We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Room 22m2, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Jalan Station, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
singapore
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Club Room 22m2, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Pros:
Staff friendly
Good Location
Club lounge @ 11st floor, unlimited drinks
Breakfast not bad, wedges, baked beans, fruits etc
Club Room at level 8 to 10 (22m2)
Hair dryer, refrigerator
Wifi sometimes fast, sometimes slow
Breakfast early, 6.30 - 10.30am

Cons:
Lift slow, 2 min to get to level 10
Lift very small, around 1.5m x 1m (Max can only have 3 ppl inside)
Rooms wall looks dirty
Water heater pressure very weak

Room Tip: Club room with club facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJF73, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear dede 1217,

Thank you for your feedback which we have received through Trip Advisor and your positive feedback on the Club lounge and F&B and we will take note on the other related issues with immediate effect as for the Lifts we have already done the services but we do need to maintain the speed as per our Lift contractor service provider.

We hope to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve you better.
Once again thank you for your continued support

Yours sincerely
Stieve Aron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    206
    165
    71
    41
See reviews for
168
122
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel near city square shopping complex and jb central. however there is no parking space available for hotel guest but luckily we manage to park near the hotel as at night there are not many cars. The rate for family room is quite expensive if you compare with the other standard room. Overall the hotel is very comfortable and good location to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJF73, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear kasfalela m,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We acknowledge your concern regarding the Parking Facilities, as the Hotel is built without these facility as such we can only consult or rather try to get the private parking’s areas nearby to facilitate for the guest parking woes which has been done since we have opened and it is also highlighted in the web site under “Car Park Map”.

For all your value feedback, we noted for our improvements in assisting in more varied ways to assist our guest.

We surely would like to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve you better. Please do not hesitate to call me on your next planned trip.

Yours Sincerely
Stieve Aron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The good point about this hotel is its location. It is walking distance to JB sentral and JB City Square and lots restaurants open 24 hours.

Like its sister hotel in KL the Citin Hotel Pudu, this is a small property. The lobby is small but clean, the reception staff is accomodating.

i had high expectations since i booked the more expensive club room. Its a very simple room with 2 single beds and window seat. The Tv remote was not working and despite repeated follow upa nobody came to replace the battery even after we left.


The most disappointing part of my stay is the Club Lounge. Like in other club rooms i stayed in, it promised refreshments and snacks. However, when we went there all they had was 1 dilapidated piece of MINI sandwich. The staff manning the lounge refused to request for refill even if there was still 1hour before closing time. All they had for drinks was a measly selection of bottled water, soda water and tonic water.

We didnt return again as we dont like the feeling of having to beg for food and drinks which we paid for anyway.

Should i go to JB again i would not stay here again as there are other hotels which can give better value for my money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJF73, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Wenggaye a,

Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay. We always welcome to all of our customer to our hotel with a Malaysian warm welcome hospitality service.

Thank you and appreciate for bringing the issues to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies’ for the issues; we will make sure that on your next stay which we would sincerely make your stay a memorable one.

Yours Sincerely
Stieve Aron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Location wise is not a problem to stay here because it is just a few metres away from the Johor Immigration check point to go to Singapore, the train station, the shopping mall City Square and the famous Johor night bazaar, Pasar Karat.

Sadly, Citrus Hotel did not provides guest parking facility. There are a few options to park your car which are very very pricey! The hotel have a deal with the carpark operaters to provide the hotel guests parking facility!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJF73, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear DeVass,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us. We acknowledge your concern regarding the Parking Facilities, as the Hotel is built without these facility as such we can only consult or rather try to get the private parking’s areas nearby to facilitate for the guest parking woes which has been done since we have opened and it is also highlighted in the web site under “Car Park Map”.

For all your value feedback, we noted for our improvements in assisting in more varied ways to assist our guest.

We surely would like to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve you better. Please do not hesitate to call me on your next planned trip.

Yours Sincerely
Stieve Aron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Good location, stone's throw away from City Square Mall, JB Sentral, best fish head curry in town 'Kam Loong Restaurant' and Pasar Malam. The staff were courteous & helpful and smooth check-in for a group of 24 pax expecially their manager Mr. Stieve and Ms Mahani (Front Desk & Housekeeping & F&B Team). Thank you. One more reason to stay at this hotel 'they employ disabilities people'. Unfortunately only 1 extra pillow allowed for each room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJF73, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear zuhaKK

We were delighted to read that you and the Group enjoyed the overall stay with us and wish to thank you for gracious comments’ about our Hotel / services and facilities (except for the “Pillow” unfortunately we ran short of this and will ensure that it will not re-occur) particularly to our Management and staffs as receiving feedback from guest like yourself inspires us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and the group back to Citrus Hotel JB. Please do not hesitate to call me on your next plan trip.

Yours Sincerely
Stieve Aron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I visited this hotel last saturday. stayed here for just one day. I thought this hotel's location very good because near by JB central also near Johor bahru check point. And convenient shopping and transport. My room was big, clean, comfortable, can use WIFI but not have many TV channel, a little bit noisy because maybe soundproof is weak. And staffs were very kindly and helpful. Breakfast was not bad. It was simple. But salad vegetables are very big need to cutting. In conclusion, Citrus hotel was good. Not bad.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJF73, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear 나경 유

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable time giving us feedback following your recent stay with us. Your kind compliments of our staffs | Products will be shared. Your comments will be immediately taken for further improvements and rest ensured that it will be taken up with our Chef.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope the next visit to Johor will include us for that we will have a chance to welcome you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Stieve Aron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Last weekend stay at Citrus hotel johor bahru club room. The room size is big & clean but no fridge inside the club room. Only things i need to mention is their breakfast. Breakfast times start from 06:30a.m reach there about 06:45a.m the staff told me food had not been prepared yet. I just take fruits & cereal for my breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJF73, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear miracleboi,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us through Trip Advisor.
We acknowledge your comments’ with regards to Breakfast schedule time and we sincerely apologize for the incident which is a one off situation and we will address this issue with the staffs’ concern and will ensure that it would not happen again.

We hope to be able to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve you better.

Please do not hesitate to call me on your next planned visit

Yours Sincerely
Stieve Aron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: 16 Jalan Station, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru is a newly renovated JB hotel located at the heart of Johor Bahru’s Central Business District. This centrally located hotel is across the road from City Square Shopping Center, and within easy reach of the CIQ (Customs Immigration Quarantine) Complex as well as Singapore bound and local taxi stands.Citrus JB consists of 125 stylishly designed rooms equipped with modern conveniences that include wireless Internet connection, 32” LCD flat screen TV with cable and more. Citrus Hotel JB offers not only the utmost comfort to guests but also facilities and services such as a café, a club lounge, function room, wireless Internet connection throughout the hotel and much more to support the requirements of both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrus Hotel Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.