We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the flies?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granada Johor Bahru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Granada Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Hotel Granada Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Jalan Indah 15/2, Taman Bukit Indah | Nusajaya, Johor Bahru 81200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Cirencester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pity about the flies?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Malaysia. Comfortable rooms - nothing special (a bit like a Travelodge) but ok for a short stay. Very helpful staff, both in reception, in the bar and restaurant. Good air conditioning (an absolute must!).

Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Nice touch to be given bottled water for the kettle each day too.

My only real complaint was the sheer number of flies in the restaurant at breakfast? I left my bowl of cereal to get some coffee and, when I returned, a dozen flies were enjoying it instead! Not much the management can do about it I suppose but it wasn't very pleasant!

Would I use the hotel again? If I was there on business again I might do but I might prefer to try something a little less Travelodge!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
48
9
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It's a beautiful hotel and good location too. Aeon mall is just infront of the hotel. The hotel looks grand inside. Room size is ok. Toilet "looks clean" and looks can be deceiving because there were some molds on the tiles that is really yikes! Apart from the bathroom, everything in this hotel is ok.Breakfast is also good and they got plenty of food choices. Staff services etc. were really good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed one night for a shopping trip at JPO. Got good rate through booking.com and had no trouble checking-in. The receptionist who checked us in was efficient and polite. Room was a bit small for 2 Adults and a 9 year-old but suffice for a one night stay. The laminated floor was a plus because I really hate musty smelling carpet.

Breakfast that was included in the rate was okay, the normal fare you get at medium priced hotel. Would stay again for future shopping trips to JPO due to the hotel's location but not if i am on a rest and relax trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel was supposed to be a 4 star hotel & nicely decorated. Some more with its connection to Tunamaya Resort Tioman Island makes me expect more out of this hotel. Location was superb since it's nearby to AEON Bukit Indah. I had a late check in so there was nobody there to welcome me, just the receptionist giving me my room keys. The rooms were rather small. I booked 2 rooms, executive deluxe and twin deluxe at 5th floor. The free breakfast was the worst of all. The restaurant staff were not friendly, look like they are exhausted & no one smiles at us. The breakfast buffet choices were very limited, definitely not for a 4 star hotel. The nasi kunyit that I took were rock stone, hard & difficult to swallow. My hubby could not find anything that he fancied to eat. At 9.30am, they stop to refill the food since the breakfast buffet closed at 10.00am. I would surely not make a come back here. In fact, I would urge those who wishes to stay here to find other places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Went for a short trip with my family to Johor Bahru. Booked this hotel through agoda.com. The hotel is easy to find. Situated just in front of AEON shopping mall. A lot of eateries nearby the hotel with McDonald in front of the hotel. Located about 15-20min drive to Legoland and Johor Premium Outlet. Booked 2 rooms for a family of 5. Rooms are clean and look new. Very happy with the room condition. Buffet breakfast was OK, a lot of choices but not all of them are tasty. My only complain is that we couldn't get side by side rooms or rooms with connecting doors. Which is quite frustrating.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel is located opposite a big and modern shopping centre and 24hr Mcdonalds beside it. Theres a complimentary undergrd parkg. The hotel lobby is big and receptionists are polite. The junior suite that we booked is pretty small. Its size seems like a deluxe room. But the room was clean and cozy. Breakfast spread lacks varieties. No swimming pool. But perfect for a short 1-2night stay thanks to its location and price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Contrary to some reviews here, i found my stay at granada hotel pretty ok. Yes.. The room is pretty small, but the hotel made up for it by providing me with a comfy bed. Yes... There is no bathtub, but the standing rain shower is enough to melt away my tiredness.

As the chinese saying goes, '麻雀虽小,五脏俱全'. Hotel granada has everything you'd need for a good night stay.

Only grub i have is the area serving breakfast. Think the restaurant's name is call olla or something... Its full of houseflies..

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Granada Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada Johor Bahru

Address: 55 Jalan Indah 15/2, Taman Bukit Indah | Nusajaya, Johor Bahru 81200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Granada Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Granada Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.