We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JSL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel JSL to your Saves list
Hotel JSL
93 Jalan Ros Merah 2/16 | Taman Johor Jaya, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 Johor Bahru B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location is away from the more popular KSL / Taman Sentosa area. My boyfriend and I enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and smooth traffic. We stayed in the executive motel suite. Although it's a motel, it isn't dodgy at all. In fact, we love about the place is to have our own garage, right at the doorstep!! Car is safe and we can grab anything anytime we want! Just open the door you see your car. There is free wifi too. The room is clean and toilet comes with bath tub. There's no safe box though. It will be great if the room is slightly more spacious, especially the walkway from garage door to toilet. Since it is slightly away from the bustling area, looking for food or massage will require a short drive. The staff is friendly and agreed to extend checkout hours. A simple, clean budget venue to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lovely and spacious room, it feels just like home.
Quality spring mattress and comes with four pillows (two standard, two big) for the queen sized bed. A good sized 32'' LCD as well as a responsive aircondition.
Wireless available free of charge and so is the parking in front of the hotel, there is a security guard 24/7 too.
Breakfast is provided at the nice rooftop garden, but it's ok to give it a miss because there is no variety, in fact only one fixed menu each day and the food is not nice at all. There are plenty of eateries around the hotel, or you can opt for a few minutes ride up to Taman Molek for more dining options.
Service staffs are great and quick to response throughout my numerous times of check-ins.
Another plus point is that it allows late check-out up to 2pm.
For RM88 (Executive Standard), the price is unbeatable and its fantastic for a weekend staycation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

simple breakfast. Nicely furnished, clean and comfy.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Gudang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our 2nd trip also came without any delay during check in. This time around our 1st trip housekeeping lady was there with open arms helping us with the luggage. The room was a little bit different, but the hot water seems to be a little bit slow after each usage, intermittent supply. Other then that no problem

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

When I was planning for a weekend trip to Johor Bahru, I stumbled upon the brand new JSL Hotel. For the budget price, they certainly offer you value-for-money with their exquisite interior decor and furnishing. Even from the outside, the hotel really looks welcoming and it gives you the impression that it is a boutique hotel rather than a budget hotel.

I stayed at the Superior Standard, which was windowless, and was surprised to see how comfortably clean it is. The room may be small but definitely sufficient for short trips. It has a large 32" wall mounted TV, complimentary mineral water, a kettle for the complimentary coffee and complimentary WiFi.

The bathroom is sufficiently large enough for you to move around (unlike most budget hotels). It has clean towels, both liquid and bar shower soap, toothbrush with toothpaste and shower cap.

The complimentary buffet breakfast is served at the Garden Rooftop Café. Although the breakfast spread is basic with small choices, it will definitely whet your appetite and fill you up nicely.

As it is right now, I would say that the JSL Hotel in Johor Bahru will be my #1 option and am already making plans to make another visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JSL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JSL

Address: 93 Jalan Ros Merah 2/16 | Taman Johor Jaya, Johor Bahru 81100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel JSL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JSL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.