We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average yet could be improvised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 10, Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
KL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Average yet could be improvised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed for one night in Dec 2012 and got a room overlooking the Tambak Johor. Room is okay but could be better with new coat of paint. Aircon are average with unworking remote. Staffs are friendly provided you are friendly enough to make the first approach. Pool are situated at the next building, so its a bit hassle to step out from the main building to go to the pool if you have small kids. Overall it is an acceptable place to stay if you do not have high expectation. Location is near to Stulang Laut which has many seafoods outlets especially at night. The only complaint is that I am still waiting for a refund for the overcharged room rate. Have been complained to JB and KL office, no action has been taken so far.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Possumblade,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.

With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:

a) We apologize on the defective aircondition in the room. Should we have received any complaints during your stay, rest assured, we would have rectified the situation immediately. Please be assured that we at Suria are continuously implementing maintenance program at our resort.
b) For you problem refund, please give us your information if you still not set your refund back.
You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.

We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    33
    22
    18
See reviews for
12
10
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

i have stayed in johor bahru many times with my husband and other times wth family and friends. this probably benchmarked the epitome of bad service and hotel stay.


we arrived early at 145pm, and understood that there were earlier guests - thus didnt mind waiting in line. but waiting close to 1 hour to check in is ABSURD. and there werent even that many guest pffft.

we requested for towels as there are none right after check in (2pm), it took them couple of HOURS to deliver.

pool is located in next building and we have to cross over a creepy dark alley - thus a no-no

we informed staff that aircon was not working, so either you change our rooms or get a technican to at least attempt to 'repair' or what not - that didnt happen

by the time close to evening when we finally gotten our towels and aircon still wasnt working.

we were tired of waiting and hoping someone paid some attention to what we need.
spoilt our weekend. we have stayed at similar star-rated hotel - but never experienced such bad experience.

Room Tip: be specific if you have any room requests during check in, as staff are slow at responding - if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Pendingroad,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Triapadvisor as it will truly assist us in our continuous effort to bring necessary changes to our operation in order to provide our guest with the best holiday experience.
It concerns us greatly to read your comment with regards to you experience at our resorts recently and we sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations.
We sincerely apologize for all the shortcoming and we are sorry you had felt this way during your stay.
With regards to the issues brought forward, please find the following:
a) After discussion with management’s staff at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, we will ensure that front desk staff speak English fluently by will provide adequate training to employees.
b) We are sorry if position and design of our building did not your expectation.
c) On the facility provided in our premises, after discuss with management’s staff at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, maintenance work in progress to upgrade our facility to the new one in order to achieve the customer satisfaction.
d) We apologize for the condition of room which is not acceptable to you and all have been rectified and action had been taken to the respective department to improve our quality of cleanliness in our premise.
You feedback is extremely valuable to us to improve the quality of our service to better meet your needs and we would like to give assurance that such shortcoming will not be repeated.
We hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort one day. We have properties at Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Merang Suria Resort, Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, Suria Hill Country House Janda Baik and The Royal Cambridge, London. You can contact us at 03-78064752 or email reservation@suriaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is close to the station *but* we had to avoid 2 wild dogs on the way. Every step closer to the hotel increased our trepidation; it's surrounded by a slum. The room was pretty clean *but* lines of ants crossed at the ceiling. There is a swimming pool, but you have to exit the hotel, cross a rough street and the chairs were mostly broken. We cut our stay very short.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I went to JB after an ad hoc decision, driving for 3hours from seremban, almost all hotels we called were full, we reached this hotel after midnight and it's the only hotel with a room available, we just checked into this hotel since it's already midnight and chances to get the preferred hotel were slim. The room was quite acceptable but not the bathroom. I could see strands of hair and mold on the wall! Well..hopefully just one night only. Unfortunately, we have to extend another day since other hotels were still full in view of it's approaching weekend. Next day, due to misunderstanding, the room was not cleaned in time, by the time we reached the room at 6pm, the housekeeping lady just started to clean. Not surprisingly, the strands of hair were still there. This hotel is quite good but the Maintenance and housekeeping should be upgraded.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Not withing walking distance of eateries or shopping complexes. Hotel is old. The pool is in another building (North Wing) across a Road. Pool water does not look clean. We did not use the pool, though we wanted to initially. Breakfast is so so. We stayed in the deluxe room in the South Wing. Small room with basic amenities. Bathroom is really small - especially the shower. They have a spa on the first flr. Masseur is good. Front office took a long time to answer whenever we call. Charged RM 5 each for extra pillow and towel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location is good which about 10 minutes away from Woodlands immigration checkpoint to Singapore which is our day tripping destination. The staffs were under prepared for multiple concurrent check-ins during holiday. Room is average. The hotel has one of the most puzzling knob (not even sure it can be called knob) to open the front door. Off course a new coat of paint will help bring the light (suria) back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and nice comments during your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you enjoy your recent stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just stay there for one night before we go to singapore. The look of the hotel juz not up to the mark. Plz do renovate or repaint the whole building to upgrade the look.
Room just average. Lobby very outdated. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuriaresortsMY, Guest Relations Manager at Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

Once again thank you and we look forward to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru

Address: No 10, Jalan Bukit Meldrum | Tanjung Puteri, Johor Bahru 80300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suria City Hotel, Johor Bahru Hotel Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suria City Hotel Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.