We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately needing refurbishment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of D'Coconut Resort

Save Saved
You added D'Coconut Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D'Coconut Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Palau Besar, Mersing, Johor Bahru, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 76 hotels in Johor Bahru
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Desperately needing refurbishment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times over the last ten years and nothing seems to change between visits, this means that everything is now very tired. The rooms are basic, bathrooms just about functional (although showers weren't working in any rooms on our first night) and the food/drink provision leaves a lot to be desired. They only offered beer (no spirits, we never asked about wine) and even then ran out the first day and quite often didn't have cold ones available. We had taken our own gin but after buying 4 tonics, they ran out of these. The menu advertised fresh fruit juices but they weren't able to provide these. The food is buffet style and as they were fully booked sometimes the queue was quite long and food was lukewarm at best although some of it tasted fairly good, including breakfast pancakes. There was an open drainpipe outside our room which we discovered came from our toilet, yuck! I think they are doing some upgrades so hopefully things will improve and having said all of this, we still had a good weekend. We enjoyed sitting out on our balconies looking out over the beautiful beach and sea, we hired canoes which was fun and we liked the pool although felt it was a shame that the bar in there is no longer in use. The manager was helpful when we asked for milk for my daughter and even gave some from his own supply but I just think this could be an amazing place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had paid for 2 rooms, a full board 3days 2 nights at RM440.00 each, it became a 2 days 1 night trip instead!
The huts were in dire condition. The bathrooms and floors were dirty with moldy and torn shower curtains. Some of the fixtures were lost and some not repaired.
There were no hangers in our wooden cupboards. The closet smelled dank. Stains on the walls and ceilings. Extremely dusty curtains. There is no TV here, but they do have a small minibar. The rollaway bed for our son was in questionable condition, it sank in the middle like a hammock! Had read about another traveller whose skin was severely attacked by bed bugs hence we had brought our own natural bed bug spray from home.
The pool condition was atrocious, it was filthy with murky water. I have complained to the Kuala Lumpur office and apparently it was cleaned more 3 weeks ago!! Do correct me if I am wrong, I had the notion that resorts /hotel pools were supposed to be cleaned almost daily. Other than dried leaves, we found a dead cockroach floating in there as well. The pool bar was falling apart and of course, it was closed.
Lunch was served when we arrived. The food was served buffet style however all the dishes were limited and to add insult to injury, the food was cold. The staff made no effort to keep the dishes warm.
On the beach, there were no sun chairs and umbrellas, just uncomfortable plastic chairs.
The staffs do not wear uniforms and were not dress smartly. They were utterly disinterested most of the time. NO SERVICE whatsoever! Only one of them was pretty helpful in getting us an early boat the very next day to escape this forsaken place. It is not a resort, more like a camp instead.
The beach on this island is indeed a beautiful place suitable for long walks but our short getaway was gravely marred by this place.
Still, if you do decide to go, Aseania and Mirage are so much better. Lovely grounds, friendly staffs and a clean pool. Person to contact: Mr Jasbeer 0197469111. Mirage has a wonderful and inviting bar/restaurant, serving absolutely delicious food. The lovely person to contact: Ms Murni 01127534504

Room Tip: Stay at Aseania or Mirage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Suffered our 3 days 2 nights holiday with this poor resort. 1st, they just set up one buffet line for over 100 in house guests, so we queue like hell just to get our food. 2nd, the swimming pool is so so so dirty!!! 3rd, the room is not well maintain and we found bed bugs on the bed and of course bed bugs enjoyed their FREE meal from us. NO extra activity... unlike redang or perhentian they provide free snorkelling trip... basically we won't recommend people to choose this resort and this island... no crystal clear water at all. everything is only poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Located on Pulau Besar, just a quick half hour boat ride from Mersing on the East coast of Johor, d'Coconut resort is a good choice for accommodation that won't break your budget. Pulau Besar has a beautiful fine white sand beach and a sort of chill beach bum vibe.

Getting to the resort was very easy. We drove from KL and after finding the resort office, parked our car in the jetty car park, which is locked at night. Then the resort office manager had our bags brought to the jetty and escorted us there personally. The boat ride was very safe and everyone was made to wear life jackets. Upon reaching the island, our bags were brought to the resort reception area and check in was a breeze. Our rooms were ready for us.

