We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rooms Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rooms Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Jalan Rosmerah 2/16, | Taman Johor Jaya,, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

an excellent place to crash down for a night or two if you are travelling and just need a place to sleep. rooms are fairly clean, neat and colourful. Nice design. parking is a no issue as there will be a reserved parking manned by a security guard all night, and right in front of the hotel too. this is very convenient especially when you are tired and arriving very late at night. the hotel is situated a little bit out of the busy city but the access is easy as it is just beside the jb-pasirgudang highway. so getting into town is easy, and still can come back to a quite place to sleep.

Room Tip: get one with window the very least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
9
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was the first time I stayed at the Rooms Boutique Hotel in Johor while traveling from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. it was a terrific little place with probably no more than 30-35 rooms altogether. Rooms are extremely clean and tidy with full amenities considering such a good room rate. Customer service at the Front Office was simply great; very helpful staff and owner (I think his name is Ng) which I have met accidentally while staying there. Too bad they don't have a restaurant on the premises for guests' convenience; but nevertheless, the hotel is surrounded by different inexpensive restaurants. Each room is decorated differently and in pleasant colors.

all in all I got my money worth out of the accommodation then some more.

I would recommend it highly to travelers and guests who are doing business in Johor

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We was enjoy our stayed at this hotel, the cleanliness was awesome. The rooms and the lobby also looks very clean and hygiene. We wish can come again for next holiday. They make our holiday very memorable. Thanks guys...

Room Tip: Make a hygienist your priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

INTRO: Went for a stay from 14TH-15th Dec. Stayed on Design Mini Suite. There were good reviews already written by other travelers. My review made references to them, in addition with my personal experience.


TRANSPORT: Took a cab from JB Sentral taxi stand (Its between JB Custom and City Square) to the hotel. The trip cost RM$20 (Flat fee. NOT BY METER).

A return cab ride (from the hotel to JB Sentral) cost RM$16, inclusive of RM$3 as booking

(Note: The blue cab was for tourist. More expensive. So I took the red cab)


LOBBY: Its nicely decorated. There was even a cosy waiting lounge having good aircon, reading materials and a PC. However at the receptionist area, it was quite warm as the aircon was not fully turned up. There was also a small balcony outside the lobby for guests to smoke and chill.

BEDSHEET CLEALINESS: Overall Clean.

STAFF: Able to converse in English. Very approachable and willing to help you.

AIRCON: It’s working and adjustable. You could tune for it to be cooling.
However the air vent from the toilet could be noisy, especially when the night was quiet. I mistaken the air vent noise for that of a noisy aircon.

SHOWER: It had a RAIN SHOWER.
The water was warm, but not hot.

LIGHTS: Fairly lighted room

WIFI: N.A. (Cannot recall)

TV CHANNELS: Mainly local channels. For foreign channels there were ESPN, MTV TVBS –Taiwan, Discovery Channel and Star Movies. Quite an even mixed of options.

The room had a Panasonic LED TV.

SAFEBOX: Cannot recall if there was one

BATHROBE: N.A.

HAIRDRYER: May borrow from receptionist

BREAKFAST BUFFET: N.A.

RESTURANT: N.A.

ROOM SERVICE: Didn’t try

MASSAGE: N.A.

SWIMMING POOL: N.A.

LOCATION: I would cover abit more on the vicinity, for fellow travelers to move around. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel was located within “Car City”, with many small shophouses providing car washes or repairs services. On top of that, there were other hotels like RIA hotel, JSL hotel and (at least) 3 other small hotels around Room Boutique Hotel.

Overall the area was definitely not a place to do retail shopping. However some reviews inaccurately stated that there was no shop selling essential items or eateries nearby the hotel. In fact there was a provision shop opposite the hotel.

Taken in context, no “Car City” stood alone. Its supported by a town surrounding it. Just 400 meters away from the hotel, there was an open air food court called M Zone Garden. If one were to venture around during daytime (where it was safer), within a 600m radius around the hotel, one would find quite a number of local Chinese dishes and some Malay food stores to experiment. One could also find other local marts and a Giant store nearby.

