We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silka Johor Bahru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silka Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Silka Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Masai Lama | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81750, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Need room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for days as our electricity at our area had a major service upgrade.

Room: Just nice for two if op to standard room. Hot shower need to improve as it is only hot for a while.

Food: need some new set of menus and not just the same local food such as lontong and noodles. Toast bread counter, it is not presentable to place big silver mugs with jam, butter and kaya. This need to be looked into in terms of presentation. Large choices of buffet breakfast is advisable.

Reception: staff was very friendly and helpful.

Carpark: it is better if there is lift provided for guest to access to their car. Presently need to use the stairs.

Room Tip: Choose standard rooms without window, you may sleep soundly and without realising the bright sunny l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Priyaraj.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks on the hotel and also for pointing out areas that we need to improve.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests' needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    127
    84
    26
    20
See reviews for
42
20
12
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and when we want to check in the staff upgrade our room to a family suite . The staff is veryyy friendly.. Especially the chinese lady and the person who handle the carpark.. The room is very big and nice. The breakfast is also not bad. The only thing that i have a problem with is that the parking and the swimming pool is a bit far from the hotel. And the location of the hotel is not that strategic because i think it will be hard for those who dont have a car. But for those who have a car i think this hotel will be great because the hotel is in between the town and legoland and jpo ( johor premium outlet ) . Overall i think this hotel is great and if i need to go to JB again i will definitely come here again.. :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Sharifah W.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for your recent stay at Silka Johor Bahru and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We would like to thank you for the positive remars on the hotel and also pointing out the areas that we need to improve.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Need to improve on booking system and service by front desk, not friendly staff at the reception area and service also slow. We booked hotel through online for 4 days, but on 3rd day hotel was asking whether we gonna extend our stay for one more day and keep on calling us on this matter! Asking for towel change on 2nd day, hotel only passed towels on the 3rd day!

The breakfast- it can improve way better.Very minimal choices of food.(not like the HOTEL standard)

Room Tip: request for higher level & non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear mynameishoho.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay experience with us. Feedback from guests is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually monitor and improve our service standard and systems to our guests and I sincerely thank you for your comments.

May I take this opportunity to say thak you once again and that we all look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru in the near future.

Warm regards
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

As we all know, first impressions are really important! this is the first time that i'm coming here with my family. Firstly we booked this hotel 2 weeks ahead via online. We reached here on Feb 1 at around 1.30pm. Normally hotels check in time is around 2-2.30pm..So while we waited , my dad went in to inform on our check in-the lady at the reception was freaking rude! Mentioned that check in is above 3pm..not a best way to speak to customers such!! with her shrude face & choice of words!! Therefore my dad called the supervisor & then we were asked to come by 2.30pm.
Fine, so we had lunch and returned at 3pm. That staff was not there- all new staffs- therefore another malay women-spoke rudely to me- no professionalism at all as a frontliner. Mentioned that the 2 deluxe room is not ready yet due to late check-out, housekeeping etc..they asked us to wait after 4 pm..then check in!THAT IS NOT OUR ISSUES AS WE ME BOOKINGS AHEAD!!
Instead we were handled by another Male staff called Navin- he was humble enough to explain things in a better way..He offered to show us the family room with one deluxe bed & 2 single beds. We had no choice to grab that as we had a function to attend..
But the room was not that good, the towels were not there- toilet papers , no mini fridge etc..we had to request for all this things!! Stress Stress Stress!!!!
My dad was very furious & upset about this. Being a 4 star hotel- they dont keep up to their standards at all! The reason we booked this hotel is because some-one recommended to us, perhaps 2 years ago- the service was better.!!
since we checked in at nearly 3.45pm, they allow us to check - out late the next day BUT we were not interested to be there- we left at 1pm.
The breakfast- it can improve way better.Very minimal choices of food.(not like the HOTEL standard)
Room- bathroom need to be cleaner-tiles,shower curtains,toilet bowl etc.
Only the bed & pillow was good in this trip.
Very dissapointing & we will never return to this hotel or suggest to anyone else!!

Room Tip: a/c was moderate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear t-sha1221

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

On behalf of the hotel, I would like to apologize on your experience encountered during your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for pointing out the areas that we need to improve on.

It is because of guests like yourself that take the time and trouble to inform us of your dissatisfaction that we can improve further on our services.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had a nice stay at this hotel. Nice, clean, and simple room with a huge bed and 4 pillows. Loved that they are not cheap on pillows. All the amenities in the room works well. However the bathroom needs cleaning and it looks old compared to the well furbish room. Breakfast was okay.. not much choice at breakfast. Overall it was a good stay and worth the money spent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear travelfreak25625.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks on the hotel.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our assosciate to further improve our level of service and efficiency while addressing guests' needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a great sleep in a comfortable bed. Very friendly & efficient staff which gives the right impression from the start. A few small things could be improved in the room to keep the 4 star value: ironing board cover had burn marks, a few hair strands left on bathroom floor (a personal pet hate), no hand towel or face washer. Despite this the overall impression is clean & tidy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear SavBlancAdelaide.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We thank you for staying with Silka Johor Bahru. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite of few areas that been high lighted for us to improve further.

May I take this opportunity to thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Silka Johor Bahru on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Called silka to change date of my holiday but was told hotelclub did not booked my room and they are fully booked . Managed to call hotelclub to clarify to my surprise they now said there was a booking .
The manager later said I have given the wrong confirmation number after much argument. But he fail to understand when I specifically said hotelclub confirmation number instead of telling me this is the wrong number , his staff told me there is no booking .
I book this hotel because my wife wanted to try new hotel but I think I shall ban this hotel for ruining my holiday .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear johnlee5864

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience stay with the hotel.

Feedback from guests is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually monitor and improve our service standards and hotel systems.

May I take this opportunity to say thank you once again and that we all look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Silka Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Masai Lama | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81750, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silka Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.