We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs, heavy smoke smell, lots of unclean cigarette heads at windows… totally pissed me off!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Jl Tenteram, Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia (Formerly Naza Talyya Hotel Johor Bahr)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bed bugs, heavy smoke smell, lots of unclean cigarette heads at windows… totally pissed me off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrive at the hotel lobby, I thought this hotel should be ok, with newly renovated reception counter, sofa area for guests waiting for check in. BUT, when we entered to the room. It really gave me a heart-attacked. This room #516 was totally suck, horrible! Heavy smoke smell, even though you were at corridor, lots of cigarette heads at the sliding windows, thickness dust, mangoesteen's skin & chewing gum underneath the basin. Called to reception few times, waited for an hour only the housekeeping came. This housekeeper said this room already cleaned few times before, but still can't get rid of the smoke smell! If they really doing their good job, they should noticed all these rubbish. How could you release this kind of room, and sold to guest! The nightmare just started, my brother got bitten by the bed bugs! Oh MyGod! How this hotel to maintain their cleaniness, what the Management doing there. We asked the reception to change a clean & smoke-free room. At the first place, we asked to change room due to heavy smoke smell, they refused and keep mentioned all fully booked. Later on, we complained again due to the bed bugs, and show them the red patches bitten by bed bugs, only they changed us to Room #406. Again, this room air-condition was not working. The whole night just blow winds, and the room was totally warm.
Food wise, it so so.
Location still ok.
Your standard of 3 stars hotel need to be seriously under review. Hope you can take immediate action.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerhsjb, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greeting from Hotel Sentral!
Thank you so much for taking time toshare your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. On the bed bugs issue, the hotel's rooms and premises carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately this issue yet come into existence.

We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again. it certainly is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay.

We do hope that you would return on your next trip to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
24
12
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel was modern but had not been updated for a number of years giving it a "tired" feeling.
Reception was manned by young people who appeared not to want to be there. When I rang down for the internet password all I could hear were fits of laughter from other end, very unprofessional. Was advised by staff that it was not possible to walk anywhere from hotel and there was no public transport nearby hence a taxi had to be taken for all trips from hotel. When asked where centre of Jahor Bahru was staff told me City Square which turned out to be a large shopping mall attached to Sentral Station. Yes this was Jahor Bahru no bars or resteraunts. I had to take a taxi to Zon to find a couple of bars.
In the morning I found that there was no hot water in my room. After being passed around several disinterested members of staff it appeared that the hotel boiler could not cope with the demand for hot water and that I would have to wait for it to heat up. The manager agreed (over the phone-never seen) to extend my checkout time and I finally was able to have a shower at noon. Hotel Sentral is best avoided if possible as is Johor Bahru.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerhsjb, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. I have taken note of your comments with regards to poor service standards and service attitude very seriously.

Please rest assured that the situation you experienced is definitely not our standards that we would like to protrude. In the interim, should you be visiting Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru again, please do not hesitate to contact me personally to make it up to you.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Price reasonable. Nothing fancy bout the room but I was very pleased with the hotel staff. They responded to whatever complaints and requests rather quickly. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerhsjb, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you are overall happy with the services rendered throughout your stay and it is very pleasant to learn that the room was suitable for you.

I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Date: 6 sept 2013 - 8 sept 2013
Room: 511

initially we was quite satisfied with the room although some of the furnitures are quite old and some scratches seen on the surface. We slept through the whole night but when we woke up we found redness over our skin and its looked like insects bitten… we checked through the bed and blanket, unbelievably we found small kutu on the bed and not only one kutu, immediately we kills the kutu by using toilet papers and flushed into toilet bowl, we cant imagine that we slept through the whole night with kutu! we felt disappointed and thinking to check out from the hotel, but due to we are quite rushing to Singapore so we didn't. however on the night when we back from Singapore, we checked again the bed and blanket, we still found some kutu on the bed, we took photos and we were really upset with the hotel. We also checked through the floor we found that at the edge between the bed and the drawer is very dusty and hairs over the floor its seem like long time never clean. We took photo and surprisingly from the photo we found kutu on the floor!!! We felt disgusting to stay in this hotel for another night, we packed our luggages immediately and checked out. We didn't make a complaint to the management that day because we are really upset to this hotel. We hope this hotel will take our complaint seriously and figure some solutions to keep the hotel clean and hygienic, also to provide safe environment for customers to stay.

Room Tip: go for another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerhsjb, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. On the bed bugs issue, the hotel's rooms and premises carry out pest control treatment on periodic basic but unfortunately this issue yet come into existence.

We will look into this issue seriously to prevent it from happening again. It certainly is disappointing that you have not enjoyed your stay.

