We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Paragon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grand Paragon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Paragon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 76 hotels in Johor Bahru
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Family unit which comes with a living room and kitchenette, two bath tubs and 3 TVs. With a buffet breakfast, the price was very reasonable. It is a short drive from the Link 1 causeway, a short walk to KSL city mall, and a 30 min drive to Hello Kitty Town and Legoland. The only thing I didn't like about it was that all Family units were smoking rooms, and it was quite smoky when we checked in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    87
    77
    19
    8
See reviews for
50
42
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nites with famiy of 3 adults & 1child.Though the hotel is not a new hotel. Check in & out was very breeze. Ask for extra pillow & bathrobe came in less than 5 mins. Wifi in the room is unlimited users which is very advantage as we have smartphones & Ipods. 2 super singles beds can fit all of us. The beds is just slightly smaller than queen size. Breakfast was not that bad.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Pretty much an average hotel. Booked for a deluxe room for one night and it wasn't any disappointment nor anything wow for that reason. Walking distance to KSL Mall and breakfast is excellent. Might stay here again for short getaways in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel Room : Our room is Deluxe Room, big room and nice view from 21st floor, also can see the sea view from a part. Comfortable bed and pillow. Clean bathroom with bathtub...

Staff : Friendly

Breakfast : International buffet breakfast, taste was nice, we like this hotel breakfast

Location : Good location, walked about 10-15 minutes can reach KSL Shopping Mall (the road you walked to the shopping mall is main road, so quite safe, we walked at night time also)
And also 5-10 minutes can reach the Pelangi Plaza, but we never go there.
Behind of hotel is a hawker center which got many foods and price are reasonable, just need to take you about 3-5 minutes only

Room Tip: Request for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I chose this hotel based on TA reviews and some research on my own for a short trip for a group of 7 friends. Reservation was easy via their online system and email responses came quickly as well.

PRICE - We paid 2 x Family Suites (each equipped with 2 bedrooms) and paid MYR630nett for each suite including breakfast for 4pax each which was not too bad a deal.

CHECKING IN - We arrived on a Sat morning 9am and obviously we were early so we came back late afternoon about 4pm (usual check in time is 3pm) and received the keys to our rooms. There were adequate staffing at the check in counters to assist guests though.

ROOMS - We were assigned 1304 and 1307. The rooms were very spacious and each bedroom in each suite was too - so much so it felt that there were a lot of wasted space in the rooms. Amenities were average though. Room 1304 was a corridor room and the layout was usual with the living room in the middle and the 2 bedrooms to the left and right. Room 1307 was a corner room so it had a more awkward layout with a smaller living room and then the rooms to each side of it. The bedrooms had 1 king and 2 double beds in each - the double beds can in fact sleep 2 comfortably - and each bedrooms has its own washroom, Each suite is also allowed to put in a max of 2 extra rooms although the space would have allowed for many more. The cleanliness in 1307 can be better though, with stained linens (which I didnt bother to seek a replacement for since its only for 1 night) and dusty couches.

FACILITIES - Apparently the hotel has it own spa on level 5 which is reasonably priced. Also a pooi, gym and your usual offerings.

RESTAURANTS - I only had breakfast at the Para Para restaurant (ground floor) hotel which was alright. I could see that they try to do well on the variety but nothing was excellent in terms of quality. The place was also quite bustling when we were there.

CHECK OUT - Check out was quick since our bill was quite simple and we paid in cash. They also tore the credit card deposit on the spot in my presence which was good.

SERVICE - Service in general was nothing to complain about since we didnt spend a lot of time in the hotel itself. A call for a wine opener was quickly answered to which was a plus point.

LOCATION - The nearest mall is KSL which was big and offered many options for a 2d1n trip but the walk from the hotel to the mall takes about 10-15mins at leisure pace. The route is also extremely un-sheltered so be prepared to brave the elements (heat / rain) if you are unlucky.

Although nothing memorable, this must already be one of the better hotels in JB. I will definitely stay here again but I will probably request for 1304 again or any room along the corridor as I feel housekeeping pays more attention to those than the corner ones.

Room Tip: Pick a corridor room maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Expected a lousy hotel because the location and looks of this building from the outside just isn't that good. However, the room interior surprised me. I was on the 20th storey, and my room is a corner, big one. Facilities is complete, with football channel, good free wi-fi, excellent unblocked view, iron, safety deposit box, hangers, kettle, coffee and tea, bedroom slippers, toothbrush and toothpaste, and the standard shower and hair gel. I couldn't ask for more. Bed is soft and comfy. Room is spacious. Bathroom is extremely big, with two shower areas, and working showers. Enjoyed the bathtub.

My only gripe is the service. Not that it is bad, but I think it can be better - faster, and more responsive. The people at the cafe did not give me fork and spoon when I takeaway a cheesecake, until I asked for it. Concierge is okay, but could be a little more efficient.

I also counted the shop service under service component. My husband and I went to do massage at their in-hotel shop. It isn't very good, so might as well skip that. It is expensive too.

I like that they helped me call a cab to City Square pretty fast.

Location can be hard to find if you're going on your own. But I went with a bus, so no problem. The hotel is very near to City Square/Causeway, so cab is only S$3-S$4.

Breakfast cafe is large, and has a reasonable spread. But would be better if they serve more real food instead of flour.

Other than that, I think this hotel is a great venue for business, and people who want a proper gym and pool.

Room Tip: Corner suite with double bed and bathtub is large, bright, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the 23rd floor room, which is very spacious. It has a partitioned wall to separate the living area and the bedroom. Good to conduct discussions as you then save on not having to rent a meeting room. The room is comfortable and quiet. However, the wifi was not that strong and I had to find the best location in the room to get the best coverage. The food at the coffee house are reasonable but breakfast in the morning is quite crowded. Not very easy to locate the hotel if you are not familiar with the city. At night you do hear the music which I think comes from the upper floor lounge. They could use better quality towels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grand Paragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Address: 18, Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Paragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.