We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cozy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Danga Bay

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Danga Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel Danga Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot PTB22819 | Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 20% ON ROOM RATES!
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Medan, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small and cozy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Tune Hotel Danga Bay. We booked the twin room included the 24 hour air con and TV plus wifi. The hotel will deducted the air-con hour when we used it, if we don't then the credit will remain. However, for the wifi and TV, once they are activated, you couldn't stop them anymore.

There is an Odyssey Travel agent just next to the hotel. It provided the shuttle bus to Legoland and PlayTime (Hello Kitty Puteri Harbour). You won't be able to boil water in the room as there's no kettle. However, you could go down to the lobby to get some hot or cold water. Beside that, there was a 7-11 convenient store next to the hotel too.

The hotel is located in a very quite neighborhood. However, down the hotel, there is a restaurant "Breakfast at 7" that provided quite a good meal that is opened from 8 am to 10 pm.
The restaurant is located at the 2nd floor.

We took a cab to Larkin Bus station and it costs us about RM12.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    262
    94
    19
    15
See reviews for
231
103
40
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is my first time stay in Danga Bay Tune Hotel in July 2014.
I actually was searched through some web site and also the JB TALK web before I book this hotel.
Compare the price to other hotel, I strongly believe the price can meet your requirement.
Because there are very difficult to get RM50 double bed room budget hotel in JB nowadays
I ever stay in some budget hotels in JB and always facing toilet not clean and shower not strong issue.
Tune hotel was totally solve both issues for the customer
I only can say “Tune Hotel service creates value & the professional win the trust”.

Room Tip: Room on the highest floor Level 6 is best for the customer to have less noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to meet your expectations perfectly.

Thank you very much for this review and for tuning in.

See you again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

good place to stay for budget traveller but not for family or business liesure because room are small.one thing i dont like was the wifi and aircondition chargeable you have to put deposit for the bathtowel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Please note that we no longer collect deposits for towels. However, we charge for air conditioning and wifi since we operate on a limited service model. Our primary focus is on providing the basics. We provide clean rooms,a secured environment, and we are conveniently located.

We have quad rooms available for families. It is a double and a twin room connected, suitable for four adults and two children below the age of five.

Our location is a big plus to many budget travelers. Due to it's close proximity to Legoland,Hello Kitty town and merely 10 minutes drive to the city center, we are strategically located.

Our room rates are affordable, we are clean and secured. Guests can save indoors and explore the places of interest all close by.

So we hope you take advantage of this and see you again.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My stay at Danga Bay Tune Hotel was marvelous. Their rooms are super clean, service is impeccable and the price was a dream come true. The restaurant on the 2nd floor serves delicious food and the price is very cheap. The room service guys are professional and did a great job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stay in this hotel with my family during our trip to Johor Bahru. We stay there for 2 nights and we are happy about the hotel.
the bed is really comfortable and clean linens, the hot water in the shower is just perfect.
The room is quiet small and looks like a bit far to the city.
we stay here because it has a shuttle bus to legoland and the shuttle is always on time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked Quad-connecting room (3 adult 1toddler) via their website for 1night stay for visit of HelloKitty Town/Little Big place

Great :
Courteos reception guy - Haziq. All smiles and helpful.
Parking is within hotel compound (although there is reports of car broken in despite in the compound)
Checkin was a breeze, Haziq did a good job.

Not so great (where all the nightmare started)
- Connecting rooms can only be opened from one room. Had to went up and down 3-4 times only they realized the 2nd room is locked from inside. They had to bring a master keycard to unlock before can be unlocked by normal card.
- Rooms had just enough walking space around the bed.
- Bed is a queen size bed. Lucky we booked a Quadroom (connecting).
- Hangers are broken with nails sticking out. Had to bend them ourself for safety.
- Bathroom door can't be locked , not good when you have a toddler around.
- Skip the tv. Not worth it.
- Safebox was not working. Had to go down and get new batteries from the reception.

Bad
- In one of the bathroom, the drain is clogged and water flowed out very very slow when you take your shower.
- Called the maintenance guy, he said he will need to vacuum out whatever that is clogged. It was 9pm. It will be noisy and will have a bit of smell that could stay in the room overnight. No thanks, we'll use the other room's bathroom.
- Bathroom is dirty. See attached picture of dirt after rubbing the shower wall with a tissue.
- Room was not cleaned properly. Signs of spilled coffee on the sides.
- Bed mattress is below average
- Pillow is super soft

Tips
Book other budget hotels that is a cheap as tune hotels. Only good for backpackers crashing.

When your stay is completed, you will receive email to provide feedback. Gave them below average feedback and was given a special discount 10% for the next Tune Hotel booking within next 1 month.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Danga Bay, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for the unpleasant experience you have recently encountered during your recent stay.

We note some positive points you have highlighted and with regards to the negatives, please e-mail me at sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com with details of your stay. I will check this with the housekeeping team for clarifications.

Nonetheless, we regret the unpleasantness marrying your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

It is a good value if you just need a hotel to sleep and bath. Bed is only Queen size so if your body is quite big then go for twin room. The room can fit 2 adult and 1 very small child (below 5) OR 1 adult and 2 bigger children (max 12). If you drive your own car (from other part of Malaysia or Singapore) then it is very good location. If you are overseas tourist then the location is a bit minus side as it is not easy to go to CIQ from hotel by bus. It is good base if you want to go to Legoland as the very competitive ticket price also include return transfer. Breakfast at nearby Toast and Toast is quite nice. Have selection of western and chinese breakfast, it also available for lunch and dinner. There are few other restaurants in the nearby shophouse complex as well, like sekinchan ikan bakar, and Breakfast @ 7 which also has decent choice of international (foodcourt type) food. Also there is coffeshop that provide Indonesian food like Soto Bandung, etc. There are 2 indian restaurant, 1 @ tune hotel itself and the other is below Breakfast @ 7. Across the highway there is Singgah Selalu restaurant but the food taste is not far superior than the previously mention restaurant. If you got car then it is worth while to go to Singgah Selalu, but if you have to take taxi then don't bother, the cost of return taxi fare is not worth the improvement of taste from those restaurants in nearby shophouse complex. You can also try to cross the highway road by foot if you got insurance and run quite fast. I did manage to cross it, so it is doable. There is also very big chinese restaurant across the road of the other side of highway but got no time to try. The problem getting there is the same with Singgah Selalu restaurant, you need to cross the highway.

Room Tip: Any high level room should be OK. A/C is based on use and I manage to use only 24hr credit for my 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tune Hotel Danga Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Danga Bay

Address: Lot PTB22819 | Jalan Skudai, Johor Bahru 80200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Danga Bay 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tune Hotel Danga Bay is perfectly positioned for guests and their families looking to visit the Legoland Theme Park, Pinewood Studios, and other attractions in Medini, Iskandar. In addition we operate shuttle buses into Singapore and the major attractions of Universal Studios and Resorts World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tune Hotel Danga Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com-Danga Bay Hotel Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Danga Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;