We do hope that you would return on your next trip to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived after a very long bus trip and they could not find our booking. I showed them it on my phone but they wanted a hard copy so I had the log on their computer forward the email and print, this did not work so I tried again eventually I sent them the email and they sorted it. This took nearly an hour by the time we were sorted.
We headed up to our room walked in and it reeked of cigarette smoke, the beds looked slept in and it had not been cleaned so back down we went, eventually after checking we were given an upgraded room.
The room itself was fine it had everything we needed except the hotel information, I asked twice for it but it never arrived.
We went and asked where we could access. An ATM and get something for dinner and got instructions to a place called the zon but finally found it on our last night but it is a 20 minute walk away.
The pool area was quite nice although I had to go to reception for towels and wait for them to arrive.
Breakfast was a disappointment, food the first morning was cold and unappetising, the second morning was a slight improvement but it is the first time I have ever stayed anywhere offering a buffet breakfast and there not being an egg option.
Check out was well handled.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerhsjb, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral !

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are deeply regretted to hear that you stay with us was unpleasant. I have taken note of your comments with regards to poor service standards and service attitude very seriously.

Please rest assured that the situation you experienced is definitely not our standards that we would like to protrude. in the interim, should you be visiting Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru again, please do not hesitate to contact me personally to make it up to you.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here here for 5 days from 17th July 2013. Its been said that the property is a recent acquisition by the Sentral Hotel Consortium. Steven the Property Manager and Sharon the Housekeeping Manager are doing a great job given a good hear to Guests fair feedback. Obviously with acquisition you have the try and test phase for various shortcomings which I am sure will be fixed in no time. The pool area is pleasant and we had it for ourselves during this visit.The rooms 1005 and 1006 which are in fact triples are adequately fitted. Room 1006 in fact has a long seating area by the window which should double up for a lying area. I am said that all rooms in the hotel ending in the 05 series have this feature. The rain shower in the room are a great stress reliever. The buffet breakfast spread was adequate with a slight variation being done every day. Newspapers are available on request. Tea / Coffee making facility is adequate. Their is an ironing station on every floor. Day shift reception staff are exceptionally helpful. The restaurant staff including the kitchen staff are all similarly very pleasant and keep the spread filled up at all time. The coffee is great. The Universal Studio Package and Legoland Packages are great and fair buys here The room was cleaned and nice to sleep whether you like it or not on a daily basis..Location of this .hotel is in a good location i.e. a very short run RM 10/- from the taxi sta. Do always remember to use the red taxi unless you have RMs to throw around on a blue cab which has a rather speedier meter run. A good international food court and a mall experience can also be found very close to the hotel at Johor Bahru City Square. Will be staying a night at the Hotel Sentral Melaka tonight will do a write up upon completing the experience there. Will be returning to Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru on 23rd July 2013 to fly out of Senai Airport to Lankgawi.

Room Tip: In case of triples choose the range ending with 05
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerhsjb, General Manager at Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral !

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you are overall happy with the services rendered throughout your stay and it is very pleasing to learn that the room was suitable for you.

I hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights. We were quite happy. We were given two twin rooms when we checked in as opposed to a queen and twin, but the staff at reception were helpful with rectifying this. They also kept our travel party on the same floor.

We found the rooms to be clean, but in one room the windows did not shut properly so there was a tiny gap, which was okay. Just be careful if you have a toddler because they can reach the windows from the daybed beneath (see picture). I caught my 4-year-old looking out of the window he opened himself (the window could not be locked). He seriously could have tumbled. Standing on the platform the bottom of the window came up to just below the waist.

Pool was okay, though a little dirty. Breakfast was good, though it was packed (due to school holidays). They did refill the buffet quite often, but if you came later the dining room was packed.

Room Tip: We had suites on the tenth floor and we had no issues. Test the windows if you have little kids and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerhsjb, Manager at Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,
Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable room and the location of Hotel Sentral. It is also great to know that you did enjoy the facilities in Hotel Sentral.

In between, we have taken note of the pool's hygienic and please be assured your comment has been taken seriously for improvements purposes.

We sincerely request you to return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru

Address: 17 Jl Tenteram, Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia (Formerly Naza Talyya Hotel Johor Bahr)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of town along the scenic cape of Tanjung Puteri, the Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru delightfully combines a central location for business and leisure, with a full complement of excellent amenities. Boasting a spectcular view of the straits of Johor and Singapore coast, the newly refurbished hotel features a selection of 137 elegantly appointed rooms and family suites to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.Just a mere 5 minutes away from the hotel is the Stulang Laut Duty Free Zone, a shopping paradise that also offers ferry services to Batam and Tanjung Pinang and just a short drive will take you to the city's major shopping centres, such as City Square, Jusco Tebrau City, Plaza Pelangi, Sutera Mall and Johor Premium Outelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.