We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Unit 7, 8 & 9, Block 7, Danga Bay, Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Check in just for a night's stay last week.
Overall surprised with this hotel.
Check-in was super smooth. Friendly reception staff.
Lobby - very basic and spacious. Had 2 computer for free usage and few sofas to sit while waiting.
Room 215 (Superior) - 2nd floor. No lift but its ok...nice red carpet.
Room was good...everything is there except for mini fridge and wardrobe. Very minimalist concept and loved every each of the room.
The flat screen tv, nice comfy beds, 2 pillows, rain shower...all are in good condition.

no window but its ok.
will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited Zoom Inn for the 2nd time and it's still a hidden gem in Danga Bay. Ignore the terrible surrounds that is Danga Bay, the hotel itself is fantastic value for money. We paid MYR140 for a family room that came with a King and single bed, rain shower with good water pressure and comfortable mattresses.

The family rooms are windowless though so there's a bit of a musky smell upon entering the room but once you switch on the exhaust fan, the smell quickly dissipates.

WIFI is free but hit and miss at times. Just make sure you connect to the right hotspot (there are several hotspots throughout the hotel).

It's a toll-free highway to Puteri Harbour and Legoland so if you're in JB for the theme parks (there really is nothing else to do in JB anyway), I highly recommend Zoom Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I choosed this hotel due to its unique design in every room with reasonable price. But the hotel has no elevator so i had difficulties to bring up my luggages n at the second day, the light was switch off from 6 pm to 11 pm for all danga bay area. It was not convinience for me n my family. For location, since this was my first time to malay, I did not know exactly what danga bay is looked like, is it in the middle of city or not, totally blanked. I tought it was like singapore, which transportation is easy to reach, so the location became number 2, after the room. In fact, danga bay has no bus station, so we should use taxi to go anywhere. It cost me a lot only for transportation. Second, there was no mall surrounding danga bay. Tropicana mall is under construction, n pictures in internet about danga bay iare for future condition. If I visit JB again, i will not choose this hotel. Tx.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Although the hotel is small with few amenities, the room was simply amazing. Each room has a different design/layout and a quote on the wall. There is a 7-Eleven at another hotel nearby, and you can have French or seafood dinner, visit the mini amusement park at Donga Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilai, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Points to ponder when considering staying at a hotel is the cleanliness of the room n the bathroom.Thumbs up for zoom inn.I would say the rooms are clean and the decor is simple,yet tastefully done.The bathroom too is to my satisfaction.I also like the fact that it is nearby to restaurants n to a sundry shop.worth every penny paid!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, good shower and tv. Paid £20 for one night in double room.

The hotel is apparently smoke free, but the room really smelt of cigarettes.

The staff are helpful, although we did email ahead of our visit regarding public transport links and had no response. From the bus stations it would appear taxis are a necessity.

Location is Danga Bay- seems a bit of an ongoing development at present. There are places to eat around though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Came down to JB with a grilfriend to hit the JPO and Legoland. Wanted a cheap yet clean place to put up a night...located somewhere between the two places we wanted to go and close to civilisation. We could not have picked a better place.

Pros: clean room and toilet, huge toilet space (and nice toilet interior design) in comparison with the small room size, bright and cheerfully painted walls, cozy pleasant and friendly staff, and room charge is very easy on the pocket.

Cons: 28 rooms only (must book ahead...walk ins not advised), room I had was without windows (but view around not great anyway)...erm...can't think of any other cons as I was very happy with what we got (expected so much worse for what I had paid). Oh, one thing, the toilet door and wall is entirely glass with some frosted bits intended for privacy...so get a single room if you don't feel comfortable to share the room and toilet with anyone else. Am attaching a photo of the toilet with this review.

Highly recommended for a good night's rest at a very affordable price which by the way I got through Agoda.com.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: Unit 7, 8 & 9, Block 7, Danga Bay, Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Designer Hotel For Everyone" - That is our philosophy and concept. Stylish, affordable, clean, secure and friendly hotel that is easily accessible by car. Our 28 uniquely designed rooms come with complimentary WIFI internet connection, hot and cold rain shower, in-house convenient store, business facilities (internet stations - complimentary usage, faxing, photocopying and etc.), secure room key card system, daily housekeeping, complimentary bottle water and coffee/tea, 5 Star hotel standard King Koil mattresses and in-room LCD TV with satellite channels. Our close proximitiy to Danga Bay beach front marina centre, upcoming Iskandar City Development(where Legoland is located), Causeway Link Bus Station, Larkin Sentral Bus Station, Johor Bahru city centre, highway to Kuala Lumpur and Woodlands Interchange (to Singapore) make it a convenient location to be. Car park area is free and safe as we are located a few doors away from a police station. Our staffs are trained to guide you to various dining/entertainment hotspots and tourist attraction that Johor Bahru and Malaysia can offer. Pick us for the sheer business convenience and peace of mind "home away from home" experience where impeccable service, beautiful beaches, comfortable yet stylishly designed rooms and classy restaurants await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.