We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Room @ Level 17” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmanSari Hotel City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AmanSari Hotel City Centre to your Saves list
AmanSari Hotel City Centre
No. 49, Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
singapore
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Superior Room @ Level 17”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Pros:
Wifi fast, not slow
Clean Room
HBO Channels
Location near city square 3 min walk


Cons:
No safe box
No refridgerator
No hair dryer
Water not warm
Wall thin, can hear people talk
Floor gets wet easilt
Breakfast choice limited
Small Room

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at AmanSari Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. With these information we will try our best to accommodate our guests with the best comfort and giving additional facilities and services in the near future.

We truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
19
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The reasons were due to its location and price. Locationwise, it near to JB Central and CIQ. 10 minutes walking across the streets to get us to the CIQ and enter Singapore. Since we were also visiting our friend in JB and travelling in-out Singapore for 2 days, we decided to stay at this hotel. Price was very reasonable, RM114 per night, twin sharing room. Room was decent, bath room was ok and clean. big window looking the CIQ and JB Sentral. I love having big window in my hotel room. air condition was beyond our expectation, extremely cool.. hehe. we had the highest floor which i enjoyed the view but had the internet connection. due to its location, we merely connected to the internet. need to get to the lobby to have a better connection. otherwise, use our own internet from our data service provider. overall, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel with a good breakfast serving.

Room Tip: Low level room to enjoy better internet connection or high level room to enjoy view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at AmanSari Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and we were glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. It is our pleasure to give you the best accommodation and facilities. We will be looking forward to welcome you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is nice, its near with the city square and JB CIQ. You just need to walk from the back of City Square around 10 minutes to reach the hotel. But it was the problem as well, you need to walk on the pedestrian road to the hotel and i do not fell save especially at night. So, i'm not really recommended for single traveller especially girl.

The room service was not really good, they are not really speak english fluently. When I was come the deposit box inside my room was locked and it took 1 day to open it on the following day.

The room just ok, I took non smoking twin room in the 19th floor and the size is just ok not either big or small. The provide basic amenities such as coffee, tea, mineral waters, water boiler, shampoo, and soap as well. They also have deposit box, working table and chair. But lack of hanger to hang your clothes.The window was locked and I think is good to prevent guest from smoking since it was non smoking room. The bathroom is quiet clean but lack of hook to hang your cloth or tower. The water is quiet strong but it create annoying sound when you open it, I guess it was water pump so I don't mind with it.

The breakfast is the best part of this hotel, it was good. The provide buffet breakfast and it was the reason I choose this hotel instead of their parents hotel (amansari express). The variety is quiet a lot for this small hotel and they keep refilling the food even though sometimes they lack of people. You better either come early or a bit late for breakfast, I was unlucky to check in when the hotel is full make me even hard to find seat during breakfast.

Overall this hotel was good and comfortable for me. I will recommended this hotel but not for single traveler especially ladies that willing to go back late night by walking from city square.

Room Tip: "If you are non smoker, always request non smoking room they will give you a looked window room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at AmanSari Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. With these information we will try our best to accommodate our guests with the best comfort and giving additional facilities and services in the near future.

We truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was my 2nd time to stay at this hotel and I enjoyed it!! I booked the superior queen room online at a very reasonable rate. I stayed at 19th floor. The room is small but cosy and clean with a great aerial view. The bed is very comfortable to enable me a good sleep at any time. The internet speed is amazingly fast in tandem with their UNIFI installation. The breakfast choice is standard and the fried rice taste delicious! In addition, it's only 3-5 minutes walking distance to JB City Square Shopping Mall for a wonderful shopping spree. Hopefully the new KOMTAR Mall opposite the hotel will be ready in Year 2014 to offer us another new exciting shopping experience! Last but not least, I had tried the chicken rice promotion for my lunch and it's worth the value!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to enjoy a great aerial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at AmanSari Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and we were glad that you enjoy your stay here with us. It is our pleasure to give you the best accommodation and facilities. We will be looking forward to welcome you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stay Period: 09/12/2013-11/12/2013
Room: Deluxe King Room

Check in and check out was fast, the room size are acceptable.
Go for breakfast at 9:00am on second day morning, request fried egg but the staff told me egg are finish and the manager told me the egg stock not arrive yet.
Go for breakfast at 8:30am on third day monring, request fried egg but the staff told me only serve omelet. And I saw the egg counter was closed at 9:15am.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at AmanSari Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. Regarding to the matter that you have highlighted, we will get into it and take immediate actions accordingly.

Once again thank you for your time with us and we truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The room looks pretty nice and decent; the bed is comfortable, the toilet looks nice, though a tad small. I was staying in a twin room and everything was alright, till I took my first bath. The shower doesn't spring out alot of water, but instead it is a small stream that extends your 5min bath time to almost 10min! No kidding. The glass door for the shower area does not close fully as well.

And oh, they only provided 1 room card key for the twin room I was staying in. I had to make a RM50 deposit for a 2nd card key (rates differ depending on which floor you stay on; as mine was 7th floor, they charged more).

On the brighter side, public Wi-Fi access in the hotel lobby is good - there is great signal and perfect to use at anytime of the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at AmanSari Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. Regarding to the matter that you have highlighted, we will get into it and take immediate actions accordingly.

Once again thank you for your time with us and we truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Not recommended for those who prefers comfortable spacious room. The front desk workers are not friendly. When we asked for the Internet access, they gave 1 day access. Then, the second time they gave us 2hrs access. This is absurd! They didn't explain or say anything when they gave us the access code. They're really unfriendly! The only good side of this hotel is the breakfast buffet. It's quite a satisfactory.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amansari_072197777, General Manager at AmanSari Hotel City Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for choosing AmanSari Hotel City Centre on your recent visit. We appreciate your time shared with us and reviews on our hotel. Regarding to the matter that you have highlighted, we will get into it and take immediate actions accordingly.

Once again thank you for your time with us and we truly appreciate your stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends to the hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

AmanSari Hotel operation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmanSari Hotel City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmanSari Hotel City Centre

Address: No. 49, Jalan Wong Ah Fook, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your AmanSari Hotel City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmanSari Hotel City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.