We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should try this!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lat's place - CLOSED

Lat's place
Persiaran Puteri Selatan, Puteri Harbour | Nusajaya, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Malaysian
Description: Step into the comic world of Lat and meet his LAToon friends for an interactive and engaging animated experience while you embark on an amazing culinary adventure! In this themed restaurant, the fun adventures of Lat the Kampung Boy will come to life right before your eyes! Opening Hours: - Mon, Wed - Sun - 11.00Am - 8.00Pm - Weekends & Public Holidays - 9.00Am - 8.00Pm - Mon, Wed - Sun - 6.00Pm - 7.30Pm (Dinner Session) - Closed on Tuesdays (except for School & Public Holidays) Walk-in and grab a bite with us from 11am to 7:30pm everyday. Choose from a plethora of scrumptious meals to savory snacks prepared fresh from Lat's kitchen. Our mouth-watering local delicacies will be sure to please every taste palette. Breakfast is served on weekends and public holidays from 9am to 11am. TAR KB Sdn. Bhd. Is the Authorised Licensee of Kampung Boy Sdn. Bhd. And a subsidiray of Themed Attractions and Resorts Sdn. Bhd.
Restaurant details
Description: Step into the comic world of Lat and meet his LAToon friends for an interactive and engaging animated experience while you embark on an amazing culinary adventure! In this themed restaurant, the fun adventures of Lat the Kampung Boy will come to life right before your eyes! Opening Hours: - Mon, Wed - Sun - 11.00Am - 8.00Pm - Weekends & Public Holidays - 9.00Am - 8.00Pm - Mon, Wed - Sun - 6.00Pm - 7.30Pm (Dinner Session) - Closed on Tuesdays (except for School & Public Holidays) Walk-in and grab a bite with us from 11am to 7:30pm everyday. Choose from a plethora of scrumptious meals to savory snacks prepared fresh from Lat's kitchen. Our mouth-watering local delicacies will be sure to please every taste palette. Breakfast is served on weekends and public holidays from 9am to 11am. TAR KB Sdn. Bhd. Is the Authorised Licensee of Kampung Boy Sdn. Bhd. And a subsidiray of Themed Attractions and Resorts Sdn. Bhd.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You should try this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our family went in without any expectation for lunch but seriously delighted we chosen this place. The environment of the restaurant is just refreshing and readings through LAT comics through the big screen is funny and bring back all the memories. I have to explain to my boy and girl all the games we played when we were young like marble, gasing, hide and seek, rubber seed, paper gun with rubber etc. versus IPAD. Surprisingly the Malay food is good. The staffs are very friendly. This is a good restaurant, don't miss it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What an entertaining place. We finished off our Legoland, little big club, hello kitty land day a Lat's place, and we are so glad we did. A mix of entertainment, including the audience, with dinner. The staff are so welcoming an are always smiling. The food was good and tasty, and lots of it. This was an excellent choice to end a great day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trying hard to please everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lat's place strives to give an interactive dining experience. Before you start your "adventure', they line you up outside with welcome drinks and try to find out your names, if you are celebrating your birthdays etc - all for a reason of course.

When it is time to go in, you are ushered into a kampong setting and before you know it, the ushers break into a welcome dance and song routine. Then the screens around you come alive and the village characters start calling your names and asking you questions or even sing you a birthday song as you eat.

It is all well and good only if you like to be entertained while you eat. The sincere staff try hard to please and you are hardly left on your own throughout the whole dining experience. If you are the kind who prefers to eat in peace, this place is not for you. The set lunch is mediocre. You eat what is presented to you - not much of a choice here. Overall, it is quite pricey but quite a different experience. I wont go back a second time though - unless they change their entertainment routine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent personalized show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We visited this place while at Hello Kitty Land and Little Big Club. The staff are excellent, the show is personalized for their audience. It was our honeymoon and they bought out a cake for us and sang. Food was good, it may not be for everyone. We were very appreciative of the effort the staff and cast had put in singing, dancing, talking to the audience.

Price might be pricey but worth it for the amount of effort the staff put in. As this place is new there weren't many customers. I wish this restaurant and staff all the best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Well worth noted to bring local icon & cuisine into another level”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's a refreshing idea what Lat's place is doing, not just putting fancy western style or fusion cuisine on the table in a fine dining manner, it takes their cuisine & create a relax fine dining style w/ interactive show to the gusets instead. An effort worth appreciating, w/ live talking animation,the cast dancing & joking, but still attentive to the service starting from greeting the guests at the entrance all the way to the end of the meal. With the set menu price they set, it's a little bit on the pricey side but worth the experience

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lat's place also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lat's place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.