We originally booked a terrace room, but were upgraded for free to a deluxe chalet because they had extra rooms available. Our deluxe chalet had a double bed, air con that worked great, hot shower, wardrobe with hangers, desk with mirror, bedside table and mini-fridge. It also had a little porch with two chairs and a line to hang towels or wet swim suits to dry outside. At the front entrance to the chalet there was a water tap to use to rinse the sand off your feet before entering your room. The room was clean but to a basic standard, which didn't bother us.

Breakfast was included in our room price and usually consisted of bread for making toast, with various spreads, a local noodle dish, scrambled eggs, baked beans, sausage, pancakes with honey and watermelon. There was also orange drink, water or tea and coffee. We found the breakfast fine. We ate at the restaurant for one lunch and one dinner and thought the food was quite tasty. We chose to order ale carte for better value for money over the buffet selections. To ensure you have dinner, you must order it before 4 pm, so the chef is pre booked to prepare it. The restaurant location faces the beach and the view of the ocean and sunsets is quite stunning.

The restaurant staff were all well trained, friendly and went out of their ways to be kind. When we were sitting in the restaurant during a rain storm, the restaurant staff brought us biscuits to nibble. On another occasion, after our meal, a staff member brought us free bananas for dessert. Such was the friendly kindness of the resort staff and managers.

One day we had dinner at the Mirage resort (located to the right of the jetty if you are facing he island) where you also had to pre book before 4pm. The food there was quite tasty, but more expensive. There the manager was also very kind and went out of his way to make our dinner memorable.

The resort swimming pool was nice after swimming in the sea. It is nice that you can swim in the pool and still see the ocean.

We spent a day snorkeling. You can rent a snorkel set from the hotel for RM 10 per day. We walked up the path, turning right out of the resort. We went to the end of the paved concrete path and hen walked along the jungle path to the end. We then snorkeled from there back down along the edge of the shore to the resort. There are a wide variety of tropical fish to see. We really enjoyed this experience. You can also rent kayaks, but we didn't have time to do this.

In order to book a snorkeling trip to other islands, you need to book this well in advance through the management and need a minimum of 6 people or it is more expensive.

Just spray some mosquito repellant with Deet on your feet to keep any sand flies at bay.

Overall we had a great experience and hope to return. It is a great place to unwind and do nothing but enjoy the view above and below the water.

Room Tip: Deluxe chalets are more aptly named simple chalets. But with air con and hot water it's all good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went with my family in the end of March. The hotel is terrible. Don't go there. The room was very dirty, the food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was always cold, and very basic.
The location is beautiful but the sea and the beach are very dirty. The boat transfer was unorganised and even though we have arrange to leave at 10:30 in the morning in order to take the coach to Singapore. There is any boat to peak us.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stay at D' Coconut resort and the lovely Pulau Besar for 3D2N during Easter weekend, it turned out to be a fantastic experience!! The resort is located directly in front of the the beach, the white sand and crystal clear water which is one of the best in Southern Malaysia. The island also is surrounded with coral line and plenty of fish, so is a great place for snorkelling lovers.

The resort and the room is very basic but relatively well maintained (with some room for improvement). There is not much activity especially in night, but it is perfect for us, as the purpose we got here is for relaxation and get away from daily routine. The staff are attentive, and will answer to any of your request promptly. We booked a full board package, so all our meals were inclusive. We had 3 buffet meals a day, and although the choices is limited (6-8 dishes per meal), but the quality and taste of the food is above average and we enjoy it a lot.

The only downside of this trip is probably that "something" in the seawater which cause some nasty itchiness and rash on our skin. We dont know what is it, but it is most likely seasonal as it wasnt experienced by other guests who reported their review here. Beside that, I think the management should also made better arrangement for boat and dining seat during peak season (when the island receive more guests than normal day) to improve our experience.

Overall, our stay is pleasant and I would definitely recommend others to stay at here.

Room Tip: Maybe not many people have noticed it yet, but Pulau Besar also has a very nice dark sky (weather pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ste.foy de longas france
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

the Island is beautiful, but the sand flies are a nightmare.
The resort need a lot of renovating, what a pity, could be a nice place
Swimmingpool need maintance, The staff and manager had no idea how to run the place.
The food is not good, old stock, unwillingly chef, better eat in Aseania resort.
We will not come back

Room Tip: take the luxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to D'Coconut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Coconut Resort

Address: Palau Besar, Mersing, Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 76 hotels in Johor Bahru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Coconut Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your D'Coconut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Coconut Hotel Johor Bahru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Coconut Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.