vehicles.

Positive notes:

Eateries: So many eateries near the hotel, halal & non halal.

Location: very near to Singapore check point & in a free trade zone

View: Nice sea view

Value: Just ok. Just do not expect too much from this 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure they provide you a fully refurbished room including the refurbish bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    26
    6
    11
See reviews for
17
6
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are currently staying here, paying at the rate of SGD 64++ per night I must said the hotel is doing really fair by giving what we paid for. The hair dryer spoilt (with yellow smokes came out) we had to call the housekeeping three times. The second time the guy just went off left our door open without any explanation. We called the front office the third time and had told the guest relations manager what happen, he sent another guy and again he said need to get something and I reminded him that he has to come back and please keep my door closed. Viola, 30 mins gone, the hair dryer still not functioning, and he too disappear to somewhere . I fully understand it's a super good deal, and hence it will be my responsibility to let everyone know what will you get for what you paid :)

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumut, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

well, the title is just my experience in the hotel, but overall, it's a good hotel. stayed her for 2 nights in november for company retreat. the room is beautiful and clean. i believe it has newly being refurbished as i still can smell the paint odor. the bathroom is very clean. the food was delicious, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner. a good big spread every time. so, ya, i was locked outside my room for 2 hours. went down to the front desk to reset the key card twice, made 4 calls as my roommate and i were too tired to walk back and forth. our room was very far from the lift. well, after 2 hours, the manager-on-duty came with a technician, change the battery of the keycard machine, settled in 10 minutes. we were too tired to run amuk as we travelled 7 hours to JB before that. i hope it won't happen again to me or any of us =)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Location and room condition:
the hotel is build surrounded with entertainment area and on top of duty free zone (almost dying thou). there is a little noise may be heard from the room but not from neighbouring room. The room is perfect and gave you complete set of toiletries.. which recently hard to found in other Berjaya hotel. The complimentary bottled drink however is RO water.
the pillow is fluffy .. the bedding is not smelly but i think they need to do a little vineger treatment to the pillow thou. parking is ample. but you need to walk around 1/3 of the building to get yourself to the hotel lobby and main elevator area. felt a little safer with hotel needed to swipe card in the elevator to access floor.

not as out dated.. check the picture i provided... i expect to be more run-down than what the review stated

Room Tip: try to get higher than 10th floor... the noice from the club and park bareable this way
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Spent a night in this hotel at a good discounted rate room & bf. Quite easy to find this hotel and plus point is not to go into the city area hence avoiding traffic. Why I say there is potential for this hotel is basically the location and the set up of the hotel.

Facing the waterfront, splendid way to spend a breezy evening at night and the lights around the waterfront are so pretty. It is also in a duty free zone so maybe that is the reason for the popularity of this hotel. Understand the utilisation rate is high.

Ok, back to the hotel, from the exterior, it looks great! Once you get into the car park area (free parking on level 6) the dodginess sets in. You have to climb a flight of steps to the hotel and walk a fair bit to get to the lift. The reception is on 1st floor which is linked to the duty free shopping mall. I guessed the attraction for hotel guests is the liquor and chocolates. As they are duty free, the liquor has to be consumed in the building as there is a custom check point just outside the hotel. However, this did not deter the locals who gathers around the hotel vicinity to consume the alcholol, hence leading to its downfall.

The hotel is actually pretty decent and as mentioned the architecture is pretty cool as the rooms all facing a huge space in the middle which looks down to the 5th floor where the lobby lounge and breakfast area is. It reminded me of Perth's Burswood Hotel's set up, very very simiar. The room was ok and we asked for a non-smoking room. There is only a double bed (not king) and the room was pretty sparse but adequate with a flat screen tv, hairdryer, coffee making facilities, a fridge, a safe, an ironing board & iron and all toiletries. However, you can see that the bathroom is a bit old and probably untouched from the renovations made to the hotel. But all in all, I would rate it a 3 star for comfort. My biggest complaint though is the cigarette smoke that seems to float into the room from the bathroom. In the morning all our clothes in the luggage bag had a terrible cigarette smell. Next grouse is the wifi, poor connection and speed was terrible.

