We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel to your Saves list
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Taman Century, KB No. 779, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My essential criteria for a hotel room is a comfy bed and a hot shower. Unfortunately, the water was most certainly not hot - luke warm at best, which was a big negative for me. On the plus side, the room was quite spacious and comfortable, as was the bed. The whole ground floor reception and restaurant area has been renovated and is very nice but the renovations are yet to work their way upwards to the guest rooms. Our room was very tired and the air conditioner unit was very noisy and had condensation dripping from it, causing the paintwork to bubble as well. The service at reception could only be described as very slow and this needs to be improved upon. The highlight of our stay was eating at the restaurant on the ground floor (where breakfast is served). The food was delicious and relatively cheap and the staff were obliging. It's a pity that the main non smoking area of the restaurant is not licensed so therefore you can only consume alcohol in the smoking area - strange! There is a rather cheap priced large shopping area next door to the hotel where bargains can be found but no supermarket - you need to trek to the nearby KSL Shopping Centre to find that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    192
    108
    15
    16
See reviews for
125
41
16
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It was great that we were granted early check-in as we had booked more than 5 rooms. The room was huge & even though it was a twin sharing room, both the beds were queen size! The size of the room was more than just a superior/deluxe room! Since we stayed for Ramadhan, the break fast spread was amazing! The hotel even prepared sahur for all Muslims guests. The spread was ample enough for sahur.

We will be staying again in Aug for another night & we know our stay will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The room is full of moulds due to the air con without humidity control!
No coffee to go in the morning!
Food is to expensive but not special and staff is not friendly!
Noisy at night due to the train horns all night long.
NOT RECOMMENDABLE!
Never again

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

truly enjoyed meeting all the associates here. You just need to voice out & notify what you looking for. do not expect perfections if you do not anticipate all the 'common things' surrounding this areas. I will visit this hotel again! thank you for your hospitality especially from the food & beverage areas

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked through Agoda, and its only when we checked in that we realized it was a big mistake. No wifi in the rooms only LAN and that too only one line. if you are on a business beware not to check into this hotel. if you book through Agoda the hotel takes away the free breakfast so if one wants breakfast it is extra and you got to pay. the internet was slow. the room was clean but the inconvenience of no wifi and no breakfast should make one to think twice about choosing this hotel. everything is money. most hotels at least put refreshments for guests. in this hotel the room had only THREE (3) sachets of sugar???!!!. and when we requested for more it was well after HALF an hour they chose to deliver. and the staff were unfriendly and rude. even though the room was clean I would choose never to stay in this hotel again. the only free extras the hotel has to offer is the extremely unfriendly and long faced staff. good luck to anyone who ends up here. totally useless without wifi if the room more than one occupant. if on business you are doomed. wifi in the lobby sucks. service even more. front desk staff should be sacked. bellboy's attitude even worse. parking is cramped. so if you are driving and on business may you are better off in another hotel.

Room Tip: make sure to find out the length of the LAN connection. it is too short to reach the bed. ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siheung, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night. There are some places to shopping around.
There is a market and TESCO and a shopping mall. There, we could exchange, too.

Hotel room was excellent and the breakfast is really wonderful.
But internet acess is not free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Hotel location is ok, near shopping areas and eating place. TV channels selection is decent.

The areas to improve are,
- no WIFI in rooms, have to connect by cable, and speed is not fast
- lobby WIFI connection is weak, I can even connect it
- room not clean properly, dust accumulated on racks, wardrobe top shelf, etc.
- breakfast selection is reasonable, but many dishes quite tasteless.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.6 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
2.0 mi away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#8 of 83 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
3.8 mi away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#1 of 83 in Johor Bahru
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
#19 of 83 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#22 of 83 in Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Address: Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Taman Century, KB No. 779, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.