We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic budget hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meldrum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meldrum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meldrum Hotel
No.1, Jalan Siu Nam (Meldrum),, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 76 hotels in Johor Bahru
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic budget hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here on our last night after 3 weeks traveling around Malaysia. The staff here treated us like king and queen, they made sure we had the correct room for what we needed and went out of their way to make us comfortable (one man even making us a cup of milo while giving us some tourist tips).

The rooms are very clean and tidy and staff we met were a pleasure to deal with and very interesting. 10/10

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I have nothing but praise for MELDRUM HOTEL. i will call it a 5 star among budget hoteI. I will definitely comeback here and recommend it to my friends as well. Check out their promotion rates. I love the place. It's just a walking distance from JB Customs & City Square. I stayed in a Superior room which is very nice, no lingering smell like other budget hotels room. very clean and nicely decorated. And i got it for 89 MYR only which is just 38 SGD per day. worth d money. I love this place

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kluang
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

The room was clean .The bed was comfy . No bed lice on the blanket coz i dont get any itchiness unlike some budget hotel . But the aircon was noisy .The windows needed be sound proof becoz the music from the restaurant across the hotel was unbearable especially from 10 pm till early morning . Other than that this a good hotel becoz of its location .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

The Meldrum is one of the first hotels you come to as you pass through customs on the Malaysian side of the causeway and probably gets a lot of it's business because of it. Fairly well kept and surprisingly large hotel which was good value. We later found the newly renovated Haia Satu a few doors down which is a much better option

Full review at http://www.littlewhiteswan.com/Accom/az08/0834.html

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meldrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum Hotel

Address: No.1, Jalan Siu Nam (Meldrum),, Johor Bahru 80000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 76 hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Meldrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meldrum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.