Breakfast, again, I had low expectations so I guess it exceeded mine! There is an egg station and you can choose omelette or fried eggs, can even request for half boiled eggs although I must say the chef did not know how to make good half boiled eggs...overcooked. Staple are nasi lemak, fried mee mamak, sausages, beans, roti canai with dhall and porridge with the normal condiments. There is also a noodle booth serving kway teow soup. There is also a spread of danish pastries, croissants, cakes/muffins and also plain bread. Cereal also available and fruits. The spread is ok and quite normal fand meets the Malaysian 3 star hotel standard.

As for food, there are plenty of options around the hotel. Nearest would be Tai Son, a seafood restaurant which is located facing the seafront. Seating allowed on the deck so it is kinda breezy and cool place to hangout. Also has entertainment (band with singer), hence the prices charged. There are cheaper options around the hotel (all within walking distance) a few seafood joints, chinese and malay styled, a hawker centre and other eateries further ahead. There is also grocery shops (7-11) available.

Check in and out was ok, so all in all not a bad place to stay but hope the management control the crowds better around the hotel at night as it is really a bit scary if you are walking alone.

Room Tip: Should ask for higher floors to be as far away from the noise of the lobby lounge (band performing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I enjoy this Hotel and surroundings as long as the price is attractive.It has aspects of a great hotel in terms of waterfront view and large open space in the middle that provides a view of all the floors and rooms. The location is easy to find,has outside areas for strolling around in the evening and is connected to a mall(not a great shopping mall but does have a drugstore,perfume shop,alcohol and cirar shops).Beds are comfortable,has basic gym/exercise room,nice spa and the pool area is average.Check in is fine as long as there is no lineup,checkout is fast and seamless.Rooms are average.If they upgraded the bathrooms( old style tub and shower-has odors coming from water drain on floor so cover that with a towel),changed the carpets and utilized the pool bar and added more lounge chairs,it would make a difference.Has room safe and tv is modern.Good concierge service.High floors have great views,lower floors may be better for children as parents may worry about safety with the exposed middle area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaharudin A, General Manager at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear H M,

Thank you for staying at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru!

We are glad that you found your stay comfortable. Your positive comments are very encouraging for all of us and enhance even more of our commitment for constant upgrade of facilitates and services.

We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we welcome you back for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

The hotel itself is outdated but staffs are friendly, its connected to a Duty Free Mall which seems to be dark and old... A few oulets and bars.. It seems like it is frequented by unwanted social activities...

Wifi is terrible, can't seem to connect at times and no coverage...

Location is ok, nice view of Singapore if u r facing the coastline... Try to get a higher floor to avoid the noise...

Toilet is old... Room carpet has got marking of a burned due to the iron.. ( why do hotel guests do this? )...

Room Tip: higher floor would be great to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaharudin A, General Manager at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear bellisimo29,

Thank you for taking time to share the comments of your recent stay at Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. We are most concerned to note of your encounter and truly regret the negative impression reflected. We wish to inform you that the we are currently working on the enhancement plan for both the hotel and the Mall. Your input will certainly be an important contribution as we progress with our plans. Hopefully it will be completed on your next visit.

We look forward to being of service to you again on your next trip to Johor Bahru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru

Address: 88 Jalan Ibrahim Sultan | Stulang Laut, Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia (Formerly ZON Regency Hotel by the sea)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the capital city of Johor in Southern Malaysia, a mere 5 minutes away from the main causeway link to Singapore, Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru (formerly known as The Zon Regency Hotel by the sea) boasts 400 rooms and suites and features one of the largest MICE facilities in the region. Adjacent to Iskandar Malaysia, the southern development corridor - famed for its tourist attractions such as Legoland Malaysia and Puteri Harbour Family Theme Park, the hotel and its integrated duty-free-zone is home to an array of shopping, dining and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Johor Bahru
Regency Hotel Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Waterfront Hotel, Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.