We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silka Johor Bahru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Silka Johor Bahru to your Saves list
Silka Johor Bahru
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Masai Lama | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81750, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had a nice stay at this hotel. Nice, clean, and simple room with a huge bed and 4 pillows. Loved that they are not cheap on pillows. All the amenities in the room works well. However the bathroom needs cleaning and it looks old compared to the well furbish room. Breakfast was okay.. not much choice at breakfast. Overall it was a good stay and worth the money spent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear travelfreak25625.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks on the hotel.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our assosciate to further improve our level of service and efficiency while addressing guests' needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    122
    82
    26
    19
See reviews for
40
16
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a great sleep in a comfortable bed. Very friendly & efficient staff which gives the right impression from the start. A few small things could be improved in the room to keep the 4 star value: ironing board cover had burn marks, a few hair strands left on bathroom floor (a personal pet hate), no hand towel or face washer. Despite this the overall impression is clean & tidy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear SavBlancAdelaide.

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

We thank you for staying with Silka Johor Bahru. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite of few areas that been high lighted for us to improve further.

May I take this opportunity to thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at Silka Johor Bahru on your next visit to the city.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Called silka to change date of my holiday but was told hotelclub did not booked my room and they are fully booked . Managed to call hotelclub to clarify to my surprise they now said there was a booking .
The manager later said I have given the wrong confirmation number after much argument. But he fail to understand when I specifically said hotelclub confirmation number instead of telling me this is the wrong number , his staff told me there is no booking .
I book this hotel because my wife wanted to try new hotel but I think I shall ban this hotel for ruining my holiday .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear johnlee5864

Greetings from Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience stay with the hotel.

Feedback from guests is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually monitor and improve our service standards and hotel systems.

May I take this opportunity to say thank you once again and that we all look forward to welcoming you back to Silka Johor Bahru.

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I and my spouse arrived on 24th for Christmas vacation and I got special rate (thanks to my 2 months stay before). The room was not well managed; the bed sheet was not properly arranged, dusty floor maybe caused by previous guest and dirty tea cups and water heater. Please improve room services. The breakfast menu has improved than before, and I love the chinese style fried rice served on 26th. The table layout of the cafe is now better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear PetrusSimon.

Warm Greetings From Silka Johor Bahru.

Thank you for your return stay with us. On behalf of the Hotel, I am sorry to hear on your experience towards our room and amenities condition during this stay.

Your feedback has been seriously noted on and was personally high lighted to our Housekeeper for it not to re occur. Continuous training for our Housekeeping team is ongoing from day-to-day in ensuring the Hotel meet its service standard, regardless of having fully occupied rooms in stretch days.

On our Food & Beverage outlet and buffet spread menu, thank you on your sincere remark as the Hotel is looking in every angle to ensure our guests are satisfy and comfortable when patronizing us.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments. We appreciate hearing from you as it is the best tools to help us in meeting our guests satisfaction and looking forward for your return stay with us on your next visit to Johor Bahru.

Warm regards
Shahrir Naelis Amir CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I checked in with 2 teenagers. Our room was business suite that come with one king size bed and one sofa bed. The hotel located walking distance to Tesco Plentong which you can do shopping anytime you wish very convenient. The price is reasonable. The hotel cleanliness is acceptable and the bed is very comfortable with 4 pillows. We had a very good night sleep. There's almost nothing to complain about this hotel. The room was equipped with safe deposit box, LCD TV, no bath tub but have standing shower. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was full of varieties from western to local food. We really love the egg station and also waffle cake that made freshly out from pan. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear ShidaRamli,

Warm Greetings From Silka Johor Bahru.

First and foremost, thank you on your constructive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip down to Johor Bahru.

From day-to-day, the team of management and associates are moving forward in ensuring all of our hotel guests expactation during their stay with us are met and best delivery of services are delivered.

ShidaRamli, we are looking forward to welcome you again here at our hotel on your next trip to Johor Bahru and thank ylou again as your feedback towards Silka Johor Bahru will assist TripAdvisor future guests in choosing their hotel in this city.

Wishing you and family a Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Shahrir Naelis Amir CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The service very slow .the housekeeping was soooo sucks. Never clean my room .i complaint at front desk. they said will get back to me until we check out never said sorry or give us a good compliment.

Room Tip: i do not recommend any room from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Raszprincess.

Warm Greetings From Silka Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip with family to Johor Bahru.

Your constructive feedback have been specially highlighted to our Housekeeper and Front Office Manager attention on how could it happened to Silka Johor Bahru hotel guest(s) and rest assured, it is highly been look into personally by me as the General Manager.

The management and associates are working from day-to-day into no reoccurance of experience such you have faced while staying with us, will take place again here at our hotel.

Raszprincess, we appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward for your return stay in the nearest future. Do contact me directly as an assurance, should you and family require further assistance on however mundane it may be.

Wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Shahrir Naelis Amir CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Initially we book a deluxe room and upon check-in, the front-desk manager (i think!) offered to upgrade our party to Family suite with 4 beds for additional RM$100 per nite , which we took, as we had two tennage kids with us. We stayed at Silka (formerly Dorsett Johor) for 4 nites and dont have any complaints about the hotel which is clean and very convenient to the EDL highway, which gets us to the Singapore Causeway in 30 minutes maximum. The breakfast is nothing to shout about, very basic breakfast with limited choices and the same breakfast menu was served during our 4 nites of stay!. If you dont fancy the hotel breakfast, you can walk to Tesco or Giant Hypermarket, which is just 10 minutes walking distance away!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_SilkaJohor, General Manager at Silka Johor Bahru, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mr CY_Chung

Warm Greetings From Silka Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

First and foremost, thank you for staying with Silka Johor Bahru, a value-led chain of hotel by Silka Hotels. Also, in accepting our reccomendation for a Family Suite upgrade upon your check-in, as proposing for additional comfort to all guests during stay with us, is our utmost priority.

Your constructive comment regarding to our daily breakfast menus has been highly brought to our Head Chef attention. The management is seriously looking into this matter and we will improve further for the betterment of all of our future guests.

Rest assured Mr CY_Chung, I am personally looking forward for your return escapade to Johor Bahru with us again and I am very delighted for your valuable feedback which will assist our future TripAdvisor traveller in choosing their choice of hotels in this city.

Warm regards
Shahrir Naelis Amir CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silka Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Johor Bahru

Address: Jalan Masai Lama | Mukim Plentong, Johor Bahru 81750, Malaysia (Formerly Dorsett Johor Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Johor Bahru 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Johor Bahru is a value led international chain hotel in Johor Bahru, Malaysia. It has 252 well-appointed rooms that are suitable for families, business and value-conscious travellers. Located near Jusco Tebrau City, the hotel is less than 20 minutes from Johor Bahru City Centre and less than 15 minutes from the Singapore border (woodlands checkpoint). Silka Johor Bahru is also the only star rated hotel exclusively associated with the Johor Premium Outlets (JPO) which is about 25 minutes away from the hotel. Asia's 1st Legoland themepark is only a 25 minute drive away. Silka Johor Bahru also has a range of food & beverage outlets, meeting rooms and a banquet hall which caters for all dining, function and event needs. You'll never miss home when you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silka Johor Bahru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silka Johor Bahru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.