We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just careless service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hive

The Hive
Jalan Sungai Chat | The Thistle Hotel, Johor Bahru 80100, Malaysia
+60 7-222 9234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 468 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: After a hard day's work, there's nothing like rolling up those sleeves and loosening your tie. The Hive at Thistle Johor Bahru truly is a place to unwind. Be entertained by our live band and nibble on complimentary tidbits while the fun keeps flowing all night long.
sarang
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just careless service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went with my key personnel, ordered a bottle of whisky, was served a bucket of ice with a buffet ladel/spoon for Ice. The Management staff sat with me and I told her, then she informed the staff to bring a ice tong, they changed it to a buffet tong, imagine how huge that tong was. Its about service training and service standards that werent there. Lately I attended New Years Eve dinner, was not ushered, no greetings and was not given any party packs etc when it was almost midnight, other guest had them while entering the poutlet or was given when sitted, seems like the service standards does have an issue. The band was horrible, would expect a good grade band for a 5 star hotel as the band is a facility of the outlet even if the outlet is struggling to make profits, but the Pub is a supporting facility of the hotel. They could just get a good quality 3 piece band and that would have helped this outlet, having a 5 piece cheap performance will not bring back regulars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nice food and baverage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

great live music, nice food, cheaper than other restaurant in the hotel

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good & Relax............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The Cake Is Nice & Delicious. Anyone Should Try On That.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A bland attempt at Western Cuisine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Had one meal here while staying at the Thistle.

Service was average, but the food quality was poor. Small side salad had wilted/rusty lettuce. My chicken sandwich was bland and not a good deal for the price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A Great Opportunity, Missed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Johor Bahru has a lot of good places to eat, but not that many where you can go for some Steak or Ribs so when my friends told me about The Hive at the Thistle Hotel I was very excited.
It has a high opinion of itself based upon it's prices which are way above that of the Local TGI Fridays, If you are going to charge that money you better serve decent food and provide special service.
Sadly, the food and service is below par and conversation is impossible as some god awful band is playing.
We won't be going back. If you want Steak in JB try Gianni's or TGI Fridays.
Maybe there is a reason that this is the only review of The Hive.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hive also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to The Hive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.