We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, great atmosphere, and amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rossa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zomba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Rossa
Save
You added Casa Rossa to your Saves list
Mountain Road 5, Zomba, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, great atmosphere, and amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at Casa Rossa for ten days while working in Zomba. Mark and Sylvia and the rest of the staff made me feel incredibly welcome. The room was nice and clean with a comfortable bed. The food was absolutely amazing (I went through most of the menu during my stay, the beef fillet was my favourite). Most of all though, I loved the whole atmosphere of the place. I saw the staff and the owners working together as a team, and the laughter always sat loose with everyone.

I have stayed many places in Malawi, but this is one of my absolute favourites.

Room Tip: Since I stayed for ten days I negotiated a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zomba, Malawi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Enjoyed lunch here, peaceful and relaxing. The food was good but could go from good to very good with just a little more effort especially in presentation. Just a few basil leaves could have made a plate of pesto look more appetising. The dessert, ginger and pineapple cake was just ok. Very dry and would have been hard to swallow if it hadn't been for coffee with it. Very little evidence of ginger but could taste pineapple even I didn't see it. It was screaming for a little sauce or cream, or even some fresh fruit which is so readily available locally. A bit disappointing, was looking forward to the meal after the good reviews. My husband had fillet steak which was good but could have been improved with a homemade sauce instead of commercial mayonaise with a few herbs.

I am being critical here because there are very few local establishments that we would eat at and with the potential of this place, it would be good to keep standards high. It is refreshing to have somewhere that is prepared to produce 'homemade' food which is of a higher standard than the top Malawi hotels. To the owners, be encouraged and continue to make that little extra effort which will be very much appreciated by your guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I recently had lunch at Casa Rossa. Located on the foothills of the Zomba plateau with nice views, this rustic lodge/restaurant offers great value for money. The pasta is home made and the quality and variety is impressive. Equally as good, is the cappuccino - local coffee freshly brwed and always served with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When the heat and the dust and the craziness and the haggling are getting in top of you, head up to Zomba and on up the road to Casa Rossa. Sit on the Veranda take it all in: the view, the cool breeze, clean sparse interiors and the fantastic menu. Mark will treat you like an old friend and you can hang out all day catching up with the world using the wifi ($2/hr). There always seems to be someone skyping home or catching up with their memoirs. We stayed in the three bedded room which did the job perfectly. Check out the cheese platter or bruschetta starter, and the gnocchi arrabiata or the pesto spaghetti. And the salad, to die for. Mark also organised a guide for us for the zomba plateau at a good rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I spend a couple of days camping in this very nice lodge and I really enjoyed it: it is in a wonderful and very quite position, the camping place was in a grassy and shadow spot (and the breakfast was also included for camping), toilettes were clean and there was plenty of warm water for the showers. But what I found that was fantastic was the food: a real italian cooking with dishes you can only find in italian restaurant (i can guarantee for it as I'm italian)!
The owners also organized me a trek in the Plateau, finding me a reliable guide at a very good price. If you go to Zomba that is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had Gnocci. And Saltimbocca. And they were quite alright, too. No nice wines though, just the local stuff. The staff are very friendly, the location is sublime, service is good, there is nothing better to be had for miles around. So we might be back soon. And forgive them their bathroom facilities. And the poor driveway. Because it's still Africa. And it's the effort that counts, really. And the spirit, the Italian spirit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Casa Rossa has a lovely quaint cottage feel in the on the road up to Zomba Plateau. It’s sealed all the way up. It’s a great place to relax, sit on the veranda and enjoy the view. The highlight was the authentic, delicious Italian food (with everything made by fresh by hand, even the pasta). The portion sizes are quite small for hungry men appetites however!

The dorm is in a converted garage and is basic but ok. The dorm toilets do not have seats and the showers are very basic, but are warm for a couple of hours a day. There are rooms inside the house also that are more expensive.
Overall a good place to stay, and a definite must for a meal!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rossa

Address: Mountain Road 5, Zomba, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Zomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Zomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.