To orientate myself around the town, I used the Petronas petrol kiosk area as the anchor. It 1 street away from the hotel. Nearby Petronas, there was the BHP petrol station and a JB specialist hospital (its right across the main road, opposite BHP petrol station). Together Petronas, BHP and JB specialist hospital together, it would form a linear line.

7-11 was located along the stretch of shops opposite BHP petrol station and Petronas kiosk. On the other hand, near the BHP petrol station, there was a 1Malaysia store, selling essential items at a local price.

I hoped the above points somehow help fellow travelers navigate around the town, as it could be alittle challenging with no major landmarks to bookmark the navigation.


CONCLUSION: It was a good no-frill hotel. The room was creatively decorated with a lot of fellow travelers having complimented on that. For the space of a boutique hotel room, the layout was nicely arranged such that it was spacious to walk around the room. Only possible drawbacks for the room were the noisier air vent and if it could be better sound proof.

With the hotel being situated in a car city, it assured a quiet and peaceful place to rest, though there was a lack of shopping option. There were plenty of local foods for one to experiment on too.

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay. For a reasonably price nice boutique hotel, I would give it a 4 out of 5 stars and would return to stay.

Room Tip: There are definitely provision shops and local marts around the hotel. Its not a cave located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanjung Pinang, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is My first trip to JB and decide to stay at This hotel. Hotel was Have unique design and Veny clean, staff was very friendly and helpful, will recommended to My friend to stay there and definetely Will back stay there soon

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I should have read the reviews thoroughly before booking...anyhow, this is a nice, clean and small hotel.
Checking in and out was fast and hassle free...just remember to have cash in your pocket because they only accept cash for deposit. Not much deposit needed though, only RM50, refundable upon check out.
Did not expect the mini suite to be so mini, and there's no bed, table and chair in the room. Mattress is laid on a platform to make it look special.
Although the room information mentions hairdryer available in the room, it was only available upon request from the reception. The reception was kind enough to let my wife keep it until we check out.
Although the bathroom is small, it is well maintained and very clean. However, the tiles are slippery when wet because it is those smooth type. Gotta be extra careful especially when applying shower gel during shower. Toothbrush set was provided in the room, together with two towels and other toiletries.
This hotel is not disabled friendly. There's no lift up to the rooms. There is only three floors in this hotel. However, we were glad to walk up the stairs after some heavy dinner.
If you are a light sleeper, get prepared to hear noise of people closing their doors or the next door's tv running on. This means people outside could also hear you talking inside your room.
Not convenient if you do not drive because it is located a short distance from JB town. Food is available around the hotel.
Overall, it is a nice hotel with friendly staff, but I think it is more suitable for business travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. It is less noisy. But it might be smoking rooms on the top floor, so, might a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam Center, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is my second time stay here,the hotel is very nice and clean,the room design is unique,
everything is perfect for me as a solo traveler.
my next trip to JB I will stay in this hotel again.
I love this hotel's unique design..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rooms Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Boutique Hotel

Address: 41 Jalan Rosmerah 2/16, | Taman Johor Jaya,, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooms Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Johor Bahru, Rooms Boutique Hotel is a 2-minute walk from local dining options. It offers design rooms with a flat-screen TV, room service and free Wi-Fi access.Hotel Rooms Boutique is 100 metres from the nearest nightclub and a 5-minute drive from Jusco Tebrau and Tesco hypermarkets. It is a 10-minute drive from Danga Bay and a 20-minute drive from City Square.Air-conditioned rooms feature their own unique décor and designer furniture. Tea/coffee making facilities and free bottled water are provided. Private bathrooms come with a rainshower and hairdryer.The hotel provides an internet corner with complimentary internet access. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with fax/photocopying, laundry and luggage storage services. Ironing facilities are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Rooms Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.