We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic Hainanese Family Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IT Roo Cafe

IT Roo Cafe
Jalan Dhoby, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 472 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Best Chicken Chop in JB
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Hainanese Family Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

It's like taking a step back in time. The decor, the style and even the way the food was served and plated does bring back memories... late 70s, early 80s.

Had a nice fried chicken chop that was well done.

Will surely return for more the next time I visit Johor Bahru.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    20
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fried not grilled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Must try the fried chicken chop which is the real deal. The grilled version is simply not good with disappointing sauce.
Love the home made potato wedges.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Local food with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It Roo Cafe is famous for their Chicken chop and other local dishes such as fried rice, fried noodles and etc. they sell typical drinks in Johor such as Sirap Bandung (Ros syrup with evaporated milk). This is where travelers can find local taste but at the same time enjoying the fast and efficient service.

The restaurant is snuggled in between old classic building at Jalan Dhoby opposite the famous old Indian bakery that sells Huge Curry puff for RM1 and traditional fresh loaf of bread.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious chicken chop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Always try their chicken chop, reminded me on my mum's cook when young.

Can't miss, even their Hainanese dishes - fried rice, hailam noodles.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Much hype about nothing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Heard much about this place, especially reviews that claim it has the best Hainanese chicken chop in J.B. We had very high expectations, especially since it was recommended by this site.

We ordered a grilled chicken chop and it was ok. Just ok. I understand that the potatoes and coleslaw weren't supposed to be fantastic, because they merely accompany the main course. But the chicken chop was quite a letdown. The meat was tender and fresh, but the sauce wasn't anything special. Slightly runny, although it's presumably homemade at least. This severely affected our dining experience, because the mushroom sauce did not complement the grilled chicken as it should have. We finished the meal feeling strangely thirsty, and the barely passable root beer float did not exactly amend the situation.

Also, do take note of the service staff who weren't too friendly during our visit-- perhaps an allusion to the substandard quality of the food there. I sincerely hope we were just unlucky.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IT Roo Cafe also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to IT Roo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IT Roo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.