We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Unit 7, 8 & 9, Block 7, Danga Bay, Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My stay in this hotel was good. The hotel was clean and neat. The friendliness of the staff differed a lot. I couldn't notice a smile at all and their bored faces didn't enhanced the friendly environment, except for one friendly women wearing a black head scarf. She provided excellent service and made sure I recieved everything I needed.

Good value for money. Safe area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here while on a weekend trip to Universal Studios Singapore, as it's much cheaper to stay in Johor Bahru, especially if you don't mind the travelling.

Since we're staying for the weekend, the price of one night (Saturday night) was RM97, while on a weekday night it's RM88. Which is reasonable enough in my opinion. They allow check-in at midnight and the check in was smooth. The climb to the second floor was a bit of a pain if you're not fit enough though.

Room-wise, it's actually very pleasant. My friend and I got a standard room, which I think was actually for someone traveling solo or as a couple (lol). The room was small and there's barely space for us both to move simultaneously. But the drawing on the wall was cool and the queen-size bed was very comfortable.

As for the bathroom, it really depends on one's POV. I like how it is modern and different from the normal hotel rooms, with it's sliding doors and all. But the sliding door is divided for both the bathroom and the toilet, so if you're taking a leak and your friend is in the shower, one of you might have to do it without the door. And the toilet is very close to the bed (tiny space, remember) so whoever got that side of the bed (in this case, my friend) will wake up to the lovely view of the toilet bowl.

All in all, it wasn't a bad stay. If you're not a fussy traveller, this hotel is good enough for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's a boutique hotel with a minimalist concept, and you get what you pay for. Personally I didn't mind it as the place was relatively clean, big shower stall and modern furnishings.

The superior room; good for smaller-build individuals as the place is quite small and there isn't much space for large bags and many things.

Location: just a short drive from Danga Bay, a place with a few restaurants overlooking the water. The entire town itself is unremarkable, as I would not have went there if it wasn't to visit Legoland.

The only thing that I really didn't like was the smell of cigarettes in the corridors, the hotel and even in the room when the hotel itself is a non-smoking hotel.

Sometimes the price tag can serve as an indicator of expectations.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms if you have two bags or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Get a superior room with just RM 101 per night. Check in is fast, they do take RM 50 as deposit. My room is at second floor. No lift provide. Bed is nice, complimentary wifi is really good. A modern bathroom design with sliding glass door. Hot water is great. The hotel provide complimentary coffee and tea sachet in the room. LCD TV and AC good enough. However my room got no window.

Few nice restaurant nearby. One of it is Restoran Singgah Selalu, but you need to cross the highway in front hotel area, just wait about 1 minute, then the road will clear for you to cross. We have a really good dinner with live band in this restaurant (11 pm at that time).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is my regular hotel whenever i come to JB. It is strategically located at Danga Bay which is just a few minutes drive to JB town. It's clean and new ! Love the pillow, bed, rain shower and the fun interior design ! Friendly staff ! FREE WIFI !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

staffs were very courteous, friendly and knowledgable. price is very reasonable and rooms are comfortable with modern designs. we didn't have problems in finding places to dine nearby. the good point also it is located just next to police station. no safety issues :). definitely coming back to this boutique hotel in future!

Mr. Kevin & all staffs..you guys really did a good job!


Mrs. Gene Tan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My band - the Two Hats Gang - were put up at Danga Bay's Zoom Inn boutique hotel when we performed at Bar Lazio, last week. The hotel is really good, the rooms very comfortable, small but when all you need is a hot shower and comfortable, this is a great place. The service by Zainab Idris and her team is very warm. They are all out to please you and very helpful at giving direction and even a short ride into town. We also checked out the executive suite (they have four units) and found quite good for parents and a kid. There is a bus service just around the corner for anyone who to visit Singapore's Universal Studios and Sentosa Island. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel

Address: Unit 7, 8 & 9, Block 7, Danga Bay, Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Designer Hotel For Everyone" - That is our philosophy and concept. Stylish, affordable, clean, secure and friendly hotel that is easily accessible by car. Our 28 uniquely designed rooms come with complimentary WIFI internet connection, hot and cold rain shower, in-house convenient store, business facilities (internet stations - complimentary usage, faxing, photocopying and etc.), secure room key card system, daily housekeeping, complimentary bottle water and coffee/tea, 5 Star hotel standard King Koil mattresses and in-room LCD TV with satellite channels. Our close proximitiy to Danga Bay beach front marina centre, upcoming Iskandar City Development(where Legoland is located), Causeway Link Bus Station, Larkin Sentral Bus Station, Johor Bahru city centre, highway to Kuala Lumpur and Woodlands Interchange (to Singapore) make it a convenient location to be. Car park area is free and safe as we are located a few doors away from a police station. Our staffs are trained to guide you to various dining/entertainment hotspots and tourist attraction that Johor Bahru and Malaysia can offer. Pick us for the sheer business convenience and peace of mind "home away from home" experience where impeccable service, beautiful beaches, comfortable yet stylishly designed rooms and classy restaurants await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoom Inn Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.