We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for, plus more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel CIQ

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel CIQ to your Saves list
Hotel CIQ
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   54, Jalan Lumba Kuda, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Bezeq
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for, plus more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Straight up, the main drawback of CIQ Hotel is its location. It's on an old row of shophouses--an Indian and a Chinese coffeeshop, auto repair, provision shop, failed businesses. My taxi took an extra 15 minutes circling and enquiring to find the place. Eventually, I shepherded him in via my google map. It's not near anywhere that's air conditioned, and that means sweating buckets of bullets getting to a restaurant or shopping centre.For lemonade makers, it's a sauna and exercise thrown in. Nor is it very far from the seafood of Stulang Laut or the usual shopping areas once you come out of these parts.
Other downsides: no breakfast, rooms are not smoking segregated, and an RM100 cash deposit is required.
On the plus side, the price is unbeatable, a security guards sits by the front door, rooms are clean, room key's on an RF card, and Wifi's a riot (esp after moving over from a budget hotel with coverage in the lobby area only!).
The all-glass elevator panel's cool, and coupled with the unbeatable Wifi speeds, does compensate for this place's relatively remote location.

Room Tip: Bring a gas mask if the smell of tobacco bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
8
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Room isn't spacious.Food available nearby and the Chinese old shop serves cheap food. Coffee facilities. Free wifi. Noise at night. The sad thing is the staff isn't flexible. Cleanliness just ok. Would only stay here for a short getaway.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I would recommend this hotel because:
1. It is located right next to CIQ - for those plan to go Singapore, you can walk to CIQ.
2. It is 150m walk to Ah Yong beef noodle in Restoran Yong Mui & Tan Kee Cathay Laksa in Restoran Shang Ji - you won't be hungry.
3. It costed me RM92.09 (including taxes) for a night stay in Superior room - Use Maybank credit card and www.agoda.com/maybank for booking [7% discount]
4. It is same size as Tune Hotel's Double Room (11 sq m) yet cheaper - Tune Hotel would charge me RM104 for a night on same date.
5. The ratio of en-suite bathroom to room was very balanced - Bathroom was very spacious and clean; room had sufficient walking space.
6. Comfort level was 8/10 - Air conditioning was strong; bed was clean and no funky smell; heater, water kettle, towels, toiletries and wardrobe were provided; full body mirror was attached on the wall in the room.

Points for improvements (but no complaints):
1. Queen bed was slightly too small for tall people.
2. TV was slightly pixelated

Room Tip: Room without window is fine (e.g. 313)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Upon checking into the room the first time, we found pubic hair on the bed (from the previous guest?) which is unacceptable for any standard of housekeeping. We asked them to change the bed sheet but we will certainly not return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have only 2 gripes about this place. Firstly we were given a room with no windows. Secondly, its a bit small. We stayed on the second floor, so can't comment on any others. On the plus side it's spotlessly clean, cable tv, excellent wi-fi signal, has informative/friendly staff and it's under $30 a night. The location is fine for us as we have found some excellent eating houses in the neighbourhood. - best is ENY about 10 mins stroll (recomended by the staff). Unfortunately not having a window/natural light, is a dealbreaker for us and we moved after 2 days. If your a goth/vampire type on a budget then this place might be for you...

Room Tip: Don't go the cheap option as its probably got no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was hotel - looked nice on the internet - but was a big disappointment. I dont think there was anything about the hotel we liked ... Well it was clean and looked ok inside - otherwise we will not go back. Johor Bahru seems to be a nice city. Next we will stay another place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayd in CIQ for 3 nights in total, visiting Singapore on our way down to NZ. We have decided to stay in JB to save money a visit Singapore over the border. For our purpose the location of the hotel is great, within 10 minutes walk from the customs complex as well as the City Square shopping and town centre. The hotel is unpretentious but clean and quiet, once we asked the receptionist to turn off the radio in the corridor. The rooms are small and simple, fine for the sleep over. Overall, the CIQ delivered what we expected, so no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel CIQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CIQ

Address: 54, Jalan Lumba Kuda, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel CIQ 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel CIQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel CIQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.