We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of the holidays ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gianni's Trattoria

Gianni's Trattoria
110, Jalan Serampang, Tmn Pelangi, Johor Bahru 80400, Malaysia
+6073312230
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 473 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pasay city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The highlight of the holidays ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

If it wouldn't have been for Gianni's the Malaysia leg of the holidays would have been almost a complete disaster. Unfriendly people wherever you go. Feeling cheated all the way. Even haggling in the markets Izmir no fun at all. Having lived in SEAsia for more than 17 years this country is the worst. But as it is there are the islands of hospitality and friendlies and good food. Yes the price is a bit high but the quality is as well. Salmon salad, lamb shank, wine, beer - they even have Weizenbier from Germany - it's a treat!!
Ambience and Service very good. Only the pizza could have been a bit crispier. Overall very very good. Keep it up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A cosy western restaurant with good value tasty food and nice ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Best value is when you order the set lunch which varies daily and provides different variety choices. alternately, if you prefer dinner, a la carte, the meat choices are excellent and the wine menu is quite extensive. Value for money if you want to go to a upper class restaurant in JB town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Average at best....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Dropped by for dinner. Staffs weren't interactive enough and didn't even smile. The food was just average compared to the high prices we paid. Sorry but it wasn't special for me and my business partners.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Falls, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I'll come back for the tiramisu...just the tiramisu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had the lamb shank, pasta carbonara and the fried calamari.

The lamb shank was the best, although there is a strong "meaty" odor, but we didn't mind.
The pasta was fine, but in my opinion, a little small in terms of portion size.
The fried calamari was quite tasteless, rubbery and the side sauce did nothing to help its flavor.

We ended the meal with the tiramisu which was good. Great combination of cream and coffee without any sogginess you'd find at other restaurants.

Service was abysmal and we waiting quite long for our food, even for the appetizers (calamari).

Careful with the booths, the AC above leaks water. When we brought this to the staff's attention, nothing was done, so I just moved over.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The pizzas here are fantastic. Used to come here often just for them. The rest of the menu is good too, especially their deserts. If you're looking for an Italian restaurant in JB, this place is a must visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gianni's Trattoria also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Gianni's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gianni's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.