We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping mall in a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KSL Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added KSL Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
KSL Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   33 Jalan Seladang, Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shopping mall in a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a good night stay at this amazing hotel! Our initial plan was just to visit KSL mall but it was an impromptu decision to check in this hotel last minute. Had the deluxe room at level 21. The view was amazing, overlooking the night view of Johor Bahru and the pool downstairs. Room was clean and comes with bathrobe and bathtub too!!

The king size bed was soooo comfy. Best thing is they even provide bolsters! :) Hotel located conveniently right inside KSL Mall. You can catch a late night movie at the cinema and head straight back to the room to rest!

If you did not buy the breakfast package, you can cross the street and get some food! There are food shops/kopitiam just across the street selling chicken rice, kuay teow, wanton mee etc. A chance to taste the local food!

Holiday Plaza was just a 5 to 10 minutes walk away! RM8 taxi fare to get you to City Square/checkpoint. Thumbs up for this hotel, definitely will come back again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    285
    288
    102
    124
See reviews for
370
142
13
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Medan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

First of all I want to clarify the comments I read here. I was sceptical before checking in after reading the negative reviews. But do look at the dates, all complaints made are during the easter long weekend. I can see how a single lobby system will suffer from a 800 plus room hotel. The queue system is pretty unique but as others have said not really appropriate in a 5-star hotel.

On that note this hotel is nowhere near a 5-star quality. Its more a 3-star and the lower end at that. The only reason its calling 5-star probably because of the integrated shopping mall and great locations. Other than that its pretty appauling. Rooms are just adequate, been to better quality rooms with cheaper price. LCD and the beds are standard fare. Water pressure is good and cleanliness is starting to worn off from a only 1-year old hotel. If you read this in 2013 its still would be okay but beware when its in 2014.

Shopping mall is a 2-star mall as no major anchor brands. Only small stalls on clothings, electronics, etc.

Stayed here only to go to Legoland to bring my daughter along. But overall a 4-star experience mainly due to location and price wise. Please ignore the negative feedbacks made during the easter weekend.

Tips: walk about 5 streets down towards the paragon hotel and find the original hawker centre. Plenty of local foods and flavors. Tops any restaurant at the KSL mall.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru!

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay at KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru. It is feedback such as yours that helps us tio improve our services to our guests.

Meantime, we look forward to be of service to you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My room in this hotel has amazing view of JB City overlooking Singapore harbour plus the swimming pool. Everything in the room was nice except for a missing a bathtub. Other than that, breakfast and lunch was superb, lots of delicious food variety. My only issue was the crowd but I was there during a peak period so I had to bear the wait.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Do not even think of booking this hotel. In March, I booked 2 rooms and it took them more than 4 hours to issue the key. One of the excuse was the room was not released yet by housekeeping and we found out later it was cleaned much earlier. The front desk has no way of knowing the status of their rooms. What a lousy system they had. Our mood for holiday was totally ruined. They were many foreign tourisst that day and the hotel is a big EMBARASSMENT for Malaysia.

Room Tip: Please be prepared to wait for hours for you to get your key. You have to queue twice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Liza,

Thank you for sharing your experience of KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru with us.

We sincerely apologize for the circumstances that have left your expectations unmet. Your comments have certainly raised many areas of concern that need to be addressed and pleased be rest assured that appropriate measures have been taken to ensure future improvement.

We hope the unpleasant incident does not impair your trust in KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru. We will continue to strive for enhanced services and hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in near future so that you may have a more pleasant and memorable stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Arrived today and it has been one bad experience after another. Staff were rude or incompetent. We were told to "sit" on arrival even though the number we had to take for check-in (seriously) had been called. The rooms are below standard, there is no information on hotel location, services or the local area. Some staff speak English, but many don't. The gym is a joke and the challenge is finding it. I will never stay here again. My colleague has an executive room and has had so many issues she has had to speak to the manager three times in the past 2 hours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As an ex-hotelier, this hotel not worth to claim as a 5 Stars hotel.
Room look nice, food delicious but service and the attitude of the staff was damn worst. The way of management level handling problem is not professional at all!
I should stay there on 29 March 2013 but end up i didn't get a room after waiting for around 4 hours. I am sure whoever stay during this period gone through all the hectic and really look down on this hotel.
The hotel ran out of room is a serious issue and the management was just hiding behind without calm down their guest. Let all the guest just wait for nothing.
If KSL really want to continue their business i think they really need to restructure and get really experienced customer service staff to work out on this. The front desk staff no savvy at all and their attitude really bad.
The hotel is NEW but complaint is more than compliment. The management really should review on their GOOD JOB!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius1447, Manager at KSL Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Warm greetings from KSL Hotel & Resort Johor Bahru!

We thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us on 29th March 2013.

Our sincerely apologies for your bad experience at our Front Office due to technical glitch which had cause our computer system crashed. We had all our personal mobilized to assist checking for room availability and this had to be done manually. Due to this, we have encounter late check in which had caused a lot of anxiety and frustration to all our valued guest.

Rest assured that this is not the normal practice in the hotel operation. Once again, please accept our heartfelt apologies on the incident.

We will continue to strive for enhanced service and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future so that you may have a more pleasant and memorable stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were part of a group invited to Malaysia, by Tourism Malaysia.
Check in was a bit of a drama, not exactly sure what happened but we were travelling with Tourism Malaysia so it eventually got it sorted, after a hour.
The room was very nice, it was just myself in the room so it was a decent size but it would be too squishy for 2 or more. the view from the room at night was beautiful.
having the shopping center attached was awesome. Especially as you can go to the shops any time up until 10 at night.
Breakfast was actually quiet good buffet style and had a lot to choose from. however there were too many people in the resteraunt so it was real busy.
the twilight bar in the hotel is very pricey but ok if you don't want to leave the hotel.
i wasn't impressed with the service, we checked out at 5 am and the bell boys were asleep sprawled across their table and didnt help us with out bags.

its a great hotel because everything is at Ur fingertips, u hardly have to leave the hotel.
however they do need to improve on their service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to KSL Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KSL Hotel & Resort

Address: 33 Jalan Seladang, Taman Abad, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KSL Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KSL Hotel & Resort is the newest and largest integrated resort in Johor Bahru that offers a complete shopping experience with entertainments and accommodations. The hotel is located in the heart of Johor Bahru City. It is about 10 minutes away from the Causeway and Johor Bahru Business District.The Resort style hotel provides 868 rooms & suites and extensive meeting and event facilities. For meetings and events, KSL Resort offers the perfect combination of first class facilities, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. We also offers a range of wedding packages for your special day.With its convenience and comfort, you are able to enjoy numerous well-known Food & Beverage outlets, Fashion boutiques, Cineplex and Hypermarts (Tesco) all under one roof. Without compromising the location, you still can enjoy the water theme park facilities, Golf simulator experience, pool, billiard and children's amusement arcade.In the evening, all guests are invited to our Mission Bar & Grill, where you are able to enjoy a wide range of imported beers and wines. There will be Barbeque dinner and live band to lead you through the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your KSL Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KSL Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.